DX200=Affordable High End Audio. Dual ES9028Pro dacs. AMP1, AMP3, AMP5, AMP7 & AMP8 ***Firmware support now up for AMP9***
post-13761925
Post #9,196 of 21,743

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,428
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,428
Likes
6,180
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
Um, yeah, that was to be expected. :wink:

All of iBasso's DAPs will be able to take up to 2 TB of storage (once that much storage on a micro SD card becomes available some time in the future), so it would be a shame if the DX200 with its great processing powers and speed couldn't handle it.
I am glad to know it all works so well!

DX200 is indeed a great DAP, I am appreciating it more and more lately.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762591
Post #9,197 of 21,743

gstepic

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
92
Reaction score
21
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Posts
92
Likes
21
I hate to go off topic but I hope someone does not mind answering what I hope is a simple question. If I use my DX200 as a DAC in order to listen to music on my computer, and I am using amp3, how do I connect the DX200 to the computer? I have not downloaded the DAC program so I need to do that first. Am I correct in that I can use a usb-c to usb-c connection or even a regular usb from laptop to usb-c on the DX200? My laptop only has a regular usb and two type C usb ports and of course a headphone 3.5 connection. I assume I would not use the 2.5mm line out as the line out and headphone out are just that - outputs. Or would I use the 3.5mm male to coax cable that came with DX200 in order to use DX200 as a DAC only?

And I am going to go into a tiny off topic rant about Microsoft. Once again they abandon their music service. I got an email stating Groove will be discontinued. I like to use streaming services (I will never again consider anything Microsoft might add in the future) to explore music and if I like something then I buy it. Evidently Spotfly and Groove Play can allow downloads at 320 bit rate so now I might think of using either of these services if I can get it to work on the DX200. Any rumor of a firmware update that may have one of these apps already installed?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13762602
Post #9,198 of 21,743

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,428
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,428
Likes
6,180
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
I hate to go off topic but I hope someone does not mind answering what I hope is a simple question. If I use my DX200 as a DAC in order to listen to music on my computer, and I am using amp3, how do I connect the DX200 to the computer? I have not downloaded the DAC program so I need to do that first. Am I correct in that I can use a usb-c to usb-c connection or even a regular usb from laptop to usb-c on the DX200? My laptop only has a regular usb and two type C usb ports and of course a headphone 3.5 connection. I assume I would not use the 2.5mm line out as the line out and headphone out are just that - outputs. Or would I use the 3.5mm male to coax cable that came with DX200 in order to use DX200 as a DAC only?

And I am going to go into a tiny off topic rant about Microsoft. Once again they abandon their music service. I got an email stating Groove will be discontinued. I like to use streaming services (I will never again consider anything Microsoft might add in the future) to explore music and if I like something then I buy it. Evidently Spotfly and Groove Play can allow downloads at 320 bit rate so now I might think of using either of these services if I can get it to work on the DX200. Any rumor of a firmware update that may have one of these apps already installed?
You need the driver, connect DX200 to the laptop using any cable that works for USB , for example USB to USB-C, you use the headphone out to your headphones. While DX200 is connected to your computer, you need to activate the USB-DAC mode from its settings

You can install any app with ease, if you download the apk file.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762618
Post #9,199 of 21,743

mrmoto050

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
1,239
Reaction score
448
Location
Babylon
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Location
Babylon
Posts
1,239
Likes
448
You need the driver, connect DX200 to the laptop using any cable that works for USB , for example USB to USB-C, you use the headphone out to your headphones. While DX200 is connected to your computer, you need to activate the USB-DAC mode from its settings

You can install any app with ease, if you download the apk file.
+1
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762634
Post #9,200 of 21,743

gstepic

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
92
Reaction score
21
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Posts
92
Likes
21
You need the driver, connect DX200 to the laptop using any cable that works for USB , for example USB to USB-C, you use the headphone out to your headphones. While DX200 is connected to your computer, you need to activate the USB-DAC mode from its settings

You can install any app with ease, if you download the apk file.
Just to be clear, I connect my headphone to the headphone out connection of the DX200, not the computer. In other words when used as a DAC the music on the computer is being played and the signal is going through the DX200 in order to use the higher quality chips and my headphone with balanced cable would connect to DX200.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762662
Post #9,201 of 21,743

tuckers

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2004
Messages
253
Reaction score
70
Joined
Jun 30, 2004
Posts
253
Likes
70
I burned in my DX200 and listen with low gain exclusively. Do you think that the high gain setting needs burn in if I start to use that? Wondering because I am not liking the high gain as much with my new Elears, sounds rougher. I was wondering about burn in.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762664
Post #9,202 of 21,743

