Fostex HP-A4BL (the A4 with balanced output)
post-15080103
Post #331 of 345

aqtaket

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
116
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Posts
116
Likes
14
Another quick question to the happy owners of this wonderful Fostex unit:
If I hook up a DAP vis USB OTG cable+ the Fostex USB cable supplied, will it supply power to the DAP (and charge it) from its USB 2.0 port, or this port is only meant for data transfer?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15080204
Post #332 of 345

HungryPanda

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
7,960
Reaction score
13,119
Location
Kent, UK
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Location
Kent, UK
Posts
7,960
Likes
13,119
As far as I know the USB is only for connection to computer
 
     Share This Post       
post-15080373
Post #334 of 345

HungryPanda

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
7,960
Reaction score
13,119
Location
Kent, UK
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Location
Kent, UK
Posts
7,960
Likes
13,119
I have never tried so cannot advise
 
     Share This Post       
post-15094239
Post #335 of 345

davehutch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
520
Reaction score
194
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Posts
520
Likes
194
Website
www.hutchinsonphotographic.com
Having an issue...
I bought an adaptor from Drop.com, the balanced XLR to 2.5mm, so that I could use my IEMS. However I get small electric shocks (tingles) from the metal shells of my IEMs.
Any idea what's going on? I have a multimeter and if I measure between the left and right shells, there's about 19V.
I should also add that I'm using optical in to the amp
Can anyone help please?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15098313
Post #336 of 345

aqtaket

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
116
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Posts
116
Likes
14
Having an issue...
I bought an adaptor from Drop.com, the balanced XLR to 2.5mm, so that I could use my IEMS. However I get small electric shocks (tingles) from the metal shells of my IEMs.
Any idea what's going on? I have a multimeter and if I measure between the left and right shells, there's about 19V.
I should also add that I'm using optical in to the amp
Can anyone help please?
There are differenr pinouts for 2.5mm balanced. The so-called "European", "Asian", "Fiio", "AK"....
Looks like the pin-out of your adapter does not match the one of you male-jack in the phones..
 
     Share This Post       
post-15098551
Post #337 of 345

davehutch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
520
Reaction score
194
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Posts
520
Likes
194
Website
www.hutchinsonphotographic.com
There are differenr pinouts for 2.5mm balanced. The so-called "European", "Asian", "Fiio", "AK"....
Looks like the pin-out of your adapter does not match the one of you male-jack in the phones..
I also made my own adaptor cable and I get the same issue. Fostex distributor, SVC are assisting but there doesn't seem to be a pattern to it. If I measure between pins 1 and 3 I get 1 or 2 millivolts, which is fine.
Same between pins 2 and 4
Yesterday I plugged in and for a while it was all fine, but then I started getting shocks again.

Can anyone else with metal bodies IEMs let me know if they experience the same issue?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15102427
Post #338 of 345

aqtaket

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
116
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Posts
116
Likes
14
This Fostex has only one DAC chip, but a balanced amplification part, is that correct?
If so, that seems a bit strange to me, a balanced DAC/amp should have two DACs and two amps for true balance. What Gives balanced output in this case? Only higher power?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15162975
Post #340 of 345

dsnedeco

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Location
Florida
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Location
Florida
Posts
15
Likes
2
Can someone explain to me exactly how to uninstall the HP-A4 usb driver and install the HP-A4BL usb driver on Windos 10. I have been unable to do that. I have downloaded "FOSTEX_USB_Audio_Driver_V221.zip" It seems like no matter what I do I end up with the HP-A4. It works OK but it is not the HP-A4BL. Some where along the line months ago I had it installed. But then my computer crashed and I can't seem to get it back.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15164313
Post #341 of 345

davehutch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
520
Reaction score
194
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Posts
520
Likes
194
Website
www.hutchinsonphotographic.com
I also made my own adaptor cable and I get the same issue. Fostex distributor, SVC are assisting but there doesn't seem to be a pattern to it. If I measure between pins 1 and 3 I get 1 or 2 millivolts, which is fine.
Same between pins 2 and 4
Yesterday I plugged in and for a while it was all fine, but then I started getting shocks again.

Can anyone else with metal bodies IEMs let me know if they experience the same issue?
*Update*
Fostex sent me an earthed power supply. All is now fine :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164316
Post #342 of 345

HungryPanda

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
7,960
Reaction score
13,119
Location
Kent, UK
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Location
Kent, UK
Posts
7,960
Likes
13,119
Glad to know all is fine
 
     Share This Post       
post-15298336
Post #343 of 345

gimmeheadroom

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
1,400
Reaction score
592
Location
Czech Republic
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Czech Republic
Posts
1,400
Likes
592
     Share This Post       
post-15339263
Post #344 of 345

RSC08

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
192
Reaction score
119
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Posts
192
Likes
119
Anyone tried this amp with the Hifiman Sundara? I'm looking to upgrade my home setup and currently deciding if I should go HP-A4 + Sennheiser HD650 or Hifiman Sundara.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15339324
Post #345 of 345

gimmeheadroom

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
1,400
Reaction score
592
Location
Czech Republic
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Czech Republic
Posts
1,400
Likes
592
Sennheiser 600 series are at their best with a tube amp. The Fostex would not be my choice for Sennheisers. I have no idea about the Sundara.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top