DX220 A new view to your music. * Latest Firmware: 1.15.233 Local * Link for User Guide 1st Page. AMP9 Now available! And DC01.
post-15096983
Post #7,171 of 11,501

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
18,622
Reaction score
12,247
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
18,622
Likes
12,247
Does anyone know a way to check which codec is being used by an iPad?



Does your DX220 use a codec other than SBC with your MacBook itself?

My USB DAC problems seem to be related to the thunderbolt confusion mentioned above with recent, all USB-C MacBook pros. But the mystery of the bluetooth connections remains.
Ipad is always AAC, you have no choices....but even if you do, nothing will outperform a real authentic WAV rip from CD or a direct ISO rip from SACD
 
     Share This Post       
post-15096995
Post #7,172 of 11,501

iMongui

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
100
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Posts
263
Likes
100
Does anyone know a way to check which codec is being used by an iPad?



Does your DX220 use a codec other than SBC with your MacBook itself?

My USB DAC problems seem to be related to the thunderbolt confusion mentioned above with recent, all USB-C MacBook pros. But the mystery of the bluetooth connections remains.
Well, I don't have with me my DX220 but as far as I get it at home I can try and give to you an answer

In any case, with Fiio Q5 im using the SBC by default but I forced to use the aptX using the additional developer tools provided by Apple
 
     Share This Post       
post-15096996
Post #7,173 of 11,501

Jester0fTortuga

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
135
Location
Ann Arbor
Joined
May 17, 2018
Location
Ann Arbor
Posts
215
Likes
135
Ipad is always AAC, you have no choices....but even if you do, nothing will outperform a real authentic WAV rip from CD or a direct ISO rip from SACD
Right, but sometimes bluetooth is necessary (like when my DX220 also doesn't work as a USB DAC like my DX200 used to). This is why I'm interested in solving the issues :)

I suppose possible my DX220 may have a hardware issue impacting bluetooth.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15096999
Post #7,174 of 11,501

Jester0fTortuga

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
135
Location
Ann Arbor
Joined
May 17, 2018
Location
Ann Arbor
Posts
215
Likes
135
Well, I don't have with me my DX220 but as far as I get it at home I can try and give to you an answer

In any case, with Fiio Q5 im using the SBC by default but I forced to use the aptX using the additional developer tools provided by Apple
I tried the force AptX thing using the developer tools, but still shows me an SBC connection.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097011
Post #7,175 of 11,501

Jester0fTortuga

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
135
Location
Ann Arbor
Joined
May 17, 2018
Location
Ann Arbor
Posts
215
Likes
135
Ipad is always AAC, you have no choices....but even if you do, nothing will outperform a real authentic WAV rip from CD or a direct ISO rip from SACD
Does it not have an SBC fallback for non AAC devices?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097013
Post #7,176 of 11,501

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
18,622
Reaction score
12,247
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
18,622
Likes
12,247
Right, but sometimes bluetooth is necessary (like when my DX220 also doesn't work as a USB DAC like my DX200 used to). This is why I'm interested in solving the issues :)

I suppose possible my DX220 may have a hardware issue impacting bluetooth.
Even if you have Bluetooth working with other device and not your MAC, then the only culprit with faulty hardware maybe your MAC. It either works, or it doesn’t ....seeing your DX220 has working Bluetooth in SBC, then it isn’t DX220 that bring you the problems

Also, AAC means Apple Audio Codec....so...unless it isn’t Apple
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15097015
Post #7,177 of 11,501

Ojisan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
316
Reaction score
261
Location
Texas
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Location
Texas
Posts
316
Likes
261
I'm curious about Amp8 compared to Amp1mk2. Looking at the specs, Amp8 seems about even (worse on few specs) compared to Amp1Mk2. Is there a sound improvement going from Amp1Mk2 2.5mm balanced to Amp8? I take it that Amp8 uses the available real estate for fully balanced topology? Any thoughts/impressions?

I like the finesse and cleanliness of Amp1Mk2 with my sensitive IEMs but it could use some more body to the sound sometimes. Amp9 satisfies the sound but I give up on the hiss with my IEMs. So now wondering if Amp8 could fill that void.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097022
Post #7,178 of 11,501

Jester0fTortuga

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
135
Location
Ann Arbor
Joined
May 17, 2018
Location
Ann Arbor
Posts
215
Likes
135
Even if you have Bluetooth working with other device and not your MAC, then the only culprit with faulty hardware maybe your MAC. It either works, or it doesn’t ....seeing your DX220 has working Bluetooth in SBC, then it isn’t DX220 that bring you the problems

Also, AAC means Apple Audio Codec....so...unless it isn’t Apple
It’s only working with SBC on my Mac. Given that the audio seems to lag when connected my iPad for watching a video, I suspect my DX220 is connecting to the fallback SBC codec on the iPad.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097027
Post #7,179 of 11,501

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
18,622
Reaction score
12,247
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
18,622
Likes
12,247
I'm curious about Amp8 compared to Amp1mk2. Looking at the specs, Amp8 seems about even (worse on few specs) compared to Amp1Mk2. Is there a sound improvement going from Amp1Mk2 2.5mm balanced to Amp8? I take it that Amp8 uses the available real estate for fully balanced topology? Any thoughts/impressions?

