[FiiO BTR5/FiiO BTR5 2021] Flagship Portable High-Fidelity Bluetooth Amplifier, Bluetooth chip CSR8675, support up to 384kHz&DSD256 native
Jun 22, 2021 at 6:13 PM Post #2,536 of 3,058

fsi22

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Posts
274
Likes
187
Location
Australia
BTW this thing beats my LG V10, at least at first impression. Since i no longer have the V10 i can only go by memory but the sound just seems better, and that despite using my HD 600 out of the 3.5mm.

One question about that. Does the 2.5mm output changes the sound quality or is it just about power? I could get balanced cables for the HD 600 and my IEM but honestly if it's just about power i may not need to re-cable since i'm don't really listen to loud music. Plus i think the 3.5mm output doesn't drain the battery as much, right?


Doesn't change sound quality, increases the Voltage. I have 2 units which ab tested at max voltage of the SE. No difference.

For the HD600, I'd use balanced as it gets a little louder. I haven't tested a 300 Ohm to measure exactly how much but it would be at least 4dB.
 
Last edited:
Jun 22, 2021 at 6:27 PM Post #2,538 of 3,058

Chris Kaoss

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Posts
2,356
Likes
1,921
Location
Bavaria
Audio-GD has a number of interesting cables, but not the 2.5mm TRRS to Dual XLR, perhaps they might take a custom order?
http://www.audio-gd.com/Pro/CablesEN.htm

Here are a few Amazon candidates:
2.5mm Trrs to Dual XLR Male Cable Balanced Audio Headphone Adapter Cable 1 FT 0.3M
NewFantasia 2.5mm TRRS Balanced Male to 2 XLR Male Dual XLR Male
P2.5-M2 HiFi Hi End 2.5mm TRRS Balanced Male to 2 XLR Male Cable

I've used a number of NewFantasia cables and they are well made and so far reliable...
Thx for pointing out.
Have ordered 2 cables immediately. ^^

One 2.5 to 2x xlr and one 2.5 to 4pin xlr.

Let's see/hear how the difference really is. :)

Should be here on friday.
 
Jun 22, 2021 at 6:45 PM Post #2,539 of 3,058

fsi22

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Posts
274
Likes
187
Location
Australia
I see, so i'll just recable the HD 600 and leave the IEM as they are.

Is it safe to buy them from China? Some of them go for little:

https://www.ebay.it/itm/324559827514?hash=item4b9145f23a:g:mxcAAOSwOktglNwJ

Not sure where to get parts like this here in Italy.

yeah, china is good I got my cables off ebay a few years back.

I buy pieces and cables for my oscilloscope and headphones off AliExpress often. very fast delivery times to Australia.

Yeah use iem off 3.5mm. What iem do you have? the btr5 app is awesome. has a guide which is spot on. type in impedance and sensitivity of iem and gives you a dB SPL.
 
Jun 23, 2021 at 3:15 AM Post #2,542 of 3,058

LoryWiv

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Posts
2,863
Likes
3,489
Location
Northern California
Jun 23, 2021 at 9:07 AM Post #2,544 of 3,058

Chris Kaoss

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Posts
2,356
Likes
1,921
Location
Bavaria
Not on mine till now.
But i use it with bluetooth more often since the Mojo has arrived. :)
 
Jun 23, 2021 at 12:52 PM Post #2,545 of 3,058

hmscott

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Posts
1,381
Likes
1,725
Location
California
I've tested the BTR5 balanced out , 2.8V no clipping maxed out on 40hz and 1khz sine wave into 56 Ohm load.

I use mine through 2.5mm into an Xcan. Balanced Ouput is 5.5V (Max BTR5 and + 10 in red zone on Xcan)

Which I find stunning as it then is Diablo, Normal output level. To put into context. The Susvara I have which measures 60 Ohm @ 80dB mW ( 92dB V) sensitivity, will reach 107dB SPL with that combo.

Testing a track like Billie Ellish - Bury a Friend ( My go to torture test) @ 56 seconds , reaches 0dbFS and 70hz. The BTR5 on it's own, will output a clean 101dB SPL with my headphones.
That is awesome! Thanks for sharing. Can you share which cable you used?

And, I've recently learned that the ifi Diablo measured only 1.7w continuous - not 5w. I was considering a Diablo for boosting the M15 output - while waiting for the M17 with more power, but it looks like I'll wait :)
 
Jun 23, 2021 at 4:49 PM Post #2,546 of 3,058

fsi22

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Posts
274
Likes
187
Location
Australia
That is awesome! Thanks for sharing. Can you share which cable you used?

And, I've recently learned that the ifi Diablo measured only 1.7w continuous - not 5w. I was considering a Diablo for boosting the M15 output - while waiting for the M17 with more power, but it looks like I'll wait :)

I tested all the units with all cables I have. Skyaudio cables, Original Hifiman, Sennheiser and a cheap AliExpress cables. All gave me the same result in terms of maximum output at clipping.

Yeah, the Diablo is awesome but low impedance and low sensitivity is a torture test for amplifiers. The 50-65 Ohm range is the middle ground and as such, is extremely difficult. The Diablo comes alive at higher impedance loads. 300 Ohm and it will output 16.5V or 900mW ( That's continuous so will probably peak at 1W !!!!!!! )

Sorry for dragging along but the last bit of info. The M17 if it does have double the power is only 3dB more BUT assuming we are working with a 4.3V max output voltage on the M15. That is already at 24.59 dB above the sensitivity of your headphone (79.3dB is the lowest I've seen it measured , let's go with that) , That will net you peaks of 103dB SPL.

There's so much to consider especially with these impedance load ranges when they're low sensitivity.
 
Last edited:
Jun 23, 2021 at 9:22 PM Post #2,547 of 3,058

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
9,707
Likes
6,514
Location
Guangzhou,China
Any danger to the longevity of the battery if one uses this on USB on a PC?
Dear friend,

The BTR5 has charging protection detection, so the battery will not be damaged even when keep connecting the BTR5 to the PC. And if you don't want to charge the BTR5 when connecting it to the computer, you could set the charge option in the BTR5 to off first.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Jun 23, 2021 at 10:05 PM Post #2,548 of 3,058

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
9,707
Likes
6,514
Location
Guangzhou,China
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Jun 24, 2021 at 1:33 AM Post #2,550 of 3,058

LoryWiv

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Posts
2,863
Likes
3,489
Location
Northern California
How do I have foobar2000 and other program sound at the same time in DAC MODE ?
Not sure if this is your specific issue but as a good first step, make sure the "exclusive control" setting is unchecked in windows:

Screenshot 2021-06-23 222956.jpg
 

Users who are viewing this thread

  • Top