DX200=Affordable High End Audio. Dual ES9028Pro dacs. AMP1, AMP3, AMP5, AMP7 & AMP8 ***Firmware support now up for AMP9***
Oct 25, 2017 at 9:40 AM Post #9,646 of 21,973

Signal2Noise

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Posts
2,134
Likes
897
Location
Wherever the music takes me
Thats what it should do. It doesn't prompt me with the list of options. It just says 'Charging'. When you pull the top drop down menu no options are there.

Try turning the DX200 off then on again while it's cabled in. Then ensure the lock screen is displayed before swiping down from the top to get the option in the notification area. Remember, it'll say USB Charging and underneath in very small text "click here for more options" or something to that effect. Occasionally this happens to mine as well.
 
Oct 25, 2017 at 9:55 AM Post #9,647 of 21,973

jasonho

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 2, 2012
Posts
348
Likes
429
Location
Singapore
I wonder if DX200 USB port can be used as digital output in order to connect to a external DAC/AMP?
 
Oct 25, 2017 at 10:11 AM Post #9,648 of 21,973

reginalb

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Posts
1,059
Likes
291
Howdy, I've not been on the site lately, and I can't find the thread search feature, so my apologies if this has been asked, but are there plans (or is it feasible) for there to be any Android updates? It took me a while to even find someone saying what version of Android this is on (6, which is better than basically all of the other Android DAP's). But I'd love to see 8.0 - LDAC being in the bluetooth stack is pretty awesome. The current Sony players are overpriced IMHO, and the ZX2 using too old an Android version - though it can be tracked down at fair prices in the used market.

I understand that getting this on to a new version of Android might be a tall task for a small company, so I get it if it's never going to happen (and suspect that it won't) for this player, but never hurts to ask.
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 6:39 AM Post #9,649 of 21,973

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,546
Likes
8,815
Location
Bucharest, Romania
I love returning to DX200.

Just now, I am listening to DX200 + HiFiMAN RE800, and I love how it actually gives them an even better edge on detail and midrange, RE800 being a IEM with a lot of potential that needs to be unlocked to fully enjoy it.

About iBasso DX200, I am using a few DAPs over my eccentric adventures, and DX200 is clearly one of the DAPs I really love.

The sound is always sweet in the midrange, comes with a rain of details, yet being so musical and sweet. Especially listening to Machinae Supremacy, a band that employs tons of sweety rythm guitars, it all sounds like the dream of musicality listening from the DX200 + RE800 combo!
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 6:46 AM Post #9,650 of 21,973

vovanopulo

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Posts
80
Likes
73
Location
Kyiv
Hi guys. sorry for the question maybe already answered still I wasn't able to find it through search (though I tried).
I have the latest fw with 2.5.141 build number.
For me gapless mode works only with separated *.flac files but never works when I play single *.flac file mapped to tracks with *.cue index.
I tried Android and Mango mode, tried to toggle 'gapless' switch - it doesn't give any difference, dx200 inserts 2-sec pauses at the end of each track.
Example: Say I have 10 min 'album.flac' file and set Gapless mode to 'on'.
* If I play this file like it is -> it works well (obviously no gaps)
* If I create 'album.cue' file in the same directory and map 'album.flac' to 1-min tracks -> I hear 2-sec gaps between tracks though it is still a single 'album.flac' file!
* If I cut 'album.flac' to 10 1-min pieces: 1.flac, 2.flac,...,10.flac -> there are no gaps between these tracks
Is it possible to have Gapless on (multi-track) single file?
Thanks
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 6:58 AM Post #9,651 of 21,973

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,546
Likes
8,815
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Hi guys. sorry for the question maybe already answered still I wasn't able to find it through search (though I tried).
I have the latest fw with 2.5.141 build number.
For me gapless mode works only with separated *.flac files but never works when I play single *.flac file mapped to tracks with *.cue index.
I tried Android and Mango mode, tried to toggle 'gapless' switch - it doesn't give any difference, dx200 inserts 2-sec pauses at the end of each track.
Example: Say I have 10 min 'album.flac' file and set Gapless mode to 'on'.
* If I play this file like it is -> it works well (obviously no gaps)
* If I create 'album.cue' file in the same directory and map 'album.flac' to 1-min tracks -> I hear 2-sec gaps between tracks though it is still a single 'album.flac' file!
* If I cut 'album.flac' to 10 1-min pieces: 1.flac, 2.flac,...,10.flac -> there are no gaps between these tracks
Is it possible to have Gapless on (multi-track) single file?
Thanks

