FiiO M15 Audio Player | Dual AK4499EQ | 7490 mAh Battery | 64 GB ROM | $1299.99
Jan 29, 2020 at 3:36 PM Post #751 of 3,939

Pictograms

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Posts
667
Likes
367
Location
Canada
30275201-77FB-4E74-88CE-836528AC6948.jpeg
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 3:41 PM Post #752 of 3,939

DarginMahkum

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Posts
3,729
Likes
5,456
Location
Berlin
I don’t think there will be much hope of a different volume display since it’s analog... maybe I’m the only one who loves the dial... I find it very easy to use while in my pocket and takes no time to adjust when switching headphones

I actually also like the dial very much and there is a very small volume display on the upper left corner of the screen, but I would prefer if it was a percentage, for example.
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 3:44 PM Post #753 of 3,939

Pictograms

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Posts
667
Likes
367
Location
Canada
I actually also like the dial very much and there is a very small volume display on the upper left corner of the screen, but I would prefer if it was a percentage, for example.
The would be much better! I didn’t even notice that changed from mute and on... but I see now it has 5 levels mute, 0-25, 26-50, 51-75, 76-100
That indicator is pretty useless
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 3:52 PM Post #755 of 3,939

DarginMahkum

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Posts
3,729
Likes
5,456
Location
Berlin

I was just copy pasting this. :)

If i remember right , SE output uses only 1 Dac..(correct me if this is wrong for the M15) if i buy a device with dual dac.. i want to use its full potential .. and 2nd .. all my upgrade cables are 4.4.. sure could use an adapter..

I think it is using both of the DACs in both modes. As I mentioned earlier, the AK4499 has 4 channels and the SP2000 divides it between balanced and unbalanced, per side. From what I see above, FiiO uses a DAC per side in both balanced and unbalanced modes with all channels. I thought maybe FiiO uses 4 channels in balanced mode and 2 in SE, but I am probably wrong - it seems to use all channels.
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 3:53 PM Post #756 of 3,939

cr3ativ3

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Posts
2,439
Likes
2,579
Location
Germany
I was just copy pasting this. :)



I think it is using both of the DACs in both modes. As I mentioned earlier, the AK4499 has 4 channels and the SP2000 divides it between balanced and unbalanced, per side. From what I see above, FiiO uses a DAC per side in both balanced and unbalanced modes with all channels. I thought maybe FiiO uses 4 channels in balanced mode and 2 in SE, but I am probably wrong - it seems to use all channels.
Well .. these are good news :)
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 5:02 PM Post #758 of 3,939

Pictograms

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Posts
667
Likes
367
Location
Canada
What's the approximate run-time using flac files if you care to share?
Just to check In again, after a few hours I lost 5% battery every 30 min streaming hires from tidal (balanced, headphone mode, low gain, volume 26-50 range) which looks like 9-10 hours is doable with wifi on... next time I charge the m15 I’ll try only FLAC (fiio music player) with wifi off
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 9:14 PM Post #759 of 3,939

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Posts
13,541
Likes
6,548
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
because this guy is Fiio connected and always had positive reviews about their products, even for x5iii crap. He was one of the guys who introduced Fiio products to Romanian potential customers. He;s enthusiastic about M15 and if he's going to sell it, i might try it but without play store, i don't know...
Soundwise and playing music stored in the 2 sd cards the X5III sounded and performed great.
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 9:15 PM Post #760 of 3,939

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Posts
13,541
Likes
6,548
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Unfortunately I don't have any. I did a complete reset to my portables about 5 months ago. I only have Stellia and PM-1.
Guess you going on a portable gear buying spree ?
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 9:53 PM Post #761 of 3,939

expat852

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Posts
51
Likes
49
Location
Hong Kong
Re: the analog volume knob, Fiio's M15 page says:
"Analog potentiometer volume knob Pro-audio grade volume adjustment
ADC curve reconstruction as employed in the M15's volume adjustment solves problem traditionally associated with analog potentiometers, such as volume imbalance between the left and right channels."
So it seems that it the analog potentiometer is not in the signal chain directly controlling the volume, but its position is digitized and used to digitally control the volume (ADC is Analog to Digital Control?). There are a few tells here such as Settings>General>Hold switch setting, where you can set the volume knob so it doesn't change the volume when the hold switch is on. That would not be possible if the analog potentiometer was in the signal chain.

This does at least mean that there is nothing stopping FIIO from adding a traditional numerical volume display in a future firmware update.
 
Last edited:
Jan 29, 2020 at 10:02 PM Post #763 of 3,939

LightBlue77

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2012
Posts
623
Likes
204
Location
Iasi, Romania
Soundwise and playing music stored in the 2 sd cards the X5III sounded and performed great.
This is your opinion, mine is different, aside of sound, it was slow, had poor battery life and broke micro SD cards. It's all on its head-fi thread. But, whatever, it's history.
About m15, how is tidal used on it? Does it have direct support or it is installed using downloaded apk? Now I use uapp on my smartphone and a pioneer dap, but without play store, it wouldn't be possible to install it.
 
Jan 29, 2020 at 10:03 PM Post #764 of 3,939

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Posts
13,541
Likes
6,548
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Jan 29, 2020 at 10:06 PM Post #765 of 3,939

Asdcreation

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 9, 2020
Posts
32
Likes
15
Location
Canada
Can someone compare it with audioquest dragonfly cobalt? I mean it's in different league but a sound comparison will be nice
Will be using it for car audio / focal clear headphones
Right now using fiio x7 mk2 with clear @Home
Cobalt with s9+ for car audio
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top