FLAC for Mac issue
Oct 26, 2008 at 9:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

zac_in_ak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Posts
25
Likes
0
I want to use FLAC on my mac and have tried fluke but the sound was horrible...was I doing something wrong? are there settings that I need to tweek? If not is there a good app to play FLAC's? I d/l songbird but havnt tried it yet.
 
Oct 26, 2008 at 10:02 PM Post #2 of 12

Samjones

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Posts
229
Likes
0
Maybe, Foobar. I honestly don't know if it works on mac, but its a really good player. Try it
 
Oct 27, 2008 at 12:24 PM Post #5 of 12

vegaman

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Posts
254
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by freckling /img/forum/go_quote.gif
You can always convert your FLAC to ALAC using "Max"


I've ended up doing this, I first made a LAME v0 copy of everything for my portable, and just used this in iTunes, but eventually wanted my lossless back. I tried fluke but it skipped a lot so I just made a copy of everything in ALAC too... hdd's are cheap enough, so the storage space isn't really a bother, and I view it as a backup too, conversion won't be too much bother, just queue it all up and it takes a few hours.
 
Oct 27, 2008 at 5:11 PM Post #6 of 12

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,761
Likes
76
You basically have two options then:
1. Different player -> Play, Cog, Songbird, VLC, ...
2. Transcode to Apple Lossless and use iTunes.
 
Oct 28, 2008 at 3:35 AM Post #7 of 12

zac_in_ak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Posts
25
Likes
0
Which would produce the best results? I like iTunes but am willing if SQ is an issue to use something else
 
Oct 28, 2008 at 3:39 AM Post #9 of 12

tommytomickey

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Posts
37
Likes
0
biggrin.gif
 
Oct 28, 2008 at 7:26 AM Post #10 of 12

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,761
Likes
76
Quote:

Originally Posted by zac_in_ak /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Which would produce the best results? I like iTunes but am willing if SQ is an issue to use something else


You can't go wrong with iTunes sound quality wise.
Don't know about the other alternatives though, as I have just barely launched them to see how they feel and look.
 
Oct 28, 2008 at 4:24 PM Post #12 of 12

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,761
Likes
76
Quote:

Originally Posted by bowraboy /img/forum/go_quote.gif
You could try SetOggS.

Scroll down till you see UPDATE.



He have used SetOggS (its part of Fluke), and he were not happy with the sound.
"..have tried fluke but the sound was horrible.."
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top