I like the finesse and cleanliness of Amp1Mk2 with my sensitive IEMs but it could use some more body to the sound sometimes. Amp9 satisfies the sound but I give up on the hiss with my IEMs. So now wondering if Amp8 could fill that void.
I suggest you to use the “search this thread” features as shown
D6C0979C-254F-4410-A25C-420B78B2AF67.jpeg
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097033
Post #7,180 of 11,501

jamato8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
17,346
Reaction score
1,922
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Posts
17,346
Likes
1,922
I'm curious about Amp8 compared to Amp1mk2. Looking at the specs, Amp8 seems about even (worse on few specs) compared to Amp1Mk2. Is there a sound improvement going from Amp1Mk2 2.5mm balanced to Amp8? I take it that Amp8 uses the available real estate for fully balanced topology? Any thoughts/impressions?

I like the finesse and cleanliness of Amp1Mk2 with my sensitive IEMs but it could use some more body to the sound sometimes. Amp9 satisfies the sound but I give up on the hiss with my IEMs. So now wondering if Amp8 could fill that void.
The AMP8 being a discrete component amp sounds different but I enjoy both. There is so much more than measurements. Some of the poorest measuring amps I have seen, well a couple, have been the best I have heard. It depends upon where an amp is measuring poorly that will matter more that all of the measurements in general. IMO.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Gordhifi
post-15097078
Post #7,181 of 11,501

Ojisan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
316
Reaction score
261
Location
Texas
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Location
Texas
Posts
316
Likes
261
I suggest you to use the “search this thread” features as shown
Thanks! Should do my basic research :)

The AMP8 being a discrete component amp sounds different but I enjoy both. There is so much more than measurements. Some of the poorest measuring amps I have seen, well a couple, have been the best I have heard. It depends upon where an amp is measuring poorly that will matter more that all of the measurements in general. IMO.
Thanks! I don't think spec/measurement is everything, hence my question.

I'm in a 3rd week noob with dx220 so trying to get a grip on what all the amps are :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097309
Post #7,182 of 11,501

CobraMan

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
604
Reaction score
417
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Posts
604
Likes
417
Thought I would share some information on charging rates achieved on my DX220. Recently purchased a Power-Z KT001 USB Power Meter and coupled with my Anker PowerPort II PD charger achieved the following results. Note that the Anker charger supports PD and their own PIQ (equivalent to QC) protocols and therefore charge the DX220 at the fastest rate. Charge rates for the Anker are PIQ 5V/3A, 9V/2A, 12V/1.5A and PD 5V/3A, 9V/3A, 15V/2A, 20V/1.5A and I used the stock iBasso cable as well as high quality 100 W/5 A USB C cables for the connections.

I tested at 2 different states of charge, 55% and 8%, on my DX220 and obtained similar maximum charge rates:

From 55%
PIQ (QC): 8.89 V and 1.20 A = 10.67 W
PD: 9.10 V and 0.86 A = 7.83 W

From 8%
PIQ (QC): 8.96 V and 1.14 A = 10.22 W
PD: 9.11 V and 0.81 A = 7.38 W

Note that the testing at 55% was when I first turned my DX220 on - so it was at room temperature. The 8% was after using the DX220 for an hour+ and at normal operating temperature (warm to touch) so my guess is the charge rate is reduced by the DX220 to minimize risk of battery damage, etc.

From these results the PIQ (QC) protocol charges at a significantly faster rate and from 8% to 100% took 2 hours & 33 minutes and a total of 2295mAh was supplied.

Hope you all find this information useful. If anyone else has tested please feel free to share results.

Cheers,
Tim
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097495
Post #7,183 of 11,501

AlexRv

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
193
Reaction score
131
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Posts
193
Likes
131
I have recently ordered the DX220 and very much looking forward to it. Naive question but one that’s on my mind. Bluetooth seems to be limited to LDAC and Aptx. I don’t have LDAC headphones,but have three aptxhd capable headsets,all awesome I might add. Does anyone know the rationale behind leaving out Aptx HD? The very best wireless headphones do not have LDAC although I accept Sony have made a very good headphone,so,with such a well specced dap, there must be a rationale. Does Bluetooth 5 somehow compensate for the higher compression rate of standard apt x?
Audeze Mobius have LDAC and good sounding for its price)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097547
Post #7,184 of 11,501

Pesplayer

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
92
Reaction score
31
Location
Uk
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
Uk
Posts
92
Likes
31
Audeze Mobius have LDAC and good sounding for its price)
Yes,thank you. Although primarily a gaming headset? A ridiculously good one. But I have Bowers and Wilkins PX,AudioTechnica DSR 9BT,Amiron Home Wireless. All Aptx hd and,in my humble opinion,the very best wireless headphones. Just an opinion of course. It might be Bluetooth 5 makes apt x hd less relevant,not sure. But I am sure ibasso will have thought this through.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15097681
Post #7,185 of 11,501

mattiav

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 4, 2015
Messages
272
Reaction score
102
Joined
Feb 4, 2015
Posts
272
Likes
102
Right, but sometimes bluetooth is necessary (like when my DX220 also doesn't work as a USB DAC like my DX200 used to). This is why I'm interested in solving the issues :)

I suppose possible my DX220 may have a hardware issue impacting bluetooth.
It may be a Mac thing - I had to force an AptX connection with a Sennheiser Momentum Wireless 2.0 I auditioned when used with my MacBook. Used a terminal command (google is your friend). I haven’t bothered trying to run the DX220 as a DAC yet - suspect I should be fine with my older, USB-A port MacBook though...
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 5, Guests: 6)

Top