DIY DAC for noob?
post-7576921
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 20

Pingupenguins

Member of the Trade: BTG Audio / Q Audio
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
900
Reaction score
61
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Posts
900
Likes
61
Anyone know a good DAC for beginners? I was going to build a CKKIII figured if I was gonna do that I'd go build a DAC seeing that the are $500+
 
     Share This Post       
post-7576958
Post #3 of 20

Navyblue

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
1,673
Likes
14
A DAC doesn't have to cost $500, it can cost anywhere between less than $100 to tens of thousands.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7576979
Post #4 of 20

francisdemarte

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
929
Reaction score
22
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Posts
929
Likes
22
What types of inputs and outputs do you need and how many?
 
Your not going to save much money for the better DIY DACs. Once you figure in all the misc parts, case, and shipping your back up to about $300 or 400 as a starting point. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577007
Post #5 of 20

kchapdaily

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
460
Reaction score
23
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Posts
460
Likes
23
     Share This Post       
post-7577039
Post #6 of 20

Pingupenguins

Member of the Trade: BTG Audio / Q Audio
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
900
Reaction score
61
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Posts
900
Likes
61
i just need usb in and Analog out. 
 
and thanks for the kit link
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577078
Post #7 of 20

kchapdaily

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
460
Reaction score
23
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Posts
460
Likes
23
     Share This Post       
post-7577096
Post #8 of 20

Pingupenguins

Member of the Trade: BTG Audio / Q Audio
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
900
Reaction score
61
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Posts
900
Likes
61
anyone have reviews of this compared to the BantamDAC
 
also. how do i change the RCA into stereo headphone jack. I am thinking about the miniUSB verion of the GrubDAC and making a mint tin sized DAC. with no cables hanging out just cables to plug into it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577705
Post #10 of 20

tomb

Member of the Trade: Beezar.com
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
10,405
Reaction score
673
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Posts
10,405
Likes
673


 
Quote:
anyone have reviews of this compared to the BantamDAC
 
also. how do i change the RCA into stereo headphone jack. I am thinking about the miniUSB verion of the GrubDAC and making a mint tin sized DAC. with no cables hanging out just cables to plug into it.

The link that was given you was the GrubCableDAC.  The regular grubDAC kit with a mini-USB connector is only $35.  The output connectors are your choice.  You could even wire it directly into the inputs of the CKIII.
 
The BantamDAC is no longer available from Beezar, but GlassJarAudio still has some, I believe - also the AlienDAC.  So, there's plenty to pick from.
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577773
Post #11 of 20

kchapdaily

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
460
Reaction score
23
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Posts
460
Likes
23


Quote:
anyone have reviews of this compared to the BantamDAC
 
also. how do i change the RCA into stereo headphone jack. I am thinking about the miniUSB verion of the GrubDAC and making a mint tin sized DAC. with no cables hanging out just cables to plug into it.

instead of soldering the left and right rca connectors to the board just solder the grounds together to the headphone jack and then the left and right to the jack. you can get 1/8'' or 1/4'' at radioshack
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577888
Post #12 of 20

tomb

Member of the Trade: Beezar.com
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
10,405
Reaction score
673
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Posts
10,405
Likes
673
Speaking of a mint tin,



Those pics are of an AlienDAC with a bunch of VitaminQ's on the output, but the other DACs I mentioned are even smaller.
 
For instance, the little plastic box that the Grub/SkeletonDAC were designed for makes an ideal fit and is very cheap, too ($2-$3):

 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577922
Post #13 of 20

kchapdaily

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
460
Reaction score
23
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Posts
460
Likes
23
^gotta love those penguin mint tins

 
     Share This Post       
post-7578537
Post #14 of 20

Pingupenguins

Member of the Trade: BTG Audio / Q Audio
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
900
Reaction score
61
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Location
Walnut Creek, CA
Posts
900
Likes
61
God where can i buy those tins!?!??!? They stopped selling them where i live and i love their mints!!
 
I think the grubDAC is my choice because it doesn't run on battery power so one less thing to worry about when i am on the go. I was think my setup would be [ZuneHD>GrubDAC>Cmoy w/ OPA2132PA] all in a nice rubberbanded bundle inside 2 Penguin Mint tins with the Zune on top.
 
But this got me thinking. If i used the the Zune cable with the ZuneHD to the GrubDAC, would the Zune recognize and play the music through the USB?
Basically i'd like to know if the GrubDAC would work with a ZuneHD. Ive seen the Cypherlabs Agorhythm Solo work directly plugged into a iPod Classic. I'm basically looking for the same thing. Otherwise id just get a desktop DAC for my home use.
 
Ps. I found them on Amazon. I got all of the tins. woooooooo :D
 
     Share This Post       
post-7578561
Post #15 of 20

Navyblue

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Posts
1,673
Likes
14
ZuneHD does not have USB host capability, and there is no Zune equivalent for ARS.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top