fb2k on Vista
Nov 23, 2008 at 2:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
...just in case

'Does foobar2000 work on Windows Vista?

Yes, foobar2000 does work on Windows Vista. However you should take care to only use components compiled after July 30th, 2006 (including foobar2000 itself and bundled components). Older versions of the foobar2000 SDK contained a bug that would cause “bad allocation” errors on Windows Vista.'

I nearly crapped it, kept getting 'bad allocation' errors.

Turns out my audioscrobbler.dll was a bit old. Vista = New foobar + get newest versions of components.
 
Nov 23, 2008 at 3:09 PM Post #2 of 6

[L]es

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Posts
311
Likes
10
that's funny.. i'm running foobar 0.8.3 on my vista machine and i could swear there's absolutely NO PROBLEM
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Nov 23, 2008 at 3:24 PM Post #3 of 6

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
You're obviously an oddity. Probably not right place to ask, why am I getting numerous albums...seems to be the contents of the .cue *.


*Didn't restrict library to only recognise audio files.
 
Nov 24, 2008 at 2:52 AM Post #4 of 6

Zarathustra19

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Posts
1,456
Likes
12
only reason my Foobar isn't running anything that was developed before 2006 is that I installed the newest version of FB2K, I definitely think it works otherwise.
 
Nov 24, 2008 at 5:28 AM Post #5 of 6

Gollie

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Posts
355
Likes
10
I have run several releases of FB without any issues. Check your default sound devices and make sure that you are sending sound to your deck properly.

FYI...I have always had a dedicated sound card. I don't believe in onboard (i.e. Motherboard) sound.
 
Nov 24, 2008 at 12:26 PM Post #6 of 6

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
Doesn't mean all older fb2ks don't work on Vista, but you know why if they don't.

I love how the media library auto-updates now, i.e. add a new album in your library and it instantly appears in your albumlist.
bigsmile_face.gif
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top