FiiO X7 Mk II 2GB RAM + 64GB ROM + ESS9028 PRO + Balanced + DSD + BT 4.1 aptX + Dual mSD + Dual Band WiFi + Opt Out
Feb 3, 2018 at 5:29 AM Post #3,826 of 6,161

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,353
Likes
393
Dear friend,

Yes, we are sorry that we didn't confrim this issue before releasing that firmware. Our engineers are dealing with this. Will provide a solution as soon as possible.

Best regards


"Our engineers"! You have engineers? How much more of a basic mistake can you make than messing up the track order and then, and here's the funny part, for non FiiO owners reading this, nobody checks it!

Your hardware is great, your firmware department must be an embarrassment to you. You release a firmware and within hours, us the customers, are beta testing it highlighting errors that even a cursory check would have revealed.

I await your explanation as to how this happened with interest.
 
Last edited:
Feb 3, 2018 at 5:39 AM Post #3,828 of 6,161

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,353
Likes
393
I've said that in a previous post and although your post was "Tongue in cheek", many a true word was said in jest! They need help!!!!!
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 5:54 AM Post #3,829 of 6,161

Bluess

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 4, 2013
Posts
259
Likes
77
Judging from their past products, I think they don't have many people familiar with Android application. Probably most of them are embedded engineer so this kind of thing happened.
However, it's been a long time since they have Android DAP. Those things should be gone by now.
I hope this is an alarm to you guys @FiiO to seriously consider the way you are doing with Fiio Music on X7II before it's too late.
I almost smashed it yesterday due to a random crash while playing music and the device freezed. Trying to perform a reboot taking forever. I thought It bricked until I tried a long pressing on the power button. No log in crash folder in Fiio Music as well.
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 6:28 AM Post #3,830 of 6,161

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,240
Likes
8,057
Location
Bucharest, Romania
We should remember that FiiO is mainly a Chinese company and that the Chinese market tends to be different from the USA or even Global market. Chinese customers tend to have slightly different needs and they are much more talkative of the things they dislike, if they find something, so a lot of the testing might be done to target specific issues, without the general testing. At this point FiiO offered a fix at less than 24 hours right in this thread, if I'm not mistaken :darthsmile:
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 6:43 AM Post #3,831 of 6,161

FiiO-Shadow

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
215
Likes
65
I always get "Network Error" when I try to update. It's nothing new, I always have. Anyone else have the same issue?

Hi, could you please inform us the version on your X7MKII now? You can check the firmware verison by visiting "Settings" -> "About device" ->"Build number" .
And could you browse webpage on the X7MKII well after connecting with WiFi?
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 7:06 AM Post #3,832 of 6,161

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,353
Likes
393
We should remember that FiiO is mainly a Chinese company and that the Chinese market tends to be different from the USA or even Global market. Chinese customers tend to have slightly different needs and they are much more talkative of the things they dislike, if they find something, so a lot of the testing might be done to target specific issues, without the general testing. At this point FiiO offered a fix at less than 24 hours right in this thread, if I'm not mistaken :darthsmile:

Yes, they did offer a fix less than 24 hours after releasing their firmware. But what else could they do! Hire someone who knows what they are doing springs to mind! To F&%k up the track listing and not notice it is unforgivable.
 
Last edited:
Feb 3, 2018 at 7:08 AM Post #3,833 of 6,161

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,353
Likes
393
Hi, could you please inform us the version on your X7MKII now? You can check the firmware verison by visiting "Settings" -> "About device" ->"Build number" .
And could you browse webpage on the X7MKII well after connecting with WiFi?

Massive LOL. It's happened on every Android FiiO DAP I've had. I've owned an X7, two X5iii and two X7ii. So it's nothing to do with your substandard firmware! It's to do with your OTA service, as I can download from your site and put the ZIP on a card without issue.

Thanks anyway!!!
 
Last edited:
Feb 3, 2018 at 7:26 AM Post #3,834 of 6,161

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,240
Likes
8,057
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Yes, they did offer a fix less than 24 hours after releasing their firmware. But what else could they do! Hire someone who knows what they are doing springs to mind!

I've just bought an iBasso DX200. Really!

