FiiO Q1MKII-Apple MFi Certified DAC & Amp, Native DSD Support, XMOS USB DAC chip, DAC AK4452, 20 hours
post-13992515
Post #436 of 808

bflat

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
3,063
Reaction score
1,410
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Location
San Francisco
Posts
3,063
Likes
1,410
Thanks for the answer. Looks like no Q1ii or Q5 for me then.

Do all Amp/DAC's that have a USB input, like the Mojo, have the same problem whereby the source powers the Amp/DAC?
Q5 has separate data and power micro usb ports like Mojo. Will report on playing and charging simultaneously when I receive it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13992695
Post #437 of 808

FLymon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Location
Atlanta, GA
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Location
Atlanta, GA
Posts
17
Likes
3
The video review is by @Hawaiibadboy who is living in Japan, and if I recall correctly, he got the cable from a Japanese online audio store, and it is indeed terminated so that the DAC is used without draining the source's battery (= no charging).
I saw that and I am not doubting him. His reviews are a big reason why I bought the Q1II and the FH1 IEMs.
I also linked to a review of what appears to be the same Audio Technica cable he used that failed to stop the equipment from charging from the phone it was connected to. Different equipment. I have a S7 Edge, he uses a Note 4 I beleive.
Maybe it matters what equipment is being used?
I had a cable maker tell me it can't be done, and I have found engineers saying it can't be done, but obviously some people have it working for them but not with an S7 that I can find.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13993166
Post #438 of 808

Hawaiibadboy

BANNED
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
9,326
Reaction score
10,486
Location
Hawaii/Japan/Your Head
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Location
Hawaii/Japan/Your Head
Posts
9,326
Likes
10,486
The video review is by @Hawaiibadboy who is living in Japan, and if I recall correctly, he got the cable from a Japanese online audio store, and it is indeed terminated so that the DAC is used without draining the source's battery (= no charging).
Yup, got it in Japan online. No idea why it is limited to Japan since the genuine OTG cable market is a worldwide consumer product
 
     Share This Post       
post-13993642
Post #440 of 808

Dutch1Schaefer

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
40
Reaction score
16
Location
Missouri
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Location
Missouri
Posts
40
Likes
16
Website
oldironsights.bandcamp.com
Would anyone be able to compare this to the ifi nano black label? Price is around $100 difference. Strongly considering one of these.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13993713
Post #441 of 808

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3,072
Reaction score
338
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,072
Likes
338
I had an iDSD Micro and it was stunning and worked on my Android phone. I would presume the Nano would be the same, bearing in mind its price point.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Dutch1Schaefer
post-13994031
Post #442 of 808

Gringo91

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Location
London
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Location
London
Posts
6
Likes
3
S8 user here.

Bought and tried. No luck with the Samsung usb c to micro b converter. But I've read that the supplied samsung converter isn't OTG compatible. But the larger usb c to usb A is. So hopefully something like this could work
https://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/audio...b-to-micro-usb-cable-0-15-m-10156047-pdt.html

Did some rummaging in my cupboards and found a unbranded USB to micro B cable. While rather unsightly it works. No dreaded red light!

20180123_181410.jpg DSC03126.JPG

So the question to whether you can use the Fiio Q1 ii on a Samsung S8 ? Yes.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lifted Andreas
post-13995072
Post #443 of 808

zentro

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Posts
12
Likes
10
is it a worthy upgrade to the e18? it will be mostly be used with my laptop but i might want to take it on the go sometimes as i did with my beloved e18 ,if not, is anything better at this 100 and under price point(doesnt have to be mobile)
 
     Share This Post       
post-13996019
Post #444 of 808

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,683
Reaction score
3,083
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,683
Likes
3,083
Age
13
Website
www.fiio.com
is it a worthy upgrade to the e18?
Dear friend,

If it is possible, you may have a try in the local store first. The Q1MKII also add the balanced output which E18 doesn't not support. :)

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com
     Share This Post       
post-14012362
Post #445 of 808

Saoshyant

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 17, 2012
Messages
5,139
Reaction score
1,106
Location
Lenexa, KS
Joined
Jul 17, 2012
Location
Lenexa, KS
Posts
5,139
Likes
1,106
I noticed my local dealer advertise a connector called FiiO TC03 for the MII
https://www.mobileztore.se/product.html/fio-tc03-for-q1-mark-ii-samsung-kompatibel?category_id=9
I have not seen this one mentioned before
Seeing an Aliexpress store selling the "Fiio TC03" I ordered it three weeks back and it just arrived. Packaging has zero indication of it being a Fiio product, and since then the store has changed the page so it no longer says it's a Fiio product. The page also falsely implied it would stop power transfer, although I will admit it's not transferring as quickly as my other cable does. It's a sturdy looking cable, but sadly didn't accomplish what more than a few of us are looking for. Perhaps a simpler solution would be a battery case so I'd have juice to spare.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14012760
Post #446 of 808

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,683
Reaction score
3,083
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,683
Likes
3,083
Age
13
Website
www.fiio.com
post-14012868
Post #447 of 808

slackerpo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
302
Reaction score
37
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Posts
302
Likes
37
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14014251
Post #448 of 808

CFGamescape

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
516
Reaction score
85
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Location
San Francisco
Posts
516
Likes
85
Anyone using custom / third-party micro USB to Lighting cables? If so, can you point me in the right direction? There's a few options on eBay, but not sure of compatibility (I have messages out to the sellers):

First one is confirmed to work with newest iPhone a and iOS. Second one does not work with newest iPhones. No word from third seller.

It also looks like Forza AudioWorks makes a micro USB / LOD cable, so that’s another good option.
I previously said above that the cable from the first link would work, but I just received mine and it doesn't work. iPhone 8+ with Q1M2. I've contacted the seller (good guy) to see if there's anything amiss because he did confirm the cable would recognize the iPhone 8, but it's likely I'll have to return it. Thus, Forza Audioworks (@Matez) is kind of my only hope, but they're saying they don't have the LOD cable available and don't know when they would. *Sad trombone*

Forza does have other LOD options, but none that allow me to select a micro USB. That said, I have an email out to them. My whole thing with this is to find a replacement/upgrade if the supplied Lightning to micro USB cable from FiiO goes kaput.

EDIT: Seller on eBay confirmed his cable didn’t have the CCK chip (d’oh). Miscommunication on both our parts, I think. Hopefully he can make me one with it but not sure. Waiting for response.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lifted Andreas
post-14019351
Post #449 of 808

CFGamescape

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
516
Reaction score
85
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Location
San Francisco
Posts
516
Likes
85
Hey, do you use your Q1ii for gaming as well?

If so, how do you find it? Especially with your PC37x.
Following up on this. I tried gaming with the Q1 M2. Played PUBG. Perfectly acceptable but doesn’t compare to a dedicated gaming sound card, IMO. Spatial cues are accurate but just not as clear and present. It’s a good option for a gaming laptop (which I don’t have).
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top