Difficulty removing stock HD650 cable
post-841927
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 10

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
I am trying to remove the stock cable to put the balanced Cardas cables from Headroom's Meet Pack for the SoCal Head-fi Meet.

Man! The connectors are really in there! I can't pull them out with my bare hands. I have rubber padded Robogrips I tried, but the force I was exerting made me stop, I really feel like I'm going to break it.

Is there a latch or something added? I can't see how it's any different from the HD600, except that it's a LOT tigher grip.

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-841930
Post #2 of 10

mxs1030

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
748
Reaction score
10
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Posts
748
Likes
10
There's really no secret to getting the connecters out, just pull ( try to avoid "wiggling" it out, might damage the insides ). I was afraid that I might've damaged my HD650s when I pulled out the connecters as well, but in the end they came out fine.

edit: hard to believe the meets only 5 days away
.
 
     Share This Post       
post-841957
Post #3 of 10

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
Man.

<Doing Catholic Sign of the Cross>

Here goes.....

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-841971
Post #4 of 10

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
WHEW!!!!!

MAN!

That stock cable is a real B!TCH to remove.

Fortunately Robogrip get's the job done without marring anything. I love those things.

Man the Cardas connector really tiny.

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-842375
Post #5 of 10

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Sounds like you're having a ball playing with all of Headroom's goodies. I am bringing my own special "haul" to the meet as well, 9 of Larry's woodies
 
     Share This Post       
post-842503
Post #6 of 10

gpalmer

We are the weird ones.
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
7,080
Reaction score
12
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Posts
7,080
Likes
12
Heh, it's tight the first time but much like screen doors and other things it'll loosen up after you use it a few times!
 
     Share This Post       
post-842548
Post #7 of 10

Ph34rful

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
665
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Posts
665
Likes
10
Everybody seems to report the same problem...
However when I went to remove mine I had absolutely no problem removing the OEM cable.
Maybe I am just stronger than the average headfier?
 
     Share This Post       
post-842994
Post #8 of 10

mikeg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
3,171
Reaction score
11
Joined
May 4, 2002
Posts
3,171
Likes
11
I used pliers.
 
     Share This Post       
post-843000
Post #9 of 10

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Careful! Be sure to wiggle it, don't just pull it straight out if you have a hard time. My Cardas connector broke when pulling it out, fortunately it was replaced for free.
 
     Share This Post       
post-844888
Post #10 of 10

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
I pulled straight out. I think wiggling could be more stressing on those fragile connector springs, I think they're stiffer in the HD650's.

I think Sennheiser is gluing their connectors in now. Take a look.

Either it was that way before inserting the stock cables at the factory, or they glue them in a little bit. It looks like a bit of laquer coating is pulled off there inside the connector socket.





Man, the balanced Cardas cable connectors are tiny. They would be quite prone to "wiggling" in the socket, as they are only held in place by the pins.

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top