EU Power Supply for Schiit Magni ?
Feb 18, 2013 at 3:29 PM Post #16 of 29

king756

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Posts
46
Likes
10
The power supply arrived today. My Schitt don't work.
 
Checked the output of the supplied power brick and is at 18v so the convertor looks to be working, must be a faulty Magni :frowning2: .
 
Feb 19, 2013 at 10:08 AM Post #17 of 29
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Posts
3,299
Likes
36,074
Location
Newhall, CA and Corpus Christi, TX
Quote:
The power supply arrived today. My Schitt don't work.
 
Checked the output of the supplied power brick and is at 18v so the convertor looks to be working, must be a faulty Magni :frowning2: .

If you're using your Magni with anything other than the supplied power transformer and a step-down, you can blow the internal fuse. That's why we clearly state that we do not recommend any wall-wart other than the one we have qualified. 
 
Schiit Audio Stay updated on Schiit Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Schiit/ http://www.schiit.com/
Feb 19, 2013 at 4:33 PM Post #18 of 29

king756

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Posts
46
Likes
10
Hi Jason,
 
I sent a email to support just before my post on here. Not heard back yet but just seen your reply on here. I am using the supplied power adapter with a stepdown adapter. Is the internal fuse something I can check myself?
 
Feb 21, 2013 at 3:13 PM Post #19 of 29

king756

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Posts
46
Likes
10
The people in this thread with the step down transformers and waiting on the magni to be delivered or vice versa, do you have both yet? Have you had any issues or do they work ok?
 
Still waiting on a response from Schiit on diagnosing/resolving my issue.
 
Feb 26, 2013 at 9:51 AM Post #21 of 29

Flisker

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Posts
605
Likes
138
Magni and Modi arrived 
size]

 

 
Works fine with AC230V - AC120V EU Transformator (14$) max output 30W
 
 

 
 
Hello from Czech Republic 
size]

 
Mar 2, 2013 at 10:51 AM Post #22 of 29

king756

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Posts
46
Likes
10
Fantastic it works for you. Not got any further diagnosing my issue, hopefully can rule out the stepdown transformer if works ok for you. It's possible I may just of got a bad Magni.
 
Jason did respond to a PM on here and said he'd get Alex to send out a new unit so hopefully all is well. That was on the 21/02 so hopefully it's with me in the next 2 weeks, hopefully sooner as I sold my previous amp when I first orderd these so have nothing to listen through.
 
May 10, 2013 at 6:14 AM Post #24 of 29

lm-mike

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
18
Likes
11
Quote:
Works fine with AC230V - AC120V EU Transformator (14$) max output 30W
 

Hello!!
 
Have just bought this schiit Magni and since i'm in europe i've that EU Transformator (looks like yours)...
 
The only problem I have is that when I'm not listening to music there is a strange and annoying rumors like alien just came on earth in my headphones....
 
What could be?!? Suggestion?
 
Thanks
Mic
 
May 10, 2013 at 6:51 AM Post #25 of 29

Flisker

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Posts
605
Likes
138
Quote:
Hello!!
 
Have just bought this schiit Magni and since i'm in europe i've that EU Transformator (looks like yours)...
 
The only problem I have is that when I'm not listening to music there is a strange and annoying rumors like alien just came on earth in my headphones....
 
What could be?!? Suggestion?
 
Thanks
Mic

 
Sorry to hear that, everything worked fine for me :frowning2: Could you try different transformator ? Or only problem I had, was that volume knob was little bent off and was touching some live parts inside Magni and it was doing crazy noise all them time till I moved the knob back to the middle.
 
May 10, 2013 at 8:31 AM Post #26 of 29

lm-mike

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
18
Likes
11
Thaks for the answer!!
 
I'll try different trasformator and wall socket.
I've to try to connect the power cable directly to the wall socket, it's connected to a power strip now and maybe there're some interference.
 
Maybe some one else have the same problem and know how to fix it 
bigsmile_face.gif

 
May 20, 2013 at 4:14 AM Post #27 of 29

BbOO

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Posts
123
Likes
22
So what kind of transformer is the one you guys are using? Link or something?
I'm really thinking of buying this combo but i want to make sure they will work before i click buy.
 
Jun 11, 2013 at 6:52 AM Post #28 of 29

One time only

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Posts
1
Likes
0
I'm looking for a 16vdc adaptor and all I seem to be able to find are 16vac adaptors! - Bearing in mind the comment made that someone can't find an ac adaptor; if it's any help the ac adaptors are sold by model railway shops - I'm not sure about the quality etc but they do sell them and I keep stumbling across them in my search for the right dc one.
 
 
Aug 12, 2013 at 11:36 AM Post #29 of 29

Frastb8

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Posts
6
Likes
0
So I've been looking at the M&M combo too, and I live in denmark. Will this power supply work? (Please note that the Danish outlet is 230V)
http://www.thomann.de/dk/presonus_netzteil_fuer_hp4.htm
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top