DIY power conditioner?
post-1393249
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 16

MASantos

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
2,435
Reaction score
38
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Posts
2,435
Likes
38
Hello,

Do you know of any DIY power conditioner/mains filtering unit?

Something which might have multiple outputs like a power strap?

THanks
Manuel
 
     Share This Post       
post-1393747
Post #3 of 16

Carbonman

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
179
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Posts
179
Likes
10
Have a look at the Jon Risch power conditioner. There is also a company in the US that makes a conditioner based on this design. Check at AA for more details.
http://www.geocities.com/jonrisch/
 
     Share This Post       
post-1393840
Post #5 of 16

Garbz

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
3,573
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
3,573
Likes
12
I believe he was after DIY power conditioners as am I. I saw a post here on head-fi last month about a balanced power conditioner using transformers, however I have an aversion against that sort of thing. I simply don't trust my equipment to have both Live and Neutral wires on a switch. I know my gilmore amp doesn't


There have also been other relatively cheap ones involving varisters and caps.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1394474
Post #6 of 16

MASantos

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
2,435
Reaction score
38
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Posts
2,435
Likes
38
yes, I was thinking about building one when I get my home rig after the summer, and was looking in the net for schematics, or kits.

What I need is some sort of mix between a power stripwith 4 or 6 outputs, which has some sort of filter, to clean the AC power. Also I need it to work eith 220v.

Manuel
 
     Share This Post       
post-1394867
Post #7 of 16

Garbz

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
3,573
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
3,573
Likes
12
http://www.geocities.com/jonrisch/surge.htm this one is the only one I can think of atm. There was one using transformers like I said that gave 120v + 120v instead of 240v + Neutral, but i was not interested in it so I forgot where I saw it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1395010
Post #8 of 16

cetoole

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
1,271
Reaction score
11
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Posts
1,271
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Garbz
http://www.geocities.com/jonrisch/surge.htm this one is the only one I can think of atm. There was one using transformers like I said that gave 120v + 120v instead of 240v + Neutral, but i was not interested in it so I forgot where I saw it.


Was this it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1395440
Post #9 of 16

Garbz

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
3,573
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
3,573
Likes
12
indeed, just don't have the bling nor the patients to modify my exisitng equipment to use it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1395523
Post #10 of 16

rickcr42

Are YOU talkin' to me?
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
13,874
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
13,874
Likes
13
Quote:

I simply don't trust my equipment to have both Live and Neutral wires on a switch. I know my gilmore amp doesn't


Just curious but why ?

I use a DPDT switch for all my AC and the only thing NOT switched is the safety ground.This is a very common practice in high end audio.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1396107
Post #11 of 16

Garbz

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
3,573
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
3,573
Likes
12
Let me elaborate. I fully trust my high end amp, and my low end cdplayer. I do not trust my 30 year old Tuner, and I definatly do not truse my Gilmore Dynalo since I remember connecting the torroid N directly to the board
 
     Share This Post       
post-1398056
Post #12 of 16

pmkap

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Posts
42
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by cetoole
Was this it?


Cetoole - The thread you referenced is mine, the Felicia constructors thread. It only produces balanced 240VAC (120-G-120) if you feed it 240AC. If you feed it 120VAC you get out filtered, balanced 120VAC (60-V-60), with the restriction that the transformer's ratings must be halved. When fed 240vac, either balanced or hot and neutral, it will produce filtered, balanced 240AC, without the need to downrate. The thread currently recommends using 2 175va rated transformers which when fed 120vac to yeild filtered, balanced 120VAC with a maximum continuous draw of 87watts, sufficient for most individual source level components. As the recommended transformers cost $9ea and the single filtering cap $4, the cost of producing each incremental isolated,filtered and balanced ac source is about $22 + connections.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1398610
Post #14 of 16

Garbz

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
3,573
Reaction score
12
Joined
May 19, 2004
Posts
3,573
Likes
12
Music Fidelity use choke regulated powersupplies in their equipment. And asside from the fact I think their amps are horrible, their cheaper cdplayer is a real gem, and the choke regulating definatly works for it.

All in all I like this design and cash permitting I think i'll roll my own version of this later this year.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1399497
Post #15 of 16

MASantos

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
2,435
Reaction score
38
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Posts
2,435
Likes
38
Quote:

Originally Posted by Garbz
All in all I like this design and cash permitting I think i'll roll my own version of this later this year.


Are you thinking about changing the design of the schematic??

If you ever do it, please let me know, I would be defenitely interested.

Manuel
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top