Fiio X5iii Custom Kernel and Scripts | 2016MHz CPU | 20% RAM increase | Undervolting | New DAC drivers | and much more
post-14953541
Post #17 of 449

Powderphinger

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
5
Location
Midwest, US
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Location
Midwest, US
Posts
48
Likes
5
have you tried to flash back firmware 1.2.1 via the official firmware upgrade tool?

Yes, ended up starting from scratch. Installed the official FIIO FW, graduated up to the current stock version, then installed Fidelizer. All successfully. Then followed the directions to install TWRS and finally the latest kernel version released this week.

Unfortuately, I still cannot successfully load the kernel. When I check the E Zip verification box, it fails. When I do not check the box, and attempt install (custom), under the highlighted "Installing Init. d Scripts", I get the following message (which I have gotten all along):

"set_perm; some changes failed"............

When I get the prompt to reboot and proceed, I get no messages about scripts, updates, etc. It just reboots to the home screen.

I think I'm going to throw in the towel as I've fiddled with this process for many hours and I don't want to end up having to start from scratch again. I do appreciate your response and assistance.

Powderphinger
 
     Share This Post       
post-14953547
Post #18 of 449

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
633
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
633
Likes
248
I saw on the 4PDA forum prispewnic recommended having root before you install it or not all scripts would work, I would try flashing the supersu zip, wipe dalvik & fix permissions, reboot, go back to recovery, & then try the 3.1 install
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Powderphinger
post-14953643
Post #19 of 449

Powderphinger

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
5
Location
Midwest, US
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Location
Midwest, US
Posts
48
Likes
5
I saw on the 4PDA forum prispewnic recommended having root before you install it or not all scripts would work, I would try flashing the supersu zip, wipe dalvik & fix permissions, reboot, go back to recovery, & then try the 3.1 install

You da' man! Thanks! That did it.

Powderphinger
 
     Share This Post       
post-14953654
Post #20 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
I use fidelizer rom, a quick way to root the device, without using king root ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14953657
Post #21 of 449

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
633
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
633
Likes
248
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14953726
Post #22 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
Flash this in TWRP, wipe dalvik cache then advanced tab fix permissions, reboot system.

Kingroot is a crapshoot that’s led to more bootlooping than success in my experience.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1ch3om94ugjlvjm/SuperSU_PRO_v2.79SR4.zip/file
thx for the link, did all the steps device doesn't boot anymore, is stuck on the fidelizer logo, loading page, i try to in stall super su, wipe cache fix permission (checking SE linux permission and non, first attempt was uncheck)

any ideas why of this ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14953731
Post #23 of 449

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
633
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
633
Likes
248
Are you using 1.2.4 fidelizer?

I have never checked the SE Linux option when fixing permissions.

Try going back into TWRP use file manager to delete supersu folder and try again.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14954071
Post #24 of 449

jkbuha

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
282
Reaction score
397
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Posts
282
Likes
397
Version 3.11 Released

- Miscellaneous (minor) bugfixes with installer and scripts. Recommended upgrade for everyone on V3.1

Download here: http://bit.ly/FiiOX5iiiV311
 
post-14954445
Post #25 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
Are you using 1.2.4 fidelizer?

I have never checked the SE Linux option when fixing permissions.

Try going back into TWRP use file manager to delete supersu folder and try again.
yes i'm using 1.2.4
 
     Share This Post       
post-14954518
Post #26 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
issue fixed, testing the kernel :) thx !
 
     Share This Post       
post-14954558
Post #27 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
i'm experiencing issues with the touch screen using the jkbuha kernel, touch screen quite unresponsive... someone else ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14954657
Post #28 of 449

MinnieOne

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
325
Reaction score
107
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Posts
325
Likes
107
i'm experiencing issues with the touch screen using the jkbuha kernel, touch screen quite unresponsive... someone else ?
My screen is much more responsive than it has ever been. Everything is faster, especially wireless.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jkbuha and WitzyZed
post-14954855
Post #29 of 449

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
633
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
633
Likes
248
i'm experiencing issues with the touch screen using the jkbuha kernel, touch screen quite unresponsive... someone else ?
Do you have the factory screen protector still installed? (I’ve removed mine) Do you use device with your finger or stylus? (I use a stylus) Go to developer options and under ‘input’ enable ‘show touches’ . This has helped me determine if and where my touches are detected.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14955064
Post #30 of 449

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
210
Reaction score
28
Location
Melbourne
Joined
May 26, 2016
Location
Melbourne
Posts
210
Likes
28
Do you have the factory screen protector still installed? (I’ve removed mine) Do you use device with your finger or stylus? (I use a stylus) Go to developer options and under ‘input’ enable ‘show touches’ . This has helped me determine if and where my touches are detected.
yes i do, always with my finger. i will do, keep you posted
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 1)

Top