FiiO M11Pro | Dual AK4497 | THX AAA 78 Headpone Amp | 5.15" 18:9 720P | Exynos 7872 | 3G Ram+64G Rom |
post-15463299
Post #977 of 1,105

Shahram

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
29
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Posts
175
Likes
29
Has anyone had a chance to compare the M11 Pro to the Ibasso DX160 in terms of sound quality? I'm thinking of selling my DX160 and buying an M11 Pro due to the faster processor and smoother UI.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: aaf evo
post-15463305
Post #978 of 1,105

aaf evo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,325
Reaction score
1,560
Location
Houston, TX
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Location
Houston, TX
Posts
2,325
Likes
1,560
Has anyone had a chance to compare the M11 Pro to the Ibasso DX160 in terms of sound quality? I'm thinking of selling my DX160 and buying an M11 Pro due to the faster processor and smoother UI.
Been trying to find this comparison too without much luck. After using the M15 I really love how polished the FiiO's are, although I find the DX160 to be great in terms of UI.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15468376
Post #979 of 1,105

rurika

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
267
Reaction score
70
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Posts
267
Likes
70
Have a problem with fiio m11 pro. I try to use fiio as a OTG USB device to connect with my DAC.
Bought a usb c to usb a (female) OTG cable but the dac still can't detect fiio. Try several setting but still not successful.

My DAC not have a problem with WM1Z.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15471484
Post #980 of 1,105

rurika

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
267
Reaction score
70
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Posts
267
Likes
70
Bought five OTG cables to test but still not work. Well, look like no more fiio product for me. M11 Pro will be my last and might get rid of it very soon.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15471721
Post #981 of 1,105

WDitters

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
370
Reaction score
191
Location
The Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Location
The Netherlands
Posts
370
Likes
191
Website
www.t-systems.com
Have a problem with fiio m11 pro. I try to use fiio as a OTG USB device to connect with my DAC.
Bought a usb c to usb a (female) OTG cable but the dac still can't detect fiio. Try several setting but still not successful.

My DAC not have a problem with WM1Z.
Not sure if this can be fully attributed to the M11 PRO .. There might be some nuance required .. :)

My own findings are that in DAC mode the M11 PRO behaves exactly like the iFi products I used to own (xDSD, iDSD Micro BL) .. In fact, they use the same USB DAC drivers under Windows. And on my Android phone UAPP (USB Audio Play PRO) recognizes and drives the M11 PRO excactly the same way .. .As far as I can determine, the M11 PRO does exactly what it is supposed to do ...

If you would test your DAC with iFi products connected to it and it still does not work, then I would consider this a limitation of your DAC / or a limitation of the M11 PRO (and iFi) approach ...
Only if iFi devices are recognized correctly, while the M11 PRO is not, I would say the USB DAC implementation by FiiO could be considered flawed ..

But for now, as far I can ascertain, FiiO chose the same approach as iFi .. Which works fine within the design parameters of that approach .. :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15473250
Post #982 of 1,105

rurika

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
267
Reaction score
70
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Posts
267
Likes
70
Well, I don't have ifi product to test.
Anyway, when play it with WM1Z. The dac play it correctly.

I just want fiio to play audio via USB but it can't.
I want to compare the sound between those two daps via USB Audio cause I like the sound of WM1Z as a source more than my custom PC (fanless Linear PSU PC).
 
     Share This Post       
post-15473331
Post #983 of 1,105

WDitters

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
370
Reaction score
191
Location
The Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Location
The Netherlands
Posts
370
Likes
191
Website
www.t-systems.com
Well, I don't have ifi product to test.
Anyway, when play it with WM1Z. The dac play it correctly.

I just want fiio to play audio via USB but it can't.
I want to compare the sound between those two daps via USB Audio cause I like the sound of WM1Z as a source more than my custom PC (fanless Linear PSU PC).
Ah.. I see.. You want to use the FiiO M11 Pro as a source, not as a DAC.. Hmmm interesting issue :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15474716
Post #984 of 1,105

CANiSLAYu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
636
Reaction score
335
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts
636
Likes
335
Dear friend,

1. The MQA format on our DAPs will support Tidal soon after Chinese lunar Spring Festival.
2. Actually, M11Pro and M15 has already support MQA 2x on Tidal, and they will support MQA 8x on Tidal in the near future.

