FiiO E5 or FiiO E6 ??
Nov 11, 2011 at 2:53 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

mps83

New Head-Fier
I've ordered the FiiO E5 to use with my Phonak PFE headphones and my ZuneHD mp3 player. I didn't realise that there was a FiiO E6 available.

My question is.......

Is it worth getting the E6 over the E5 model?

Thanks

P.S Sorry can a mod please move this to the correct forum.

Nov 11, 2011 at 3:10 PM Post #2 of 15
this review does a pretty good job of comapring the 2

http://anythingbutipod.com/2011/10/fiio-e6-portable-headphone-amp-review/

Nov 11, 2011 at 3:46 PM Post #3 of 15

Quote:
this review does a pretty good job of comapring the 2

http://anythingbutipod.com/2011/10/fiio-e6-portable-headphone-amp-review/

Thanks for that mate, althought it's all a bit over my head, i'm new to this portable amp business. Has anyone here have experience with them both? Is there any specific reason i should return my E5 and swap it for an E6?

Nov 11, 2011 at 6:09 PM Post #4 of 15

Quote:
Thanks for that mate, althought it's all a bit over my head, i'm new to this portable amp business. Has anyone here have experience with them both? Is there any specific reason i should return my E5 and swap it for an E6?

i had both before and they are almost the same , i just like the e5 more coz it feel solid whilr e6 feel cheap

Nov 17, 2011 at 2:43 AM Post #6 of 15
I have both the E5 and E6 and I prefer the SQ of the E6. The soundstage feels wider than on the E5 and I get the feeling that instrument separation is a bit better (of course it depends on your source and headphones).
However, I think that the bass boost on the E5 is much better. It feels like bass is boosted more whereas on the E6 it feels like the overall volume is just raised. In this I agree with the review from Anything but iPod.

But with bass boost turned off there is no question - the E6 easily triumphs the E5. If I want bass to be raised, I just EQ my player instead.