Desktop Power Supply's specs
Sep 10, 2009 at 9:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Hatmann

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Posts
364
Likes
12
Tyll or anyone else at Headroom,

Other than size and weight, the listing for the $499 Desktop Power Supply gives no specs -- none.

Why not make that information available -- I'm sure it would be impressive.
 
Sep 12, 2009 at 3:58 PM Post #2 of 19

aimlink

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
2,659
Likes
25
Interestingly, the manual has no specs either so they could well be a trade secret or something.
 
Sep 12, 2009 at 5:07 PM Post #3 of 19

Hatmann

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Posts
364
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by aimlink /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Interestingly, the manual has no specs either so they could well be a trade secret or something.


More likely they just haven't gotten around to looking up the manufacturing specs and finding the time to post them.

I hear the good folks in Bozeman are pretty busy.

How about it -- want to let us know what's inside that box for $499?

Here's an example of the kind of information I'd like to see, taken from the specs of a less well-known power supply:

"-- over 110,000uF capacitance filtering ... brown out proof."

Thanks -- I appreciate any information you can provide.
 
Sep 12, 2009 at 5:17 PM Post #4 of 19

aimlink

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
2,659
Likes
25
I'm not referring to posting them here. I'm referring to specs in the manual. All manuals include specs for equipment... doesn't it?
smily_headphones1.gif


You should be able to find such information by simply downloading and reading the specs outlined in the provided user manual. Since it's not there, I'm really wondering if the specs are not being willingly disclosed... for a good reason, of course.
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Sep 12, 2009 at 9:29 PM Post #5 of 19

Hatmann

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Posts
364
Likes
12
I have read everything Headroom has published about its Desktop Power Supply and every review I could find.

I could not find one word about what's in the DPS.

Even Stereophile, which, as you know, famously measures products undergoing full review, published no measurements that I recall about the DPS.

Headroom is generally pretty good about giving specs for its headphone amps and DACS. But when it comes to the DPS (and its amplifiers), nothing.

I am certainly not questioning the integrity of Headroom or these products. But this is damn strange. The lack of information makes me wonder how they sell this stuff.
 
Sep 13, 2009 at 8:30 AM Post #7 of 19

Hatmann

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Posts
364
Likes
12
TheSloth;6007208 said:
Yes you are![/QUOT

No, and if I were, I would have said so.

I am a customer looking for information.

Do you have any to contribute?
 
Sep 13, 2009 at 3:35 PM Post #8 of 19

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
I thought of getting the desktop power supply at one time and did not realize that specs were not listed. Perhaps I felt it is just a power supply and gave it no more thought. Now that you mention it and since HeadRoom is so open on their specifications and photos it is funny the DPS specs are not listed. Personally I think it is just an oversight and in the end it would not stop customers from getting one. Cheers.
 
Sep 13, 2009 at 3:49 PM Post #9 of 19

aimlink

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
2,659
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrarroyo /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I thought of getting the desktop power supply at one time and did not realize that specs were not listed. Perhaps I felt it is just a power supply and gave it no more thought. Now that you mention it and since HeadRoom is so open on their specifications and photos it is funny the DPS specs are not listed. Personally I think it is just an oversight and in the end it would not stop customers from getting one. Cheers.


The Astrodyne specs are similarly meager, though you do get the Input voltage/amperage and the maximum power output of 42watts.

I visited the Astrodyne website and am not sure which of the power supplies HeadRoom uses. The specs there are thoroughly presented so if we knew exactly which Astrodyne model HeadRoom sells, we could indirectly obtain the full specs. I don't have one here now to look at, but it's not mentioned in the description page.

I have a Desktop PSU and got it since I was otherwise so happy with HeadRoom's amps and Ultra DAC. Call it 'blind trust' in their desktop PSU.
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Sep 13, 2009 at 5:40 PM Post #10 of 19

Hatmann

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Posts
364
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrarroyo /img/forum/go_quote.gif
...since HeadRoom is so open on their specifications and photos it is funny the DPS specs are not listed.


Exactly. And because Headroom is so open with specs on most of its other gear -- they clearly believe in science up there in Bozeman -- perhaps some gentle prodding here will help us find out what's in that DPS. Who knows, when people find out how great the product really is, sales might even increase.

More sales = more profits = a stronger Headroom = and maybe even lower prices for us.

Something to hope for, anyway.
 
Sep 13, 2009 at 7:41 PM Post #11 of 19

aimlink

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
2,659
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hatmann /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Exactly. And because Headroom is so open with specs on most of its other gear -- they clearly believe in science up there in Bozeman -- perhaps some gentle prodding here will help us find out what's in that DPS. Who knows, when people find out how great the product really is, sales might even increase.

More sales = more profits = a stronger Headroom = and maybe even lower prices for us.

Something to hope for, anyway.



The DPS has 15V DC outputs using a not so commonly used 5 pin DIN connector. It seems to be designed for and expected to be used only with their amps and DAC's. This may well be why they haven't published specs since it would be like publishing specs for the inbuilt power supply units in amps/dacs that don't come with their own specialised PSU.

But then again, if you have your Ultra Desktop Amp with an Astrodyne unit, you'd like to see in the specs just what it is that you're improving on when you switch to the Desktop PSU.
 
Sep 14, 2009 at 4:56 PM Post #12 of 19

Tyll Hertsens

Garmentus Vulgaris & Headphoneus Supremus
Member of the Trade: Innerfidelity
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
4,102
Likes
1,185
Well... the truth is we're so busy getting the headphone measurement thing together that we simply don't have time to work up a program for specing out the electronics. It's on the to do list, but it's likely to be a little while before it happens.

I can tell you that we'd be very proud to have the specs up for the PS as it is a very good one, but it's just not going to have the "pop" in therm of sales that some other stuff we're doing at the moment.

It sux when there's things that hoover just out of reach 5 or 10 spots down the priority list and just never get high enough due to other, more important stuff.

Sorry.
redface.gif
 
Sep 27, 2009 at 5:00 PM Post #14 of 19

pirate6955

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Posts
60
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tyll Hertsens /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Well... the truth is we're so busy getting the headphone measurement thing together that we simply don't have time to work up a program for specing out the electronics. It's on the to do list, but it's likely to be a little while before it happens.

I can tell you that we'd be very proud to have the specs up for the PS as it is a very good one, but it's just not going to have the "pop" in therm of sales that some other stuff we're doing at the moment.

It sux when there's things that hoover just out of reach 5 or 10 spots down the priority list and just never get high enough due to other, more important stuff.

Sorry.
redface.gif



surely it was designed to meet a spec right? volts amps ripple etc was part of the criteria and existed before the supply itself no? then the design was tested to see if it met the design goal? you already know what you are selling we have to assume. so creating "a program to spec the electronics" seems like it was done before headroom existed...

could you just list what it was made to do? the power supply is the foundation of any piece of electronics and would be the most important thing you sell. theres no magic bull sh_t when it comes to a power supply....
popcorn.gif
 
Sep 28, 2009 at 12:25 AM Post #15 of 19

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
pirate6955 don't you think you are being a bit harsh? HeadRoom has been making bullet proof gear for almost 20 years and they have one of the best customer services program. If I misread your post my apologies.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top