Interesting question. I don't have cue - flac file pairs to test. Are you sure that the pause doesn't exist within the file / files themselves?
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 8:28 AM Post #9,652 of 21,973

vovanopulo

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Posts
80
Likes
73
Location
Kyiv
Interesting question. I don't have cue - flac file pairs to test. Are you sure that the pause doesn't exist within the file / files themselves?
Definitely yes. Just adding/removing 'album.cue' file beside unchanged 'album.flac' toggles 2-sec gaps. As most music I have being single-image rips mapped with cue indexes this issue annoys me a lot.
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 9:45 AM Post #9,653 of 21,973

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,546
Likes
8,815
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Definitely yes. Just adding/removing 'album.cue' file beside unchanged 'album.flac' toggles 2-sec gaps. As most music I have being single-image rips mapped with cue indexes this issue annoys me a lot.

Oh, I see!

I have no idea how to help!

Maybe you could talk to iBasso and send the files as well, to see if here is anything that can be done :smile_phones:
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 10:49 AM Post #9,654 of 21,973

wirefriend

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 10, 2014
Posts
452
Likes
123
I love returning to DX200.

Just now, I am listening to DX200 + HiFiMAN RE800, and I love how it actually gives them an even better edge on detail and midrange, RE800 being a IEM with a lot of potential that needs to be unlocked to fully enjoy it.

About iBasso DX200, I am using a few DAPs over my eccentric adventures, and DX200 is clearly one of the DAPs I really love.

The sound is always sweet in the midrange, comes with a rain of details, yet being so musical and sweet. Especially listening to Machinae Supremacy, a band that employs tons of sweety rythm guitars, it all sounds like the dream of musicality listening from the DX200 + RE800 combo!

Which of the DX200's amps are you describing above?
Could you compare DX200 sound to Opus #2?
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 5:54 PM Post #9,656 of 21,973

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
15,546
Likes
8,815
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Which of the DX200's amps are you describing above?
Could you compare DX200 sound to Opus #2?

I was describing the AMP1 module, the one DX200 comes with by default because RE800 only has SE Jack and not Balanced :darthsmile:

It is hard to compare DX200 to Opus #2, especially because they are both really good.

Basically, opus #2 has a very organic and smooth midrange, and a little enhancement in the treble and the bass, while DX200 is more linear. The detail levels are similar, but presented differently, DX200 enhances muscaility and textures while Opus #2 leans more towards organic sound and a little leaner and smoother midrange. DX200 is electrifying and musical, while Opus is leaner, but also quite musical. Both are quite good.

DX200 comes with interchangeable modules, and I only described AMP1 above, I am still getting my full thoughjts on AMP3.
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 6:29 PM Post #9,657 of 21,973

Jetblack08

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Posts
198
Likes
35
I have purchased amp3 but I feel as if I am not getting the full effect because I still have not figured out how to update the firmware. It is the same firmware that first came with the DX200. I am convinced my unit is faulty.
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 7:31 PM Post #9,658 of 21,973

meomap

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Posts
1,486
Likes
792
Location
California
I was describing the AMP1 module, the one DX200 comes with by default because RE800 only has SE Jack and not Balanced :darthsmile:

It is hard to compare DX200 to Opus #2, especially because they are both really good.

Basically, opus #2 has a very organic and smooth midrange, and a little enhancement in the treble and the bass, while DX200 is more linear. The detail levels are similar, but presented differently, DX200 enhances muscaility and textures while Opus #2 leans more towards organic sound and a little leaner and smoother midrange. DX200 is electrifying and musical, while Opus is leaner, but also quite musical. Both are quite good.

DX200 comes with interchangeable modules, and I only described AMP1 above, I am still getting my full thoughjts on AMP3.

What about amp2?
 
Oct 26, 2017 at 8:06 PM Post #9,660 of 21,973

Bastianpp

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Posts
541
Likes
98
Hello
How is the paring => DX200 + LCD I4??
I like the sound signature of LCD XC, but i know these headphone have a more treble than the lcd x or 4, so... lcd i4 sound much smooth or dark?

I was have se846 and i don't have a treble like shure again... ( quantity )

I like balanced (headphones/iem)
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top