Does Audacity allow playback of LPs through my computer?
Dec 7, 2006 at 2:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

mshan

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Posts
1,470
Likes
11
I know Audacity will allow me to "rip" LPs to my computer via the line in input.

If my dad just wants to listen to an lp through the computer, will Audacity allow playback without recording / ripping?


And is there a simpler way to listen to lps through a computer (I want to keep output through sound card line so for best signal for ripping)?
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 3:36 AM Post #2 of 8

ironbut

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Posts
970
Likes
11
First, if you don't know already, you will have to send the outputs of you tt through a phono stage of some sort and then into the inputs of your computer. Records are pressed with an eq curve that allows heavy bass to be pressed in lower amplitude and the phono stage reverses this (riaa) bias. Unfortunately, you do have to record the lp to your hd to listen to it. You'd probably want to edit it into tracks at least anyway or it each side would be one long track. Audacity has a forum that you can search for more info if you want. The lack of a manual is one of the worst things about Audacity but the forum does help.http://audacityteam.org
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 3:38 AM Post #3 of 8

mshan

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Posts
1,470
Likes
11
I just bought my dad an Audio Technica PL 50 turntable from Buy.com ($64 shipped after Google Checkout
smily_headphones1.gif
) and it's got an integrated phono stage.

I want to plulg it into the line in of his sound card so he can rip lps to computer.

However, I would also like for him to have a simple way to just listen to an lp through his computer.

EDIT: is there simple way to select the line in input in something like Windows Media Player or iTunes?
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 4:18 AM Post #4 of 8

werdwerdus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Posts
995
Likes
11
You don't have to record it to listen to it. Just make sure you unmute the line-in on the "Playback" section of the volume control in windows. It will allow the line-in signal to pass through to the speakers. You don't even need to use a media player actually. Just control the volume with windows and your speakers.
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 4:23 AM Post #5 of 8

mshan

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Posts
1,470
Likes
11
If I unmute the line in and then play an lp, do I have to open some software player or will the sound just pass to the speakers automatically?8
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 9:53 AM Post #6 of 8

jiiteepee

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Posts
1,589
Likes
58
I'm listening LP's through Hermann Seib's VSTHost using ASIO I/O @ 24-bit/96 kHz - http://www.hermannseib.com/english/vsthost.htm .

BTW, w/ VSTHost, you need to add one plug-in into signal path to get signal passed through ... a volume control, EQ, or plain metering plug-in (Voxengo SPAN as for an example) is enough. VSTHost lets you save these 'performances' and you can autoload or quickly select/change through listbox in main window.

You can also rip those LP's w/ this software (also it's possible to add restoration plugins (remove pops, etc.) into signal path). NOTE: If you rip w/ VSTHost, do not EQ or add effects into the signal path (if not want to do so) because of, VSTHost records the "wet" (processed) signal - just add something like Voxengo SPAN or FreeG.

- http://www.voxengo.com (Voxengo SPAN)
- http://www.sonalksis.com/ (FreeG - volume control)

couple EQ's
- http://www.karmafx.dk (KarmaFX Equalizer)
- http://www.aixcoustic.com/index.php/..._edition/30/0/ (Electri-Q -posihfopit edition-)

All mentioned software is free-, share- or donationware.

EDIT:

Here is an example (Volume/balance control + spectrum analyzer):

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/8495/vstlpfa3.png


jiitee
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 3:43 PM Post #7 of 8

werdwerdus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Posts
995
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by mshan /img/forum/go_quote.gif
If I unmute the line in and then play an lp, do I have to open some software player or will the sound just pass to the speakers automatically?8


It will just pass through to the speakers.
 
Dec 7, 2006 at 5:54 PM Post #8 of 8

mshan

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Posts
1,470
Likes
11
Thanks!

smily_headphones1.gif
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top