FiiO Q5, Flagship DAC/Amp, an Dual DAC, USB/Optical/Coaxial/Line in, share the same amp module with X7.
post-12306375
Post #362 of 3,141

balek

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
10
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Posts
18
Likes
10
Can't wait for it.
Bravo Fiio !

Trimis de pe al meu SM-N9005 folosind Tapatalk
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306550
Post #364 of 3,141

TheoS53

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,962
Reaction score
1,125
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Posts
1,962
Likes
1,125
  just posted the final design of Q5. 
Looking really nice.

i think it would also be pretty cool if you guys could design it in such a way that would allow the attachment of some kind of "blanking" module, so that the user doesn't HAVE to have an amp module attached if he/she only wants to use the Q5 as a DAC...could possibly also reduce the footprint 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306565
Post #365 of 3,141

JamesFiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
1,985
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Posts
4,685
Likes
1,985
  Looking really nice.

i think it would also be pretty cool if you guys could design it in such a way that would allow the attachment of some kind of "blanking" module, so that the user doesn't HAVE to have an amp module attached if he/she only wants to use the Q5 as a DAC...could possibly also reduce the footprint 
 
yes, we already  design a " blanking " module. 
 
BTW, the Q5 will be deliveried without any amp module so people can choose the amp they want. 
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: TheoS53
post-12306577
Post #366 of 3,141

TheoS53

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,962
Reaction score
1,125
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Posts
1,962
Likes
1,125
   
yes, we already  design a " blanking " module. 
 
BTW, the Q5 will be deliveried without any amp module so people can choose the amp they want. 
I think that would be a pretty smart move.

Is there any indication of when the Q5 might be available? The reason I ask is because I'm currently looking at getting a DAC for my desktop...but it MUST have an optical input as well so that I can easily switch between my PlayStation and desktop. So far the Schiit Modi 2 Uber seems like my best option (especially that you can physically select between different inputs, as opposed to having to disconnect them).
I'd much prefer to buy another Fiio product though
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306590
Post #367 of 3,141

JamesFiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
1,985
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Posts
4,685
Likes
1,985
  I think that would be a pretty smart move.

Is there any indication of when the Q5 might be available? The reason I ask is because I'm currently looking at getting a DAC for my desktop...but it MUST have an optical input as well so that I can easily switch between my PlayStation and desktop. So far the Schiit Modi 2 Uber seems like my best option (especially that you can physically select between different inputs, as opposed to having to disconnect them).
I'd much prefer to buy another Fiio product though
 
the ETA is before X'mas
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: TheoS53
post-12306755
Post #368 of 3,141

Shenook

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
242
Reaction score
44
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Posts
242
Likes
44
Ok akm 4490, option to be dac only and aptx option to be amped and optical line in.

James just take my money... I will take 2 please.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306771
Post #369 of 3,141

John Culter

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
425
Reaction score
157
Joined
May 10, 2011
Posts
425
Likes
157
James, do you think your engineers will be able to implement the digital USB DAC volume control from the host (OSX / Win) for this amazing DAC/AMP?
Some DAPs like AK240 or Ibasso DX80 works great, also some DAC/AMPs like Creative Sound Blaster X5 works.
But the USB volume control for X5 / X7 is unfortunately not working ;(
Sound quality from this AMP and its DACs will be likely very good so this will be great for use as external soundcard for a lot of users for their computers. Thanks for any info! 
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-12306805
Post #370 of 3,141

HiFiChris

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
4,678
Reaction score
10,682
Location
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Location
Posts
4,678
Likes
10,682
As sort of a Sabre fanboy
 I am not 100% happy with the move to AKM (which often tend to be rather on the smooth, "analogue" side), but if implementation is done well, I hope that the final sound will be neutral, transparent and detailed.
 

Btw, do you have any information about the amount of volume steps, attenuation size per step in dB and the gain settings, @JamesFiiO?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306825
Post #371 of 3,141

JamesFiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
1,985
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Posts
4,685
Likes
1,985
  James, do you think your engineers will be able to implement the digital USB DAC volume control from the host (OSX / Win) for this amazing DAC/AMP?
Some DAPs like AK240 or Ibasso DX80 works great, also some DAC/AMPs like Creative Sound Blaster X5 works.
But the USB volume control for X5 / X7 is unfortunately not working ;(
Sound quality from this AMP and its DACs will be likely very good so this will be great for use as external soundcard for a lot of users for their computers. Thanks for any info! 
 
 
Q5 will used XMOS USB receiver which is included in AK240, so I guess it should work as AK240.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306833
Post #372 of 3,141

JamesFiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
1,985
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Posts
4,685
Likes
1,985
  As sort of a Sabre fanboy
 I am not 100% happy with the move to AKM (which often tend to be rather on the smooth, "analogue" side), but if implementation is done well, I hope that the final sound will be neutral, transparent and detailed.
 

Btw, do you have any information about the amount of volume steps, attenuation size per step in dB and the gain settings, @JamesFiiO?
 
 
should be 0.5dB if it is necessary. gain settings is two or three. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12306846
Post #373 of 3,141

HiFiChris

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
4,678
Reaction score
10,682
Location
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Location
Posts
4,678
Likes
10,682
  should be 0.5dB if it is necessary. gain settings is two or three. 
 
0.5 db for every step all over the whole attenuation range would be really nice. :)
 
Any information about how many attenuation steps will be there?

Three gain settings would be excellent. My suggestion: one negative gain (at least -15 dB or even lower for very sensitive IEMs) setting, one zero gain setting and one positive gain setting.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top