FiiO X7 | DXD | DSD | 384K/64B | ESS9018+ Android | WiFi | Bluetooth | 4 AMP modules | Balanced Out |
post-12632624
Post #12,316 of 17,993
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
13,315
Reaction score
24,267
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
13,315
Likes
24,267
  Thanks Brooko. Maybe better off waiting to see if any third party amps become available if I'm OK as is?
 
If you're just running IEMs, the AM1 will give you longest battery life (about 1 hour advantage over AM2).  The AM2 is tonally slightly different - but if you volume match it with the AM1 the differences aren't as great as some would have you believe 

 
Here's my take on it anyway : http://www.head-fi.org/products/fiio-am2-medium-power-amplifier-module-for-x7/reviews/15278
 
     Share This Post       
post-12632708
Post #12,317 of 17,993

gonzfi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
425
Reaction score
93
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Posts
425
Likes
93
Hi

Just ordered my X7. I'm using a FiiO X5ii with Fidue A83 IEM's at the moment (Impedance 11ohms and Sensetivity 104db). What module should I be looking to upgrade to, as my X7 will come with the AM1.

I'd also like a little in reserve in case I change to full size, but at the price, don't mind having various modules for various uses, if that is sonically the best way to go.

Thanks

Darren

Would love to hear your impressions on the x7 vs x5ii when you receive it Darren. I'm following your DAP trail by the looks of it having returned to an x5ii with mojo after selling my qp1r and now eyeing up the x7. Shame it only has one micro sd card slot....
 
     Share This Post       
post-12632772
Post #12,318 of 17,993

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3,089
Reaction score
340
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,089
Likes
340
Irrespective of how the X7 sounds against the QP1R, that wheel. Really?!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12632889
Post #12,319 of 17,993

gonzfi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
425
Reaction score
93
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Posts
425
Likes
93
Dreadful. My second x5ii has a great wheel. Very accurate.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12632947
Post #12,320 of 17,993

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3,089
Reaction score
340
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,089
Likes
340
Dreadful. My second x5ii has a great wheel. Very accurate.
Why Questyle couldn't reverse-engineer a X5ii's wheel and use it on their QP1R is beyond me.
 
Anyway, looking forward to the X7 and all things it offers by using Android.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12633335
Post #12,321 of 17,993

KC33

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
599
Reaction score
100
Location
Fort Lauderdale
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Location
Fort Lauderdale
Posts
599
Likes
100
  Rats Bollocks! Two answers and two differing opinions. Who'd have thunked it. Thanks TJ Max for your answer.
He didn't like it but the vast majority praise the AM1. The only problem is that it's not powerful enough to drive hungry headphones. Your Fidue should sound great.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Brooko
post-12633399
Post #12,322 of 17,993

sstyle

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
221
Reaction score
32
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Posts
221
Likes
32
Somebody tried to compare with an iPhone 5S or higher?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12633528
Post #12,323 of 17,993

timetochill

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 1, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 1, 2015
Posts
175
Likes
13
Somebody tried to compare with an iPhone 5S or higher?

The X7 has better layering/seperation, brings out a lot more detail, and tightens the bass. The X7 is superior is almost every way, unless you want more boomy bass.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12633593
Post #12,324 of 17,993

sstyle

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
221
Reaction score
32
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Posts
221
Likes
32
The X7 has better layering/seperation, brings out a lot more detail, and tightens the bass. The X7 is superior is almost every way, unless you want more boomy bass.
I tried to hear that (with HD650 + desktop hi-end amp, also Weston UM3x, and Senn MX980). But can not. Used a FiiO HS2 for fast switching. Volume was exactly on same level on both devices (<0.1dB). Tried a special test disks from Marantz, OPUS, etc.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12634071
Post #12,326 of 17,993

ReizeiMako

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
274
Reaction score
36
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Posts
274
Likes
36
Somebody tried to compare with an iPhone 5S or higher?

iPhone 5S sound worse than Fiio X1 to my ears. The most different parts between X7 and 5S are layer and seperation.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12634231
Post #12,327 of 17,993

astrallite

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
160
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 11, 2010
Posts
160
Likes
14
   
"AM3  = >540mW(32Ω/1kHz)  >70mW(300Ω/1kHz) "  is the value for the balanced output. And the output power value for the normal 3.5mm output is ">190mW(32Ω/1kHz)  >25mW(300Ω/1kHz) "
The output current is actually related to the specification of the chips, which is different on the AM3 and AM5.
 
Hi, my understanding is the AM3 only has a TRRS output, is that correct? In that case does the AM3 module come with a XLR to TRRS adapter, or do we need to buy that separately? Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12634246
Post #12,328 of 17,993

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,975
Reaction score
7,571
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,975
Likes
7,571
Hi, my understanding is the AM3 only has a TRRS output, is that correct? In that case does the AM3 module come with a XLR to TRRS adapter, or do we need to buy that separately? Thanks!

No, it has TRRS and 3.5mm TRS.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12634269
Post #12,330 of 17,993

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,975
Reaction score
7,571
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,975
Likes
7,571
Sure, but I have a Sennheiser HD800S with a balanced cable XLR cable, so my question is does the AM3 come with a XLR to TRRS adapter, or do we need to buy an additional one?

Ah! Likely need to purchase the adaptor, but I'm not 100% sure on this.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top