DX220 A new view to your music. * Latest Firmware: 1.15.233 Local * Link for User Guide 1st Page. AMP9 Now available! And DC01.
post-15063524
Post #6,421 of 11,049

edwardsean

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,221
Reaction score
801
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Posts
1,221
Likes
801
As I pointed out above, the lower profile is simply not true and the fact the 3.5mm alliance had to resort to misleading graphics to make their point shows this. A 0.9mm difference in diameter hardly matters in high end DAPs where thickness is never a huge concern. Most DAPs - especially TOTL ones - already uses big components such as high quality capacitors and heavy thick shielding to get better SQ results that shaving 1mm off the thickness is not really that high of a priority, and I'd argue audiophiles would care more about how the inside is properly designed, shielded and what high quality component is used rather than a 1mm difference in thickness as we are not talking about smartphones trends here. Also the 3.5mm Pro jacks are clearly of lesser designed than 4.4mm ones - again see where I pointed out that 4.4mm Pentaconn sockets has two contact points for each pin to ensure proper connection and rigidity where the 3.5mm Pro only uses the traditional single spring contact point of 2.5mm and 3.5mm jacks, so if you care about cable adaptors then you should also care about the quality of the socket themselves because they also form part of the connection, and here the 3.5mm Pro sockets neither provide a higher quality contact in itself, and the quality of the components so far looks cheaply made. I already suspected that this is because they are simply reusing currently available TRRS components which are most likely just spill over stock from smartphones components, rather than proper high grade components such as those found for 4.4mm gear where everything was designed and made from the ground up to be specifically used in audio application. Worrying about adaptors while overlooking the socket and plug themselves in the device is kind of missing the forest for the tree.
Well, I'm just making friends all over the place tonight. Please know that there is a smile on my face as I write this. Even though we disagree, I hope we can have a productive and illuminating exchange that will be mutually beneficial and helpful to others. I want to respect your perspective, even though it may be, and in fact, is wrong.

I'm so sorry. I'm joking. It's 5am here, I'm sleep deprived and I'm wanting to play. Honestly, seriously, no disrespect. Our common passion already should make us friends.

Let me say again: the 4.4 is my. favorite connector that the audio world has ever produced. Like yourself, I do care very much about high grade components, and suspect that we share a belief that they do matter in terms of SQ. I don't share the notion that a $2 Radioshack (R.I.P) connector sounds no different than a $75 Furutech rhodium plated copper alloy conductor. I don't think the quality is just marketing, or even just about robust longevity, I value it for its sonic performance.

Having said that, I think that is actually the secondary point. We're talking about the design, at least I was, not the present implementation. 4.4 has had a bit of time now to produce some high quality, well constructed models. 3.5 pro is the new kid, and I think the best producers of connectors are waiting to see if it gains traction before they commit R&D resources. If it does, I'm sure we will see connectors of equally high caliber.

It is about the format, and we've all felt the pinch of being caught up in the turf war over who controls the balanced connectors: 2.5mm, 4.4, Kobiconn for heaven's sake, and now 3.5pro? But, I don't think we should be short sighted and asses which one is the best by the quality of presently available plugs. Whoever wins will make the best sounding, highest quality plugs. They'll have the best builders researching metals, materials, shielding, cryogenic processing!, and how best to construct and exploit the design. But, again which design.

I honestly don't know if the number of contact points is intrinsic to the difference between 4.4. and 3.5pro or just the present poor quality 3.5 pro connectors. I don't know if a high quality 3.5 pro connector might remedy the situation you flagged with better contact geometry. To be honest with you, I'm not sure how much real world difference it would make, as long as the single contact was made of the best materials and constructed to the highest of tolerances.

Also, I actually don't take the difference in diameter between 3.5mm and 4.4mm too seriously one way or the other. When I said the 3.5mm had a slimmer profile I just meant for a portable device–all things being even–I would rather have something smaller, but that the 2.5 does make me nervous. I do agree with you, if the–design–of the 4.4 actually produced a sonic benefit over the–design–of the 3.5pro, I'd take it in a heart beat. But, that's a tough sell, I think a Furutech made 3.5 pro would sound as good as a Furutech 4.4 (I like Furutech), and you wouldn't be able to tell them apart sonically.

What I do know is that–one–plug that can fit both SE or balanced amps would be of a clear real world benefit and would get my vote to swing in that direction as an actual step forward. If that's missing the forest for the tree, well, that's a good tree. And I'm saying if that tree gets planted a whole industry of piug designers will grow a new forest, a better forest (huge, silly, sleepy smile).

All the best to you Nanaholic, sincerely.
 
Last edited:
post-15063538
Post #6,423 of 11,049

icefalkon

Reviewer at Headphone.Guru
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
1,809
Reaction score
1,096
Location
NYC, NY
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Location
NYC, NY
Posts
1,809
Likes
1,096
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: bahamot
post-15063582
Post #6,424 of 11,049

bsphong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
27
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Location
Vietnam
Posts
44
Likes
27
After more 50hrs listening with amp9. I saw that amp9 has amazing quality if triggered by dx220's stock amp( * ). It is not only very, very louder, but punchier, more sublime. Drive high impedence easily, as with my Ve Zen 300 ohms. If dx220 be restated, driving Ve Zen become very difficult, even with high gain mode. With low impedence iems, the "waterfall" background noise can be detected easily, but not cause distraction when playing.
Until now, my amp9 passed more 30 hrs with the triggered stock amp mode and continue to be listened by its amazing sound quality, it is only more and more better. I've not seen any signal that my amp9 will fail :)