DX200 should be fairly stable and bring you tons of fun. By chance, have you tried Opus? They tend to also be fairly good.

As for FiiOX7mkii, I think that a few issues here and there don't break the fun of using it, at least for me
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 8:09 AM Post #3,835 of 6,161

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,353
Likes
393
Thanks for the advice. I haven't tried the Opus 2, as I live in Jersey, Channel Islands. For those who don't know, it's a 9 by 5 mile island between England and France and as you can imagine, doesn't have any specialist audio dealers.

I know this is a difficult question, but as a reviewer and that you have tried many daps, what would you spend your money on if you wanted a £1000 DAP and why?
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 8:52 AM Post #3,836 of 6,161

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,240
Likes
8,057
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Thanks for the advice. I haven't tried the Opus 2, as I live in Jersey, Channel Islands. For those who don't know, it's a 9 by 5 mile island between England and France and as you can imagine, doesn't have any specialist audio dealers.

I know this is a difficult question, but as a reviewer and that you have tried many daps, what would you spend your money on if you wanted a £1000 DAP and why?

Very hard to answer that, each one of them has its own advantages and disadvantages, like every single product out there, there isn't anything that will be universal, and there will always be preferences.

I'd be like, please read my reviews, I tried to explain this in-depth there

DX200 and X7mkii for multiple AMP modules,
they all have similar battery lives in the long run
#2 and X7mkii display color calibration is similar, and fair, DX200 has a warmer / more neutral display color calibration (New Opus #1s also has a warmer color)
X7mkii is the least expensive, while #2 is the most expensive
As for the sound
X7mklii with AM03A, and DX200 with AMP1
- X7mkii and DX200 are both very neutral and reference, flat, #2 is organic and fuller sounding
with AMP5 for DX200, it becomes more organic and has more sparkle in the top end, than with AMP1
Software, DX200 works best with Lurker's mod, #2 does a good job out of the box, some X7mkii users met some issues, but works well as well, if you only do folder browsing

I need more time to judge AM05 for X7mkii

I think that overall, it really depends on your needs and which design you like more. The sound is amazing on all of them, but it is slightly different. All of them are recommended from my point of view, it will really really depends on what you're looking for.

https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/2018/01/opus-2-magic-of-music.html

https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/2017/12/ibasso-dx200-reference-flagship-from.html

https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/2018/01/fiio-x7mkii-infinity-sound.html

IMG_20170930_165958.jpg


IMG_20170930_170018.jpg
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 8:57 AM Post #3,837 of 6,161

JaviAl

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Posts
324
Likes
102
Location
Madrid, SPAIN
Yes, they did offer a fix less than 24 hours after releasing their firmware. But what else could they do! Hire someone who knows what they are doing springs to mind! To F&%k up the track listing and not notice it is unforgivable.

Anyway, I don't care anymore, I've just bought an iBasso DX200.

Check the Hiby R6 DAP
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 10:49 AM Post #3,838 of 6,161

howdy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Posts
4,640
Likes
996
Location
Minnesota
I turned on the Wi-Fi saw the update clicked on it took about 90 seconds to load than a couple more minutes to update. In total maybe 5 minutes for the update and everything went flawless. I'm glad I'm not picky, I just plug hit random play and all is good. Zero issues so far since owning this great player.
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 10:54 AM Post #3,839 of 6,161

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,240
Likes
8,057
Location
Bucharest, Romania
I turned on the Wi-Fi saw the update clicked on it took about 90 seconds to load than a couple more minutes to update. In total maybe 5 minutes for the update and everything went flawless. I'm glad I'm not picky, I just plug hit random play and all is good. Zero issues so far since owning this great player.

I also updated one hour ago or so. Amazing delivery, no isses, the update was very quick and clean. I am very happy so far :darthsmile:
 
Feb 3, 2018 at 12:05 PM Post #3,840 of 6,161

Runding99

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2017
Posts
23
Likes
10
Location
USA
Completed the update and was prompted to install another patch to fix the track issues. I have not had time to check every album but the song order appears to be corrected now.

Good timely response by FiiO on this subject. I know our forum sponsor does not have control over these updates and appreciate them carrying the water for us back to their headquarters.

Thank you.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top