FiiO K7 Desktop DAC&Headphone AMP Discussion | XLR Balance | Dual THX AAA | Xmos | ...
post-15767319
Post #227 of 232

Kean FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
60
Reaction score
105
Location
China
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Location
China
Posts
60
Likes
105
Hi Kean,
I have a K5Pro and am very impressed. Looking forward to the K7 series.
I have a feature request which could be applied in the firmware for both the K5Pro and the new K7 series:
I use the K5 Pro with HQPlayer music software. I upsample all audio to DSD256.
Since you are using a NJW1195 volume chip there is no need to internally convert dsd to pcm. The akm4493 can run in bypass mode with dsd input.
This would bypass most of the internal dsp and remove the dsd to pcm internal conversion step.
My request is a firmware update to allow dsd256 to run in bypass mode.

Here is a link to the direct/bypass mode block diagram for the akm4493:
https://audiophilestyle.com/uploads/monthly_2020_01/image.png.810c6bb9cb2173b64a6fa28615d758b8.png

Here is some further discussion on bypass mode:
https://audiophilestyle.com/forums/...ltering/page/12/?tab=comments#comment-1023923
That's a good suggestion, we will check the AKM datasheet and confirm it, such as noise and THD audio specifications. :beerchug:
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com
post-15775848
Post #228 of 232

Racheski

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2020
Messages
55
Reaction score
49
Location
Chicago
Joined
Apr 13, 2020
Location
Chicago
Posts
55
Likes
49
For some yes ... but at that price I would at least expect an output switch to choose between headphone and my active monitors
Hook up the pre-out or line-out to your active monitors. Then the PO/LO switch will turn off your speakers when toggled.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15777066
Post #229 of 232

wiemelen

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Belgium
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Location
Belgium
Posts
5
Likes
1
Hook up the pre-out or line-out to your active monitors. Then the PO/LO switch will turn off your speakers when toggled.
That would work ... if such switch was available.
Can't seem to find such switch on the pics on page 1.
RCA and Balanced output seems to work similar to my Motu M2.
You can use both at the same time, but there is no switch.
At least with the Motu, I can set the volume going to my headphone and active monitor speakers separately.
Also not ideal since I need to change 2 volumes each time I switch, but at least there is a workable solution.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15777236
Post #231 of 232

wiemelen

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Belgium
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Location
Belgium
Posts
5
Likes
1
Killing me bruh....look at page 11.
OK ... now I'm feeling stupid for having missed that.
This indeed would work to switch between active speakers or no active speakers.
However, the switch will not prevent your headphone from also playing while your speakers play, which is not desirable.
So that combined with the fact that I still can't use my headsets mic for conversations (hence the audio interface Motu M2 I use), makes it a less interesting product for my personal use. Or maybe I just need to consider switching to a headphone instead of a headset and use a separate USB microphone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15777246
Post #232 of 232

Racheski

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2020
Messages
55
Reaction score
49
Location
Chicago
Joined
Apr 13, 2020
Location
Chicago
Posts
55
Likes
49
OK ... now I'm feeling stupid for having missed that.
This indeed would work to switch between active speakers or no active speakers.
However, the switch will not prevent your headphone from also playing while your speakers play, which is not desirable.
So that combined with the fact that I still can't use my headsets mic for conversations (hence the audio interface Motu M2 I use), makes it a less interesting product for my personal use. Or maybe I just need to consider switching to a headphone instead of a headset and use a separate USB microphone.
Yeah in terms of all in one bang for your buck functionality the MOTU products are the top of the mountain.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 7)

Top