Dummy load on 1/4" output jack on cmoy?
post-1426165
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

StevieDvd

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
89
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Posts
1,742
Likes
89
I've knocked up a new amp based on the gmoy I bought from Pinkfloyd and just needed to add the in/out connections and power/led etc and of course case it.

I'm using rca connectors in and a 1/4" jack and wondered whether I need to add a dummy load on the jack. I've not seen anyone adding these to basic cmoys in the past but then they are usually 1/8" jacks.

So is it necessary to put dummy load resistors on (and what value should I use)?

As soon as I've tidied it up a bit I'll post a few piccies just so my diy makes everyone else's look that much better


Thanks

Steve
 
     Share This Post       
post-1426187
Post #2 of 7

BrokenEnglish

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
748
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Posts
748
Likes
10
not necessary, steviedvd. in fact the wna is the only amp i'm aware of, that literally needs that feature.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1427959
Post #3 of 7

StevieDvd

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
89
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Posts
1,742
Likes
89
Danke,

Sorry missed your reply otherwise I would have thanked you earlier. Yes it's the resistors I've seen in the WNA - I suppose I could have opened the WNA but not sure I would have got the correct resistors even then.

Just have to find an led holder and a grub screw for the Maplins knob and it's done.

Oddly enough the gmoy is in the original WNA case so thr Pinkfloyd connection continues.

Steve
 
     Share This Post       
post-1427978
Post #4 of 7

DaKi][er

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
845
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Posts
845
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by BrokenEnglish
not necessary, steviedvd. in fact the wna is the only amp i'm aware of, that literally needs that feature.


The tpa6120 headphone chip (one I used in one of my amps) from Ti highly recommends a resistor right on the output pin of it of 10ohms as it doesn’t like driving capacitive loads at all and any stray capacitance will cause problems

But you won’t have the problems with a cmoy
 
     Share This Post       
post-1428093
Post #5 of 7

nikongod

DIY-ku
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Messages
8,882
Reaction score
120
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Posts
8,882
Likes
120
i put dummy load resistors on my tube amp. it has output transformers that apparently like to "see" an 8-ohm load.

very fiew solid state amps need them.

something of an advantage for the ss crowd is that they do "stabalise" the imdeance of the load as seen by the amp circuitry.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1428324
Post #6 of 7

PinkFloyd

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
9,511
Reaction score
21
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Posts
9,511
Likes
21
Hi Steve,

A dummy load is not necessary in this application but in the WNA a dummy load is required to prevent the LM6171 from oscillating.. you won't do any harm fitting a dummy load to the head-socket and if you want to fit dummy load It's as follows:

 
     Share This Post       
post-1428358
Post #7 of 7

StevieDvd

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Messages
1,742
Reaction score
89
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Posts
1,742
Likes
89
Groovy Baby,

I'll put some on just for practise as m soldering on Sunday was atrocious


Ta,

Steve
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top