FiiO X7 | DXD | DSD | 384K/64B | ESS9018+ Android | WiFi | Bluetooth | 4 AMP modules | Balanced Out |
post-12919062
Post #14,611 of 17,993

ReizeiMako

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
274
Reaction score
36
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Posts
274
Likes
36
Fiio,I believe your brave decision to run android 5.1 for X7 is the right choice. I appreciate your effort to make X7 better and better. New FW every 10 days is really a good news. Nice job Fiio!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12919097
Post #14,612 of 17,993

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,958
Reaction score
3,296
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,958
Likes
3,296
Age
13
Website
www.fiio.com
 
  Something about the X7 firmware update  - by James
 
 
4, How soon can we get to use the official version?
 
The software developing restrictions are less now, so we can speed up the update frequency, basically one new version every week or 10 days.
 
I believe we won’t keep you waiting for too long.
 
If we choose to wait for an official future version, can we skip directly to a later version starting from FW 2.1, or will we have to work our way up to a future version by going through each of the FW steps incrementally? 
Hi, 1wyseman
 
Yes, you can skip directly to a later version starting from FW2.1. It is not required to go through each of the firmware steps incrementally.
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com
     Share This Post       
post-12919741
Post #14,614 of 17,993

2damoon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
11
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Posts
29
Likes
11
Hello All,

I have been having this strange issue even from FW2.0, and i thought a major release would fix it.

On my device the buttron for Fiio Music / Android mode is reversed. When it shows Fiio Music and i click it, it takes me to Android mode, and vice versa.

Am i the only one that is experiencing this? And how can i fix it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12919751
Post #14,615 of 17,993

CH23

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
2,690
Reaction score
537
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,690
Likes
537
Hello All,

I have been having this strange issue even from FW2.0, and i thought a major release would fix it.

On my device the buttron for Fiio Music / Android mode is reversed. When it shows Fiio Music and i click it, it takes me to Android mode, and vice versa.

Am i the only one that is experiencing this? And how can i fix it?

It shows the current mode, not the mode you'll go to.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12919794
Post #14,616 of 17,993

2damoon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
11
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Posts
29
Likes
11
That is a bit unintuitive...it is a button that performs an action, not a status.

Am I the only one thinking this is backwards?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12919824
Post #14,617 of 17,993

tkteo

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
693
Reaction score
112
Location
Singapore
Joined
May 21, 2011
Location
Singapore
Posts
693
Likes
112
  Something about the X7 firmware update  - by James
 
 
 
James, the Android 5.1.1, firmware 3.0Beta is using linux kernel 3.0.101. Is there any crucial reason why a more recent linux 3.X kernel is not used?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920189
Post #14,618 of 17,993

Paulo Abreu

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1,254
Reaction score
592
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Posts
1,254
Likes
592
That is a bit unintuitive...it is a button that performs an action, not a status.

Am I the only one thinking this is backwards?

I also think it should be as you say, its an action not a status - you didn't mention (notice?) the storage/usb icon which works in the same logic as android/pure music mode... right? :wink:
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920205
Post #14,619 of 17,993

tomwoo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
333
Reaction score
87
Location
San Diego
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Location
San Diego
Posts
333
Likes
87
I have to say it was a bold move of @JamesFiiO to promise a new firmware every week or ten days. I would add "if necessary".
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920346
Post #14,620 of 17,993

Paulo Abreu

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1,254
Reaction score
592
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Posts
1,254
Likes
592
I also think it should be as you say, its an action not a status - you didn't mention (notice?) the storage/usb icon which works in the same logic as android/pure music mode... right?
 
Forget above,sorry my fault... my memory not as good as it was ...

 
All of those icons are status(wifi, BT, orientation, etc), not actions... its correct as it is IMHO.
 
Regards
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920667
Post #14,621 of 17,993

Paulo Abreu

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1,254
Reaction score
592
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Posts
1,254
Likes
592
  Since there's no longer any sample-rate conversion in third party apps, there's presumably no longer any theoretical SQ advantage of the FiiO music app, correct? Also, if @CH23's assumption is correct about the loader, presumably there's no theoretical SQ advantage in using pure music mode either? So what would be the reason for using pure music mode?
 
  ...

Right!?!?! I thought I was going insane, Neutron sounds amazing now! It just sounds so...clean.
I hated how it sounded so muddled sometimes, but this feels nice. It really goes knuckle deep.
 
Doesn't Neutron still downsample high bit rates to 48(?) Khz? Any real SQ advantage in FiiO music app?
 
Neutron is indeed sounding great now ... been using it for a while and what an App! very refined, fast and flawless. I really believe FiiO will fix the music App, for now Neutron made my mind keeping FW3.0.
 
[Edit]
 
Btw, installed Neutron from FiiO store, is this a trial to expire?
 
My 2 cents
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920693
Post #14,622 of 17,993

Sonic Defender

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
11,951
Reaction score
3,336
Location
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Joined
May 9, 2011
Location
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Posts
11,951
Likes
3,336
     Share This Post       
post-12920707
Post #14,623 of 17,993

JaviAl

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
315
Reaction score
98
Location
Madrid, SPAIN
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Location
Madrid, SPAIN
Posts
315
Likes
98
Originally Posted by Paulo Abreu /img/forum/go_quote.gif
 
Doesn't Neutron still downsample high bit rates to 48(?) Khz?
 
Yes. Downsample high bit rates to 48.
 
  Since there's no longer any sample-rate conversion in third party apps, there's presumably no longer any theoretical SQ advantage of the FiiO music app, correct? Also, if @CH23's assumption is correct about the loader, presumably there's no theoretical SQ advantage in using pure music mode either? So what would be the reason for using pure music mode?
 
No. At the moment third party apps not detect the ESS Sabre DAC on the Fiio, so only plays at 48 Khz max.
 
A reason for Pure Music Mode is to use the device only as a music Player with the Fiio Player. For example, to resume playing when you power on without touching nothing.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12920797
Post #14,624 of 17,993

csglinux

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
3,487
Reaction score
2,556
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Posts
3,487
Likes
2,556
   
Yes. Downsample high bit rates to 48.
 
 
No. At the moment third party apps not detect the ESS Sabre DAC on the Fiio, so only plays at 48 Khz max.
 
 
 
According to FiiO (the very first point they note about FW3.0) in the following link: http://www.head-fi.org/t/822149/the-public-beta-firmware-of-android-5-1-for-fiio-x7-is-coming
 
  1. No SRC for third-party music applications
 
Besides, Android 5.0 itself supports 96 kHz sampling rates, so even if FiiO’s post is for some reason inaccurate/wrong, there’d still be no reason to downsample anything <= 96 kHz.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12921238
Post #14,625 of 17,993

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
11,090
Reaction score
2,834
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Posts
11,090
Likes
2,834
Well someone would just have to install Neutron (from play store) or Poweramp Alpha and find out, won't they?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 7)

Top