FiiO K5 || FiiO's docking desktop amp
post-12425872
Post #496 of 732

mikesale

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
178
Reaction score
37
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Posts
178
Likes
37
.
Can anyone show me the pin-out for the Balanced Cable?

I have asked someone to custom make the cable but when I use with X5 Gen2, no sound comes out from my Amp

The cable is made using
Belden Star Quad 1804A Cable BLACK(2 Mtr) + Neutrik NC3MXX-B Gold XLR Male + Lumberg 3.5mm 4 Pole Male Connnector
I believe if you read carefully, only the X7 supports the balanced outputs
 
     Share This Post       
post-12425949
Post #497 of 732

Ultrainferno

Member of the Trade: Headfonia
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
1,326
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Posts
7,162
Likes
1,326
Website
www.headfonia.com
I believe if you read carefully, only the X7 supports the balanced outputs
 
Doesn't it also do the X5SG on balanced? Haven't tried though
EDIT: For better signal transmission: connect the X5II/X7 to the K5 through its docking connector, then output via the double3.5mm Balanced Line out port at the back of the K5 to a desktop amplifier/headphone amplifier that has an XLR input port.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12427281
Post #498 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
   
Doesn't it also do the X5SG on balanced? Haven't tried though
EDIT: For better signal transmission: connect the X5II/X7 to the K5 through its docking connector, then output via the double3.5mm Balanced Line out port at the back of the K5 to a desktop amplifier/headphone amplifier that has an XLR input port.

i'm confused with the whole Balanced setup with the K5. If i understand correctly you can't plug in your balance headphone to the K5 and listen directly?  You have to cable out to another amplifier that allows you to plug in your balance headphones?  
 
     Share This Post       
post-12427308
Post #499 of 732

Ultrainferno

Member of the Trade: Headfonia
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
1,326
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Posts
7,162
Likes
1,326
Website
www.headfonia.com
i'm confused with the whole Balanced setup with the K5. If i understand correctly you can't plug in your balance headphone to the K5 and listen directly?  You have to cable out to another amplifier that allows you to plug in your balance headphones?  

Yes. Fiio never said it was a Headphone out.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12427316
Post #500 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
Yes. Fiio never said it was a Headphone out.

I guess i got the wrong impression.  So the K5 is just a dock/bridge for the X7/DAP to another amp for a balance setup.  Quite disappointing. So i guess i'll have to buy another amp if I want to use balance headphones with the X7 acting as a DAC.  Not understanding the benefit of adding the K5. Why not just connect X7 to the balanced AMP and skip the middle K5 piece? Less clutter.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12428136
Post #501 of 732

Shetzu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
644
Reaction score
113
Location
Tropical
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Location
Tropical
Posts
644
Likes
113
Understand the proprietary Micro USB 11 pin male to Micro USB 11 pin male cable will be launched by Fiio in April.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12428274
Post #502 of 732

t258jgn

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
10
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Posts
13
Likes
10
   
Doesn't it also do the X5SG on balanced? Haven't tried though
EDIT: For better signal transmission: connect the X5II/X7 to the K5 through its docking connector, then output via the double3.5mm Balanced Line out port at the back of the K5 to a desktop amplifier/headphone amplifier that has an XLR input port.
 
 
I've also read Balanced Out for X5II & X7
 
     Share This Post       
post-12429509
Post #504 of 732

kgs51

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Messages
223
Reaction score
19
Joined
Oct 30, 2015
Posts
223
Likes
19
I found a 5 pcs micro usb male to micro usb male cable for sale on Ebay. Will this be sufficient to connect my X7 to K5 through the micro usb ports.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12429847
Post #505 of 732

Ab10

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
269
Reaction score
81
Location
IND
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Location
IND
Posts
269
Likes
81
  I found a 5 pcs micro usb male to micro usb male cable for sale on Ebay. Will this be sufficient to connect my X7 to K5 through the micro usb ports.
 
Maybe not....Normal Micro USB got 5 pin config where 'Dock In' need 11 Pin to function (recognize as the player and pass though the sound) . - If the price is not too High you may buy one and check yourself.
 
It will defiantly start charging the X7 once you connect via 'Dock In' port at the back of K5 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12430010
Post #506 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
What I basically wanted to say, in a much much shorter version was - What do you expect from K5? Do you need it? Does it make sense for your audio equipment? You know what are the feature of K5 - are they worth the money to you?

Finally - let's admit it - X7 docked in K5 just looks cool. It's very hard to resist buying it even though the SQ improvement may be subtle  :beerchug:

Is it possible to use the K5 purely as a dock only for the X7 and connect a tube amp to the K5 for the amplification part? This looks better than connecting the X7 directly to an OTL tube amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12430042
Post #507 of 732

OSiRiSsk

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
172
Reaction score
294
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Posts
172
Likes
294
Is it possible to use the K5 purely as a dock only for the X7 and connect a tube amp to the K5 for the amplification part? This looks better than connecting the X7 directly to an OTL tube amp.
This is good question and the answer also interest me. I'd like to use K5 for its charging purposes, but use AM1 as amplifier since it sounds better to my ears AND there is noise when using K5.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12430050
Post #508 of 732

cheznous

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
623
Reaction score
127
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Posts
623
Likes
127
Is it possible to use the K5 purely as a dock only for the X7 and connect a tube amp to the K5 for the amplification part? This looks better than connecting the X7 directly to an OTL tube amp.

Well you have to use line out to the tube amp which works.
However I find the K5 tends to cause a lot of interference when connected to tubes.
Works better just using line out from X7 into tube amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12430085
Post #509 of 732

kdub

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
339
Reaction score
38
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Posts
339
Likes
38
Well you have to use line out to the tube amp which works.
However I find the K5 tends to cause a lot of interference when connected to tubes.
Works better just using line out from X7 into tube amp.

Thanks for the answer but is this the only way? Have to admit it won't win any elegance awards lol
 
     Share This Post       
post-12430091
Post #510 of 732

Ultrainferno

Member of the Trade: Headfonia
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
7,162
Reaction score
1,326
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Posts
7,162
Likes
1,326
Website
www.headfonia.com
Well you have to use line out to the tube amp which works.
However I find the K5 tends to cause a lot of interference when connected to tubes.
Works better just using line out from X7 into tube amp.


Thanks for the answer but is this the only way? Have to admit it won't win any elegance awards lol

I tested it this week with 3 different tube amps. No interference, hum or noise whatsoever :blush:
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top