FiiO K5 || FiiO's docking desktop amp
post-12430394
Post #511 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
I tested it this week with 3 different tube amps. No interference, hum or noise whatsoever :blush:

How did you set it up exactly to the tube amp from K5? RCA out from K5 (thought these were just for pre- amp purposes) to RCA input on tube amp?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12431242
Post #512 of 732

Ultrainferno

Member of the Trade: Headfonia
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
1,326
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Posts
7,162
Likes
1,326
Website
www.headfonia.com
How did you set it up exactly to the tube amp from K5? RCA out from K5 (thought these were just for pre- amp purposes) to RCA input on tube amp?
 
That is exactly how
 
     Share This Post       
post-12432284
Post #513 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
     Share This Post       
post-12436265
Post #514 of 732

Shetzu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
113
Location
Tropical
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Location
Tropical
Posts
644
Likes
113
Today a strange thing happpened. Suddenly while  plugging the K5 to the supplied power adapter it started making strange sound of clicking. Like some relay sound from inside like a clock. When I turned the Volume knob switch to ON mode the red light flashes in ressonance with the clicking sound coming from inside and does not power ON.

I  have sent a mail to distributor Origin Games for exchange/refund.

 
     Share This Post       
post-12436287
Post #515 of 732

CH23

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
2,688
Reaction score
536
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,688
Likes
536
  Today a strange thing happpened. Suddenly while  plugging the K5 to the supplied power adapter it started making strange sound of clicking. Like some relay sound from inside like a clock. When I turned the Volume knob switch to ON mode the red light flashes in ressonance with the clicking sound coming from inside and does not power ON.

I  have sent a mail to distributor Origin Games for exchange/refund.

tried unplugging the unit and power adapter?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12436293
Post #516 of 732

Shetzu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
113
Location
Tropical
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Location
Tropical
Posts
644
Likes
113
 
tried unplugging the unit and power adapter?
Yes I unplugged it and tried plugging it again but the same issue is there
 
     Share This Post       
post-12436704
Post #517 of 732

CH23

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
2,688
Reaction score
536
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,688
Likes
536
     Share This Post       
post-12438429
Post #518 of 732

Shetzu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
113
Location
Tropical
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Location
Tropical
Posts
644
Likes
113
 
definitely broken then...
Yeah. I have sent a mail for exchange/refund to distributor. Hoping to hear from them today.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12438642
Post #519 of 732

t258jgn

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
10
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Posts
13
Likes
10
   
Doesn't it also do the X5SG on balanced? Haven't tried though
EDIT: For better signal transmission: connect the X5II/X7 to the K5 through its docking connector, then output via the double3.5mm Balanced Line out port at the back of the K5 to a desktop amplifier/headphone amplifier that has an XLR input port.
 
On Fiio K5 product page indicate X5 II can also be used for Balanced Out.
 
But mine cannot.
 
Why?

 
     Share This Post       
post-12438754
Post #521 of 732

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
10,851
Reaction score
2,608
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
10,851
Likes
2,608
 
Hi kdub, here is the image for your reference : 





Can anyone show me the pin-out for the Balanced Cable?

I have asked someone to custom make the cable but when I use with X5 Gen2, no sound comes out from my Amp

The cable is made using
Belden Star Quad 1804A Cable BLACK(2 Mtr) + Neutrik NC3MXX-B Gold XLR Male + Lumberg 3.5mm 4 Pole Male Connnector

Sorry for the late reply.

Well this doesn't sound right. The balanced output of the K5 is 6 poles spread over two connectors (left port: left channel +, left channel -, ground; right port: right channel +, right channel -, ground). It sounds like you're trying to adapt this to an amp accepting four pole input (left channel +, left channel -, right channel +, right channel - only).

Please consult the manual of your amp for the full pinout of your XLR input(s). Meanwhile here is the pinout of the K5's balanced outputs:
Two ports for 3 pole 3.5mm male connector.
For left channel male connector:
Tip: left +
Ring: left -
Sleeve: ground
For right channel male connector:
Tip: right +
Right: right -
Sleeve: ground

Please present this complete specification for the K5 together with that for your amp to your DIY builder to build the appropriate adapter cable, thanks.

Best regards,
Joe
 
     Share This Post       
post-12457909
Post #522 of 732

Ab10

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
269
Reaction score
81
Location
IND
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Location
IND
Posts
269
Likes
81
  Today a strange thing happpened. Suddenly while  plugging the K5 to the supplied power adapter it started making strange sound of clicking. Like some relay sound from inside like a clock. When I turned the Volume knob switch to ON mode the red light flashes in ressonance with the clicking sound coming from inside and does not power ON.

I  have sent a mail to distributor Origin Games for exchange/refund.
 
I strongly doubt -  this is the issue which generate only when the adopter (power brick) provisioned for 3 Pole but the supplied AC Plug only have 2 pole. Actually the supplied one indeed 3 pin but only usable when user situated at France - Not India.
 
Please post any update or difficulty about replacing the product....So we can learn.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12458057
Post #523 of 732

Shetzu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
113
Location
Tropical
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Location
Tropical
Posts
644
Likes
113
   
I strongly doubt -  this is the issue which generate only when the adopter (power brick) provisioned for 3 Pole but the supplied AC Plug only have 2 pole. Actually the supplied one indeed 3 pin but only usable when user situated at France - Not India.
 
Please post any update or difficulty about replacing the product....So we can learn.
I sent the unit back to distributor who tried it and had no issues. Finally I came to the conclusion it has got nothing to do with 3 pin plug adapter or 2 pin plug adapter. Apparently I had plugged the unit to multi socket Belkin Extension chord which has spike control. Si I feel their may have been spike in electricity which may have caused this issue.
THe distributor used my unit under watch for 3 days and found no problems. Today he is sending it back to me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12458071
Post #524 of 732

Ab10

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
269
Reaction score
81
Location
IND
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Location
IND
Posts
269
Likes
81
  I sent the unit back to distributor who tried it and had no issues. Finally I came to the conclusion it has got nothing to do with 3 pin plug adapter or 2 pin plug adapter. Apparently I had plugged the unit to multi socket Belkin Extension chord which has spike control. Si I feel their may have been spike in electricity which may have caused this issue.
THe distributor used my unit under watch for 3 days and found no problems. Today he is sending it back to me.
 
Thanks for the update.
 
Glad To know the fact and actually relieved - I'm also using the Belkin Spike Strip - Hope I may not face the same issue.
 
Though I insert flat metal sheet which goes to directly to Ground Pin hole of the Belkin Strip and the rest in the contact of the French Ground pole area....better than nothing...I presume.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12458096
Post #525 of 732

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
6,049
Reaction score
2,566
Location
Guangzhou,China
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Location
Guangzhou,China
Posts
6,049
Likes
2,566
Age
12
Website
www.fiio.com
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top