(*). That is power on dx200 with stock amp and then insert amp9 without power off. Voltage feed stock amp will be the best trigger source for feeding amp9.
I saw that amp9's true power can only triggered by stock amp, can not use amp8 to trigger amp9.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063621
Post #6,426 of 11,049

AndrewH13

Headphoneus Supremus
CanJam London 2017 Ping Pong Champion
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
2,267
Reaction score
1,332
Location
Southend, England
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Location
Southend, England
Posts
2,267
Likes
1,332
I saw that amp9's true power can only triggered by stock amp, can not use amp8 to trigger amp9.
Amp9 replaces stock amp, as does amp8 or any other module. They cannot be used in tandem!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Dobrescu George
post-15063626
Post #6,427 of 11,049

bsphong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
27
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Location
Vietnam
Posts
44
Likes
27
What do you mean when you say "stock amp mode" on AMP9?
Stock amp mode is my definition to different using amp1, 3...8 to trigger amp9 :). With my experience, replacing amp8 by amp9 not make amp9 louder as with stock amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063632
Post #6,428 of 11,049

Jester0fTortuga

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
215
Reaction score
134
Location
Ann Arbor
Joined
May 17, 2018
Location
Ann Arbor
Posts
215
Likes
134
Stock amp mode is my definition to different using amp1, 3...8 to trigger amp9 :). With my experience, replacing amp8 by amp9 not make amp9 louder as with stock amp.
Are you talking about hot swapping the amps? Isn't this not a great idea?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063653
Post #6,429 of 11,049

fokta

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
1,281
Location
Jakarta
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Location
Jakarta
Posts
1,615
Likes
1,281
@edwardsean @SteveOliver
Nice discussion...
Quite a good perspective and view...

20190715_184421.jpg
While the guys here is having fun with their AmP9...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: SteveOliver
post-15063663
Post #6,430 of 11,049

bsphong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
27
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Location
Vietnam
Posts
44
Likes
27
Are you talking about hot swapping the amps? Isn't this not a great idea?
Yes, great inventions maybe originated by accident events :). I inserted amp9 in wrong way, but I saw it made amp9 show a very great musical potential.
Hope new firmware will help amp9 show its true potential and I dont need stock amp to trigger amp9 again.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15063703
Post #6,431 of 11,049

bsphong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
27
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Location
Vietnam
Posts
44
Likes
27
20190715_201913.jpg

Amp9 can drive Ve Zen 300 ohms easily. It is its true capacity. With my Noble katana, the "waterfall" background noise can be detected easily, but not cause distraction when playing. Amp9 has the very amazing sound quality.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: claud W
post-15063704
Post #6,432 of 11,049

Paulo Abreu

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1,227
Reaction score
570
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Location
Madeira Island, Portugal
Posts
1,227
Likes
570
Yes, great inventions maybe originated by accident events :). I inserted amp9 in wrong way, but I saw it made amp9 show a very great musical potential.
Hope new firmware will help amp9 show its true potential and I dont need stock amp to trigger amp9 again.
This is not new. I remember someone writing a while ago that swaping from AMP1mk2 to AMP9 without disconnecting DX220 would make it louder.
I wouldn't do it in any instance. I don't think the actual volume of AMP9 such as iBasso set on boot wasn't done by mistake but by design. Did you ask iBasso if there is a risk of blowing up AMP9 or seriously reducing its life expectancy?
My 2 cents
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063721
Post #6,433 of 11,049

icefalkon

Reviewer at Headphone.Guru
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
1,809
Reaction score
1,096
Location
NYC, NY
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Location
NYC, NY
Posts
1,809
Likes
1,096
After more 50hrs listening with amp9. I saw that amp9 has amazing quality if triggered by dx220's stock amp( * ). It is not only very, very louder, but punchier, more sublime. Drive high impedence easily, as with my Ve Zen 300 ohms. If dx220 be restated, driving Ve Zen become very difficult, even with high gain mode. With low impedence iems, the "waterfall" background noise can be detected easily, but not cause distraction when playing.
Until now, my amp9 passed more 30 hrs with the triggered stock amp mode and continue to be listened by its amazing sound quality, it is only more and more better. I've not seen any signal that my amp9 will fail :)

(*). That is power on dx200 with stock amp and then insert amp9 without power off. Voltage feed stock amp will be the best trigger source for feeding amp9.
I saw that amp9's true power can only triggered by stock amp, can not use amp8 to trigger amp9.
Respectfully...are you out of your mind??

Please guys do not hot swap your AMP modules!

#crazy

lol
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Whitigir
post-15063733
Post #6,434 of 11,049

bsphong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
27
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Location
Vietnam
Posts
44
Likes
27
This is not new. I remember someone writing a while ago that swaping from AMP1mk2 to AMP9 without disconnecting DX220 would make it louder.
I wouldn't do it in any instance. I don't think the actual volume of AMP9 such as iBasso set on boot wasn't done by mistake but by design. Did you ask iBasso if there is a risk of blowing up AMP9 or seriously reducing its life expectancy?
My 2 cents
Yes. It is my experience and choice. It is difference with you. I accept a price to have the best quality of amp9 :)
With my opinion, I dont recommend someone buy amp9 if new firmware not improve its true potential. They should buy amp8 or wait amp10 :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063838
Post #6,435 of 11,049

bahamot

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
755
Reaction score
329
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Posts
755
Likes
329
Dead silent background with Tanchjim Oxygen and AMP9. Love the combo:ksc75smile:
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 20, Guests: 11)

Top