Emu 0404 USB + Foobar configuration?
Nov 9, 2007 at 3:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 34

veggz

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Posts
4
Likes
0
I'm having a little bit of trouble figuring out the optimal configuration for my 0404 USB. I've been running through Winamp, but it seems that most would recommend Foobar. My question is, if I were to use Foobar, exactly what configuration should I use (i.e. ASIO or Kernal, any EQ or other effects with a Senn 595?)? I've tried searching the topic but couldn't find a straightforward answer.

Thanks in advance.
 
Nov 9, 2007 at 8:49 PM Post #5 of 34

Szabi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
154
Likes
0
There is no SQ difference if you use asio or DS. Some say it's better to not to use ASIO for playback in foobar.
 
Nov 9, 2007 at 8:53 PM Post #6 of 34

kamal007

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Posts
2,138
Likes
15
Quote:

Originally Posted by Szabi /img/forum/go_quote.gif
There is no SQ difference if you use asio or DS. Some say it's better to not to use ASIO for playback in foobar.


not really..ASIO sounds better to me
 
Nov 9, 2007 at 10:43 PM Post #7 of 34

veggz

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Posts
4
Likes
0
Thanks for the input, guys.

I've been having some problems with ASIO, namely the following:
1. There is a significant lag if I try to switch the song while one is still playing. The same thing happens if I stop the song in the middle.
2. Each time I restart my computer, the ASIO drivers stop responding and I have to reconfigure Foobar.

Has anyone else had these same problems? Also, what volume setting to have Foobar set to?

Edit: Also, gain or no gain?
 
Nov 9, 2007 at 11:24 PM Post #8 of 34

Szabi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
154
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by kamal007 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
not really..ASIO sounds better to me


Than i'm wrong.



Quote:

Originally Posted by veggz /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Thanks for the input, guys.

I've been having some problems with ASIO, namely the following:
1. There is a significant lag if I try to switch the song while one is still playing. The same thing happens if I stop the song in the middle.
2. Each time I restart my computer, the ASIO drivers stop responding and I have to reconfigure Foobar.

Has anyone else had these same problems? Also, what volume setting to have Foobar set to?

Edit: Also, gain or no gain?



I'm keeping the Foobar's and all other software volume controls on max, and use only the knobs on emu.
 
Nov 10, 2007 at 2:06 AM Post #9 of 34

Chrysoberyl

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Posts
359
Likes
10
I think that ASIO sounds a bit better,but the lag is unbearable.So ds here.
 
Nov 10, 2007 at 6:54 AM Post #10 of 34

kamal007

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Posts
2,138
Likes
15
Quote:

Originally Posted by Szabi /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Than i'm wrong.





I'm keeping the Foobar's and all other software volume controls on max, and use only the knobs on emu.



not saying that u're wrong, but better here is very subjective. for me maybe its 50% better or for some others it will be 10%, etc.

Its totally depends on the person itself to judge =)
 
Nov 10, 2007 at 11:24 AM Post #11 of 34

n00bler

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Posts
124
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by veggz /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Thanks for the input, guys.

I've been having some problems with ASIO, namely the following:
1. There is a significant lag if I try to switch the song while one is still playing. The same thing happens if I stop the song in the middle.
2. Each time I restart my computer, the ASIO drivers stop responding and I have to reconfigure Foobar.



Have you tried using asio4all?
 
Nov 30, 2007 at 8:30 AM Post #13 of 34

james__bean

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Posts
1,029
Likes
22
If you want to get rid of the lag, go to preferences > advanced > playback and then adjust the Fade on/out values to 0 and change the thread priority. I have mine at 5. As for the asio resetting on restart, I have no solution for that.
 
Nov 30, 2007 at 10:05 AM Post #14 of 34

Chrysoberyl

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Posts
359
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by james__bean /img/forum/go_quote.gif
If you want to get rid of the lag, go to preferences > advanced > playback and then adjust the Fade on/out values to 0 and change the thread priority. I have mine at 5. As for the asio resetting on restart, I have no solution for that.



Great information! works like a charm! Thanks a lot.
 
Nov 30, 2007 at 8:34 PM Post #15 of 34

LFF

Co-Organizer for Can Jam '09
Member of the Trade: Paradox
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Posts
7,055
Likes
261
ASIO!!!! It's the only way.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top