Best regards
Any update on third party app MQA support? Thank you!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15474938
Post #985 of 1,105

WDitters

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
370
Reaction score
191
Location
The Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Location
The Netherlands
Posts
370
Likes
191
Website
www.t-systems.com
Any update on third party app MQA support? Thank you!
Unlikely .. Apart from Tidal (that actually supports MQA on the M11 PRO and M15), I believe there is only USB Audio Player PRO that supports MQA. In fact, sound quality is even better with UAPP than with Tidal itself.

Unfortunately UAPP (and many other apps) require Google Play services. By choosing Android 7 for their DAPs, @FiiO in fact chose to be in a position where Google Play Services will never become available. And therefore would have to rely on 3rd party developers recoding their app to go without Google Play services ... And that so far seems highly unlikely ..

So as far as I can assess any move towards third party MQA support would first require FiiO to upgrade the M11/M15 range to a higehr, suppported version of Android .. 8, 9 or 10 .... And that would involve paying additional licensing fees to Google ...
 
     Share This Post       
post-15475358
Post #986 of 1,105

CANiSLAYu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
636
Reaction score
335
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts
636
Likes
335
Unlikely .. Apart from Tidal (that actually supports MQA on the M11 PRO and M15),
That’s what I’m asking about. M11 Pro and M15 don’t support MQA with Tidal yet, only local files via FiiO Music app. It needs to be enabled via firmware update and last I heard it was expected in March.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15475396
Post #987 of 1,105

WDitters

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
370
Reaction score
191
Location
The Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Location
The Netherlands
Posts
370
Likes
191
Website
www.t-systems.com
That’s what I’m asking about. M11 Pro and M15 don’t support MQA with Tidal yet, only local files via FiiO Music app. It needs to be enabled via firmware update and last I heard it was expected in March.
As far as I know that is actually not the case. The M11 Pro plays MQA files, and the master logo is displayed when playing an MQA track.. Otherwise it would display the hifi logo.. Same behaviour when connected in USB Dac mode to Tidal desktop. The master logo also lights up there..
 
     Share This Post       
post-15475438
Post #988 of 1,105

CANiSLAYu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
636
Reaction score
335
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Location
Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts
636
Likes
335
As far as I know that is actually not the case. The M11 Pro plays MQA files, and the master logo is displayed when playing an MQA track.. Otherwise it would display the hifi logo.. Same behaviour when connected in USB Dac mode to Tidal desktop. The master logo also lights up there..
That's because the app does the first unfold. The M11 Pro or M15 is not doing the additional unfolds to full resolution until it's enabled by FiiO. It's stated specifically on FiiO's marketing material:

M11.jpg




Here's a post from FiiO confirming same. You are not getting full MQA in Tidal on M11 Pro right now, just the first software unfold in the app.

Capture.JPG
 
     Share This Post       
post-15475670
Post #989 of 1,105

WDitters

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
370
Reaction score
191
Location
The Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Location
The Netherlands
Posts
370
Likes
191
Website
www.t-systems.com
That's because the app does the first unfold. The M11 Pro or M15 is not doing the additional unfolds to full resolution until it's enabled by FiiO. It's stated specifically on FiiO's marketing material:





Here's a post from FiiO confirming same. You are not getting full MQA in Tidal on M11 Pro right now, just the first software unfold in the app.

Ok that explains why I had a distinct feeling that I was getting better quality from Qobuz streams and my own HD tracks than from Tidal .... In that case I will probably end up selling my M11 PRO and accelerate my decision to move to Astell & Kerns' SE100 rather than the M15. Positioning the M11 PRO and M15 as MQA capable devices technically is correct but in fact is a bit misleading
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 4)

Top