FPS gamer in search of headphones
Sep 8, 2009 at 2:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

robertclarke

New Head-Fier
Hi. I am not a pro player, but I play enough to the point where I think I could be. Not long ago, I was using Direct Sound Extreme Isolation headphones for music creation and FPS gaming. They did the job, but they hurt my ears after long periods of use...until I eventually bought Turtle Beach's AK-R8 headset. The sound quality/performance was much better than I was used to....but after reading a few threads here, I am now aware that I was suckered into some 5.1 hype. (or maybe now I'm being suckered into some anti-5.1 hype, I dunno :\ ). The AK-R8 headset I own is useless now that my younger brother snagged the wire on a knob on the desk and exposed the inner wires.

Anyway, I have a $100 dollar budget and am clueless about what I should buy. It seems the more choices I can choose from, the harder it is to decide. I am worried about buying something and ending up being disappointed, naturally.

I do plan on continuing to use the Audio Advantage SRM USB soundcard that came with my AK-R8s. I'm very satisfied with it's software drivers.

I need a headset that will allow me to see with my ears. Sound is the most important sense in the game I play (Urban Terror).

Thank you for your time.

Sep 8, 2009 at 2:18 PM Post #2 of 24
It may not work for you but I enjoy the Halo games using my Grado SR-80s. They match the budget, and for me at least, image well enough to know where sounds are coming from, (Flood sounds freak me out). I have also tried my Denons and Senns, but the Grados work best for me. Plus they are light weight and comfortable.

Kevin,
Sorry about your wallet!

Sep 8, 2009 at 3:28 PM Post #3 of 24
I game at least 15-20 hours a week with my Razer Carcharias headset. I really like it a lot but I don't know how it would perform in a FPS that is capable of delivering true 5.1 or 7.1 channel audio because I'm pretty much hung on a MMORPG.