1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Equalization: Further exploration - Minimal phase vs. Linear phase

Discussion in 'Headphones (full-size)' started by wind016, Sep 15, 2011.
  1. wind016
    I'm not an audio engineer so I hope someone with the knowledge could help explain things to me in laymen's terms or correct me. That would be really helpful. I'm glad that equalization has started to become more popular recently and that people are starting to understand that equalization CAN sound good, but I wanted a thread that would further the discussion away from simple frequency response adjustments.

The benefits of equalization as a quick fix to neutrality is already common knowledge, but I'm not sure the deficiencies are quite as known. Explanations tended to be a bit technical for me so I only have a general idea of what's going on.

Minimal phase equalizers
    People know that the most common equalizers, minimal phase equalizers, cause a lot of phase shifting and the steeper the slope of the filter used, the greater the phase shifting which would cause unwanted interference in the sound waves. The effect of minimal phase equalization when cutting or adding to frequencies would also change the soundstage according to the frequencies adjusted. Vocals or instruments in those frequencies would either be pulled in or out of the soundstage resulting in a smear of the soundstage and the other frequencies. A small cut or gain on an minimal phase equalizer can have a global effect on the sound; soundstage change and interference.

Linear phase equalizers