Dyanmic headphones vs. electrostats
post-806700
Post #16 of 27

ampgalore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
2,739
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Posts
2,739
Likes
10
With regard to amps that can drive electrostat headphones, is it true that electrostats need dedicated amps? Will the everyday amps, Gilmore, Emmeline, Headroom, etc., work with electrostat headphones?
 
     Share This Post       
post-806704
Post #17 of 27

Sovkiller

Proved that despite its huge size the CD3000 can be shoved down one's throat.
Joined
Jul 31, 2002
Messages
12,883
Reaction score
20
Joined
Jul 31, 2002
Posts
12,883
Likes
20
No, they can't the principle on which both work is not even similar...
 
     Share This Post       
post-806708
Post #18 of 27

Bill Ward

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
1,792
Reaction score
12
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Posts
1,792
Likes
12
The Stax line is considerably more diverse than the lordly Omega II and its various amps.

Ampgalore, go look at this review of the Classic system. You don't have to sell your car to enjoy the benefits of electrostatics.

As far as the question of Stax bass and soundstage, I'd suggest you do a search and see what Stax owners have had to say. I don't find them to be lacking in either area.


BW
 
     Share This Post       
post-806746
Post #19 of 27

ampgalore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
2,739
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Posts
2,739
Likes
10
Wow! That was a fantastic review! And looking at the pics, I had no idea the Stax amp can be so huge.

Alright, my mind is made up, for my next upgrade, instead of going for the CD3000, I am saving up for a stax system. Now what should I do with my dynamic headphone amps I just purchased? Amp liquidation sale to soon follow...
 
     Share This Post       
post-806755
Post #20 of 27

tortie

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
2,812
Reaction score
14
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Posts
2,812
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by ampgalore
Alright, my mind is made up, for my next upgrade, instead of going for the CD3000, I am saving up for a stax system. Now what should I do with my dynamic headphone amps I just purchased? Amp liquidation sale to soon follow...


Dont be so hasty in your decision.
There are a lot of people here that prefer dynamic headphones over the Stats. Just wait awhile, the dynamic lovers will surely give out their two cents on this issue
 
     Share This Post       
post-806766
Post #21 of 27

Mike Scarpitti

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
11
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Posts
2,266
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by null
sorry if this is ultra-n00b, but what exactly are "dynamic" headphones? i've heard the term MANY times, but what does it actually mean, and what is it in compared to electrostatic?


'Dynamic' means 'magnetic'.
 
     Share This Post       
post-806807
Post #22 of 27

aerius

Banned
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
Messages
2,365
Reaction score
23
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
Posts
2,365
Likes
23
Quote:

Originally Posted by ampgalore
I currently have the HD600 and ER4S. I would like my next upgrade to be a substantial upgrade instead of an incremental upgrade.


It all depends on your audio priorities and what kind of sound you prefer. Depending on what you're looking for it may be just an incremental upgrade. Know what you want in a headphone or other piece of equipment before you blow the dough.
 
     Share This Post       
post-806810
Post #23 of 27

ampgalore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
2,739
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Posts
2,739
Likes
10
That's some wise advice. I think I'll hold off my urge to upgrade for a while, have already spent enough.
 
     Share This Post       
post-806829
Post #24 of 27

Wilson

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
507
Reaction score
12
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Posts
507
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by ampgalore
Wow! That was a fantastic review! And looking at the pics, I had no idea the Stax amp can be so huge.

Alright, my mind is made up, for my next upgrade, instead of going for the CD3000, I am saving up for a stax system. Now what should I do with my dynamic headphone amps I just purchased? Amp liquidation sale to soon follow...




It is probably worth doing it a bit at a time, otherwise you may get disappointed. As the Stax phones are all very detailed and revealing, I found that the source matters a lot to the sound. If you have lower quality sources you could be unsatisfied with the system sound quality after you get the Stax.

To get a sense of the Stax sound, you could find an used older model to try it out. Even the old mid-level product SR-34 carries the typical Stax sound: a very transparent and at-ease sound when driven properly. Often you can find one under $100, try it and compare it with the dynamic headphones and see how you like it before you dive into purchasing expensive versions.


Happy listening,
W
 
     Share This Post       
post-806917
Post #25 of 27

KR...

Curator of the Headphone Lust Museum
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
9,534
Reaction score
27
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
9,534
Likes
27
Quote:

Originally Posted by ampgalore
Wow! That was a fantastic review! And looking at the pics, I had no idea the Stax amp can be so huge.

Alright, my mind is made up, for my next upgrade, instead of going for the CD3000, I am saving up for a stax system. Now what should I do with my dynamic headphone amps I just purchased? Amp liquidation sale to soon follow...



good answer, very wise choice.

I have a Stax system and I love it. I wrote a review on it as well, check it out if you haven't already.

http://www5.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=71611
 
     Share This Post       
post-806955
Post #26 of 27

smokey

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
591
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Posts
591
Likes
10
You'll likely not go wrong with a good Stax setup. Just make sure you listen to the system before you lay down the long green.

If it matters, I love my system, the best I've ever heard. However you'll never have the exact same setup as mine, so my opinion is probably worthless to you.

 
     Share This Post       
post-807175
Post #27 of 27

classicalguy

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 9, 2004
Messages
536
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 9, 2004
Posts
536
Likes
12
I have an old pair of Stax Sigma's. The webbing outside of the insulation has fallen apart, but they are otherwise in good shape. I have a passive step-up transformer that hooks up to an amp with speaker wire. I have not used it in many years. Does anyone refurbish the webbing? Are there any inexpensive ampt that will work with it? Any thoughts appreciated.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top