DT880's or something else - advice needed!
Oct 3, 2014 at 3:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Muessig

New Head-Fier
I'm a freelance graphic designer so I tend to spend long hours in front of a computer listening to music when I'm working. When I'm out and about I have a set of Shure SE215 IEMs that are perfect for me - they have clear mids and treble with no fatigue or sibilance, with punchy and impactful bass - especially regarding extended bass. They're great.

When I'm at the PC however, I'm not so fortunate and I'm looking to change that. I've got a gaming headset that's the Logitech G35 (closed) but the pads have started to disintegrate (common problem, apparently) and they are quite muddy in sound generally - they're your typical low-middle of the road gaming headset from a few years ago. I also don't find them that comfortable. What I'm looking to do, is get a new set of headphones that I can use for music, movies and gaming (when gaming I'd attach something like a modmic 4.0 by Antlion (or do you have any better alternatives you could suggest for me?).

I'm looking for a good set of headphones that have a fairly neutral almost analytical and clear sound ideal for gaming (especially for FPS' where you need to hear footsteps etc.), but don't lack mids or bass and a good soundstage for positional audio. I don't mind semi-open or open headphones because I'm in a quiet room with little noise to block out or no one to bother, at a desktop.

I'm looking into the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Premium's at the moment for comfort (but I'm open to suggestions) and my budget is up to £300.

My motherboard is the Asus Maximus Hero VI and I'm wondering whether it could power a 250 OHM headset like the DT 880's or if I'd need to get a dedicated amp to power them (I'd need to save up more to get an amp with it, but I'm thinking a reasonable amp like the Objective 2 might be the solution if my motherboard couldn't power this.

TL;DR: