For Dr. Kevin Gilmore: Stax SRM-313 guts
post-171244
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 17

Matt

Are there any women on this board?
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Messages
974
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Posts
974
Likes
10
Dr. Gilmore (and any other interested parties),

Here are the pics of the insides of the Stax SRM-313 SS amp, the one included in the Classic System II (click for larger image, typically 125K in size):













Regards,
Sir Mister Matt
 
     Share This Post       
post-171703
Post #2 of 17

Matt

Are there any women on this board?
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Messages
974
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Posts
974
Likes
10
...are pics of the bottom and the top of the PCB (one channel per pic, both channels included). Also, there is a "sum of all it's parts" pic, for possible future reference.




















- Sir Mister Matt
 
     Share This Post       
post-171928
Post #3 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
here is the schematic generated from the above pictures...

http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/srm313.gif

Now if someone would be so kind as to send be quality
pictures of a T2...

My recomendation to improve the sound would to first
swap out all the 2sc5466's with 2sc3675's then
turn up the output bias a bit by reducing the emitter resistor.
 
     Share This Post       
post-172666
Post #4 of 17

kelly

Herr Babelfish der Übersetzer, he wore a whipped-cream-covered tutu for this title.
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
5,435
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Posts
5,435
Likes
11
Does Darth Nutt posess the only known T2?

I've tried to contact him via the email address HeadFi has on file (via HeadFi) and at an address I found from a web search but neither gained me a response. Darth existed prior to my time on HeadFi and HeadWize and thus he's rather mythological to me.

I have not read posts by anyone else claiming to have heard a T2.
 
     Share This Post       
post-235646
Post #6 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
I've seen these pictures. Not close enough or detailed
enough to draw schematics from...
 
     Share This Post       
post-236076
Post #7 of 17

zzz

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Messages
757
Reaction score
65
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Posts
757
Likes
65
Nik (an CD12-owning member of this board) said that SRM-T2 can still be found in Italy and that he has some photos of its guts. Maybe he can take some really detailed ones that could aid the schematic reconstruction process.

Of course, some vertical boards are mounted in such a way that it's impossible to look at the component side without removing them first. Oh well.
 
     Share This Post       
post-399087
Post #9 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
Need better picture of the transformer end and the
6 white wires that go to the board on the back.
The back board probably has labels for the jumpers required.

If i had to guess, the transformer has 2 sets of 3 wire
windings, 0 100 120 0 100 120

so for 240 volts it is

240--------|
240--------------------------------|
-------------0 100 120 0 100 120
jumper--------------|---|


it could also be 0 100 120 120 100 0
or any wierd combo of above

An ohmeter will quickly find the pairs of windings.
 
     Share This Post       
post-2013952
Post #11 of 17

evil-zen

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
340
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Posts
340
Likes
10
a follow up to ablaze 3 years later....
So how do I change the voltage from 100V to 230V?

Here are the pics










In case it is not clear,
Green -> Grey board
6 -> BLU
5 -> BRN
4 -> GRY
3 -> PPL
2 -> GRN
1 -> WHT

Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-2014542
Post #12 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
     Share This Post       
post-2017197
Post #13 of 17

evil-zen

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
340
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Posts
340
Likes
10
as requested.
 
     Share This Post       
post-2017235
Post #14 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
thats a rough picture because i can't see the circuit lands.

I'm assuming that jumpers at 1,3,6 is 100 volts

In that case i think that jumpers at 2,4,6 would be 120 volts

and jumpers at 2 and 5 would be 240 volts

or jumpers at 3 and 5 would be 220 volts

You can verify this by removing jumpers at 1,3,6 and installing at 2 and 5

Then measure with ohmmeter that purple and grey are 0 ohms
and that blue is 0 ohms to one side of the ac line.

with all jumpers removed there should be 0 ohms between the tops of
jumpers 1,2,3,4 and are tied to common.
 
     Share This Post       
post-2017615
Post #15 of 17

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,844
Reaction score
476
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,844
Likes
476
A person just stopped by with a unit of the correct vintage.

1,3,6 is definitely 100 volts

2,4,6 is definitely 120 volts

3,5 is definitely 220 volts

2,5 is definitely 240 volts


200 volts requires a modification.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top