Fiio X5 3rd gen || 2x AKM 4490 || Balanced Out || DSD || DXD | DTS | Android || Dual Card Slot
post-14826724
Post #14,611 of 15,648

XP_98

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
623
Reaction score
114
Location
France
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Location
France
Posts
623
Likes
114
     Share This Post       
post-14826740
Post #14,612 of 15,648

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
634
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
634
Likes
248
If on prior firmware just connect to WiFi and the update should pop up as an OverTheAir upgrade.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14826802
Post #14,613 of 15,648

XP_98

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
623
Reaction score
114
Location
France
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Location
France
Posts
623
Likes
114
Sorry, I thought that OFW was the name of another modded firmware... :wink:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14826903
Post #14,614 of 15,648

XP_98

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
623
Reaction score
114
Location
France
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Location
France
Posts
623
Likes
114
What do I need to install X5iii-jkbuha-V2.7-TWRP ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14827031
Post #14,615 of 15,648

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
634
Reaction score
248
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
634
Likes
248
What do I need to install X5iii-jkbuha-V2.7-TWRP ?
they were posted on the previous page *whoosh*

here is another link to them.
just omit any steps pertaining to the installation of the custom rom.

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/fii...-dual-card-slot.828402/page-965#post-14769688

at the end of all that, once you get to the first boot with kernel and scripts installed, leave the device running for a bit (is it 1-2 minutes? or is it 1-2 hours?) then reboot it. it’s easy to miss but there will be a little prompt on the bottom of the screen when you unlock the device telling you the kernel optimizations are ready.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14827716
Post #14,616 of 15,648

jkbuha

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
282
Reaction score
397
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Posts
282
Likes
397
at the end of all that, once you get to the first boot with kernel and scripts installed, leave the device running for a bit (is it 1-2 minutes? or is it 1-2 hours?) then reboot it. it’s easy to miss but there will be a little prompt on the bottom of the screen when you unlock the device telling you the kernel optimizations are ready.
From V2.6 onwards you can just boot the player for the first time, leave the device running for 1-2 minutes (not hours) and then reboot. As @WitzyZed noted, you'll get a small prompt saying Kernel Optimisation Ready.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14828130
Post #14,617 of 15,648

XP_98

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
623
Reaction score
114
Location
France
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Location
France
Posts
623
Likes
114
Ok thank you all for your help, I will try this :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14828445
Post #14,618 of 15,648

ElKabong

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Posts
160
Likes
66
After some time spent on the latest stock firmware and the latest kernal from jkbuha, i encountered one little hiccup, after a song was done my unit went on pause, for whatever reason.
Other than that it's been running with zero problems. I know on older versions of fiio music app i would get the occasional skip on various songs. I have not experienced that at all now.
Today i was using JetAudio when my unit went on pause.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14828618
Post #14,619 of 15,648

BobSmith8901

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
314
Reaction score
123
Joined
May 5, 2015
Posts
314
Likes
123
After some time spent on the latest stock firmware and the latest kernal from jkbuha, i encountered one little hiccup, after a song was done my unit went on pause, for whatever reason.
Other than that it's been running with zero problems. I know on older versions of fiio music app i would get the occasional skip on various songs. I have not experienced that at all now.
Today i was using JetAudio when my unit went on pause.
Hey ElKabong--on an entirely unrelated side note re the X5, (although still sort of audio-related)...after reading your head-fi name multiple times from various postings, I kept trying to remember what the Elkabong thing was, as it reminded me of something from my childhood watching cartoons in the 60's. Then it dawned on me when I blew up your avatar-Quick Draw McGraw! If you haven't read the Wikipedia entry for him it's a real hoot, especially the super-accurate description of the cartoon guitar and how they got the soundtrack for the "ElKabong". Something satisfying in the violent explosion of the guitar as it smashed down as I think we also used to run around going ElKabong Elkabong!
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Left Channel
post-14828910
Post #14,620 of 15,648

ElKabong

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
160
Reaction score
66
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Posts
160
Likes
66
Hey ElKabong--on an entirely unrelated side note re the X5, (although still sort of audio-related)...after reading your head-fi name multiple times from various postings, I kept trying to remember what the Elkabong thing was, as it reminded me of something from my childhood watching cartoons in the 60's. Then it dawned on me when I blew up your avatar-Quick Draw McGraw! If you haven't read the Wikipedia entry for him it's a real hoot, especially the super-accurate description of the cartoon guitar and how they got the soundtrack for the "ElKabong". Something satisfying in the violent explosion of the guitar as it smashed down as I think we also used to run around going ElKabong Elkabong!
That's who i based it on, watched that cartoon when i was a youngster myself, and always liked ElKabong, wrecking somebody's noodle with his acoustic geetar.
 
post-14830194
Post #14,621 of 15,648

MinnieOne

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
325
Reaction score
107
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Posts
325
Likes
107
After briefly owning a FIIO docking station I decided I liked the idea of having a stand for charging my X5. From a prior hobby of beer brewing I used a leftover stainless fitting & rubber stopper with some hot glue and a drill bit to create this one off stand. Figured I'd share the photo's and maybe someone else will come up with something even better that I can copy.
IMG_20190310_234019871.jpg
IMG_20190310_234003385.jpg
 
post-14830616
Post #14,623 of 15,648

ghosthost

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
62
Reaction score
33
Location
New Jersey
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Location
New Jersey
Posts
62
Likes
33
Follow-up for anyone following the drama of my bursting battery issue. FiiO is now in touch with me and we are hashing out the details on getting a replacement battery shipped here. They say the cost is $20 (USD) shipped which I think is perfectly reasonable.

In the meantime, it may interest you to know that -- having removed the damaged battery from the unit -- I find that when attached to a power source such as the K5 dock, the x5III will actually boot up as normal and function without a battery installed at all. That takes a little bit of the edge off... even if it's not very portable at the moment (yeah, I could attach it to an external battery pack), it works.
 
post-14830631
Post #14,625 of 15,648

MinnieOne

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
325
Reaction score
107
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Posts
325
Likes
107
How about a picture of the battery? Glad they are taking care of it.
Follow-up for anyone following the drama of my bursting battery issue. FiiO is now in touch with me and we are hashing out the details on getting a replacement battery shipped here. They say the cost is $20 (USD) shipped which I think is perfectly reasonable.

In the meantime, it may interest you to know that -- having removed the damaged battery from the unit -- I find that when attached to a power source such as the K5 dock, the x5III will actually boot up as normal and function without a battery installed at all. That takes a little bit of the edge off... even if it's not very portable at the moment (yeah, I could attach it to an external battery pack), it works.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 11)

Top