Fiio X5iii Custom Kernel and Scripts | 2016MHz CPU | 20% RAM increase | Undervolting | New DAC drivers | and much more
May 14, 2019 at 10:32 AM Post #17 of 512

Powderphinger

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Posts
48
Likes
5
Location
Midwest, US
have you tried to flash back firmware 1.2.1 via the official firmware upgrade tool?


Yes, ended up starting from scratch. Installed the official FIIO FW, graduated up to the current stock version, then installed Fidelizer. All successfully. Then followed the directions to install TWRS and finally the latest kernel version released this week.

Unfortuately, I still cannot successfully load the kernel. When I check the E Zip verification box, it fails. When I do not check the box, and attempt install (custom), under the highlighted "Installing Init. d Scripts", I get the following message (which I have gotten all along):

"set_perm; some changes failed"............

When I get the prompt to reboot and proceed, I get no messages about scripts, updates, etc. It just reboots to the home screen.

I think I'm going to throw in the towel as I've fiddled with this process for many hours and I don't want to end up having to start from scratch again. I do appreciate your response and assistance.

Powderphinger
 
May 14, 2019 at 10:35 AM Post #18 of 512

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Posts
668
Likes
282
Location
Forest Park, IL
I saw on the 4PDA forum prispewnic recommended having root before you install it or not all scripts would work, I would try flashing the supersu zip, wipe dalvik & fix permissions, reboot, go back to recovery, & then try the 3.1 install
 
May 14, 2019 at 11:49 AM Post #20 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
I use fidelizer rom, a quick way to root the device, without using king root ?
 
May 14, 2019 at 11:52 AM Post #21 of 512

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Posts
668
Likes
282
Location
Forest Park, IL
Last edited:
May 14, 2019 at 12:40 PM Post #22 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
Flash this in TWRP, wipe dalvik cache then advanced tab fix permissions, reboot system.

Kingroot is a crapshoot that’s led to more bootlooping than success in my experience.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1ch3om94ugjlvjm/SuperSU_PRO_v2.79SR4.zip/file

thx for the link, did all the steps device doesn't boot anymore, is stuck on the fidelizer logo, loading page, i try to in stall super su, wipe cache fix permission (checking SE linux permission and non, first attempt was uncheck)

any ideas why of this ?
 
May 14, 2019 at 12:43 PM Post #23 of 512

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Posts
668
Likes
282
Location
Forest Park, IL
Are you using 1.2.4 fidelizer?

I have never checked the SE Linux option when fixing permissions.

Try going back into TWRP use file manager to delete supersu folder and try again.
 
Last edited:
May 14, 2019 at 3:59 PM Post #24 of 512

jkbuha

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Posts
284
Likes
398
Version 3.11 Released

- Miscellaneous (minor) bugfixes with installer and scripts. Recommended upgrade for everyone on V3.1

Download here: http://bit.ly/FiiOX5iiiV311
 
May 14, 2019 at 9:04 PM Post #25 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
Are you using 1.2.4 fidelizer?

I have never checked the SE Linux option when fixing permissions.

Try going back into TWRP use file manager to delete supersu folder and try again.

yes i'm using 1.2.4
 
May 14, 2019 at 9:55 PM Post #26 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
issue fixed, testing the kernel :) thx !
 
May 14, 2019 at 10:33 PM Post #27 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
i'm experiencing issues with the touch screen using the jkbuha kernel, touch screen quite unresponsive... someone else ?
 
May 15, 2019 at 2:21 AM Post #29 of 512

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Posts
668
Likes
282
Location
Forest Park, IL
i'm experiencing issues with the touch screen using the jkbuha kernel, touch screen quite unresponsive... someone else ?
Do you have the factory screen protector still installed? (I’ve removed mine) Do you use device with your finger or stylus? (I use a stylus) Go to developer options and under ‘input’ enable ‘show touches’ . This has helped me determine if and where my touches are detected.
 
May 15, 2019 at 6:42 AM Post #30 of 512

grig

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 26, 2016
Posts
210
Likes
28
Location
Melbourne
Do you have the factory screen protector still installed? (I’ve removed mine) Do you use device with your finger or stylus? (I use a stylus) Go to developer options and under ‘input’ enable ‘show touches’ . This has helped me determine if and where my touches are detected.
yes i do, always with my finger. i will do, keep you posted
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top