FiiO E07K ANDES Review and Help Thread
Jan 28, 2013 at 9:53 PM Post #451 of 1,676

bowei006

Panda Man
Reviewer at Headphone.Guru
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Posts
38,488
Likes
1,158
Quote:
Schiit i'm using the one with fermites I have

The original didn't come with it
 
Using it doesn't matter. Fermite should help with EMI and Jitter anyway. Only problem is that those weight more and so it can swing the unit more. I had a problem with the E17 where my opt cable would literally swing the unit around as it was 3/4 of an inch thick
 

 
Jan 28, 2013 at 9:58 PM Post #452 of 1,676

TrollDragon

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Posts
6,490
Likes
1,096
Location
Windsor, NS
Fermite you say...
biggrin.gif

 
Jan 28, 2013 at 10:39 PM Post #455 of 1,676

kskwerl

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Posts
1,597
Likes
24
Quote:
The original didn't come with it
 
Using it doesn't matter. Fermite should help with EMI and Jitter anyway. Only problem is that those weight more and so it can swing the unit more. I had a problem with the E17 where my opt cable would literally swing the unit around as it was 3/4 of an inch thick
 

wait are you talking about the E17 or the E07? I was referring to the E07
 
Jan 28, 2013 at 11:17 PM Post #456 of 1,676

hypertek

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Posts
140
Likes
10
Quote:
what music player are you using?
it would be best. But not required. It removes jitter and helps with EMI. 
 
What cable though. Power and USB cable? It would be best to have fermite. I don't think terrible stuff will happen. But of course it is all at your own risk. Everything is. 

So far I tried vlc media player, and windows media player (whichever version comes with win 8 x64). On my desktop it is win 7 x64 which I have not tried yet. 
 
Jan 29, 2013 at 8:44 AM Post #457 of 1,676

bowei006

Panda Man
Reviewer at Headphone.Guru
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Posts
38,488
Likes
1,158
Quote:
wait are you talking about the E17 or the E07? I was referring to the E07

Doesn't matter. Both are very similar. Heavy cables swing them around.
Quote:
So far I tried vlc media player, and windows media player (whichever version comes with win 8 x64). On my desktop it is win 7 x64 which I have not tried yet. 

Try iTunes and foobar
 
Jan 31, 2013 at 12:20 AM Post #459 of 1,676

RoMee

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2012
Posts
1,174
Likes
123
So today I bought the E07K instead of the E12 just because it'll look pretty stacked next to my iPod video.  I didn't expect much and thought I would have to max out the bass to get the bass quantity I want. I was surprised when the E07K was able to power my L1 so easily. Now I can sit back and wait for reviews before buying my next amp (C5). 
My next amp will either be the JDS Lab C5 or the Headstage Arrow 12HE 4G.
 

 
Feb 1, 2013 at 6:27 PM Post #461 of 1,676

hypertek

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Posts
140
Likes
10
I hooked up the e07k to my desktop and it was beautiful stutter free, as well as no stutter in deus ex human revolution. Which leads me to believe it has something to do with my laptop, or windows 8. As my desktop is windows 7. 
 
Feb 3, 2013 at 11:10 PM Post #462 of 1,676

CRUZMISL

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 27, 2012
Posts
52
Likes
12
Quote:
Has anyone compared the E07K to a good PC soundcard like the ASUS Xonar Essence STX?
 
I'm wondering what to expect.
 
I have an Andes on order so I will compare it to my Auzentech Forte driving my HE-400's.

 
So i've been using the E07K for about a week now instead of my Auzentech Forte soundcard.
 
I think it is slightly different though just as good. Which is fantastic since the soundcard cost twice the price.
 
It is a warmer sound, not as bright. Gives a feeling of more musicality at the expense of detail.
 
Feb 5, 2013 at 7:12 AM Post #463 of 1,676

Lurk650

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
5,326
Likes
2,049
Location
South San Francisco
Really weird, I have two MicroUSB cables, one of which IDK where it came from since I haven't had a microUSB device in a while, but the E07K will only work with one of them. I'm guessing the one it came with, I can't remember which one came with it so I'm just assuming lol. Plugging in one cable with the E07K it won't show up on my computer, plug in the other one and instantly shows up. Kinda weird. 
 
Feb 5, 2013 at 2:01 PM Post #464 of 1,676

MattTCG

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Posts
15,559
Likes
3,409
This has probably already been answered but I could find it...
 
I have the e09 and e07k. When docked will I still be able to use the hardware EQ in the Andes? Just switch on the lo-bypass? 
 
thanks...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top