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,428
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,428
Likes
6,180
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
Just to be clear, I connect my headphone to the headphone out connection of the DX200, not the computer. In other words when used as a DAC the music on the computer is being played and the signal is going through the DX200 in order to use the higher quality chips and my headphone with balanced cable would connect to DX200.
Yes, you connect the headphone to the headphone output of DX200 - provided you already have the cables you need (AMP3 is 2.5mm Balanced, please take care of this)

It works just like it would be reading the files from its own memory, but instead it reads the files and audio data from your PC - you get the full might of your DX200, with the library and availability of your PC!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762665
Post #9,203 of 21,743

jerick70

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
5,007
Reaction score
4,870
Location
Utah, USA
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Location
Utah, USA
Posts
5,007
Likes
4,870
Just to be clear, I connect my headphone to the headphone out connection of the DX200, not the computer. In other words when used as a DAC the music on the computer is being played and the signal is going through the DX200 in order to use the higher quality chips and my headphone with balanced cable would connect to DX200.
It sounds like you have it figured out. You should be able to use the USB cable that came with the DX200 to connect to your computer.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Glasha
post-13762669
Post #9,204 of 21,743

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,428
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,428
Likes
6,180
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
I burned in my DX200 and listen with low gain exclusively. Do you think that the high gain setting needs burn in if I start to use that? Wondering because I am not liking the high gain as much with my new Elears, sounds rougher. I was wondering about burn in.
Huh, I actually use high gain more :darthsmile:

Not sure about the burn-in thing, I play almost exclusively using High Gain :smile_phones:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Glasha
post-13762675
Post #9,205 of 21,743

jerick70

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
5,007
Reaction score
4,870
Location
Utah, USA
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Location
Utah, USA
Posts
5,007
Likes
4,870
I burned in my DX200 and listen with low gain exclusively. Do you think that the high gain setting needs burn in if I start to use that? Wondering because I am not liking the high gain as much with my new Elears, sounds rougher. I was wondering about burn in.
I've never thought about burnin at different gain settings. Interesting.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762727
Post #9,206 of 21,743

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,428
Reaction score
6,180
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,428
Likes
6,180
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
     Share This Post       
post-13762743
Post #9,207 of 21,743

Tim Le

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
383
Reaction score
106
Joined
May 11, 2017
Posts
383
Likes
106
Huh, I actually use high gain more :darthsmile:

Not sure about the burn-in thing, I play almost exclusively using High Gain :smile_phones:
Is there any reason you use high gain more?

I thought battery life would be better on low gain, so I haven't used high gain yet.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762769
Post #9,208 of 21,743

alota

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
2,923
Reaction score
371
Location
PORTUGAL
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Location
PORTUGAL
Posts
2,923
Likes
371
I hate to go off topic but I hope someone does not mind answering what I hope is a simple question. If I use my DX200 as a DAC in order to listen to music on my computer, and I am using amp3, how do I connect the DX200 to the computer? I have not downloaded the DAC program so I need to do that first. Am I correct in that I can use a usb-c to usb-c connection or even a regular usb from laptop to usb-c on the DX200? My laptop only has a regular usb and two type C usb ports and of course a headphone 3.5 connection. I assume I would not use the 2.5mm line out as the line out and headphone out are just that - outputs. Or would I use the 3.5mm male to coax cable that came with DX200 in order to use DX200 as a DAC only?

And I am going to go into a tiny off topic rant about Microsoft. Once again they abandon their music service. I got an email stating Groove will be discontinued. I like to use streaming services (I will never again consider anything Microsoft might add in the future) to explore music and if I like something then I buy it. Evidently Spotfly and Groove Play can allow downloads at 320 bit rate so now I might think of using either of these services if I can get it to work on the DX200. Any rumor of a firmware update that may have one of these apps already installed?
use the cable in the package. regular usb to usb-c AND INSTALL THIS DRIVERS:http://www.ibasso.com/down.php (SECOND LINE)
WHEN YOUR PC RECOGNIZE THE IBASSO, OPEN MANGO PLAYER AND SELECT DAC MODE
P.S.: SORRY FOR CAPS LOCK
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762816
Post #9,209 of 21,743

Nino01

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 18, 2017
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Location
Poland
Joined
Jun 18, 2017
Location
Poland
Posts
25
Likes
3
Unfortunately the 'ghost swipe' got me as well. It is a bit disappointing, while it is my second device, after the first one stopped booting. How much pain for the love of Dx200 sound?

The device is now not usable.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13762861
Post #9,210 of 21,743

twister6

twister6 Reviews
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
11,055
Reaction score
26,795
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Posts
11,055
Likes
26,795
I burned in my DX200 and listen with low gain exclusively. Do you think that the high gain setting needs burn in if I start to use that? Wondering because I am not liking the high gain as much with my new Elears, sounds rougher. I was wondering about burn in.
The burn in is mostly for the benefit of the capacitors inside of the DAP (and amp module); they subtly change the electrical characteristics after certain number of hours. High/low gain won't make too much of a difference in this case.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 4)

Top