Darkvoice 336i & 336SE Tuberolling PartII
Apr 29, 2021 at 7:07 PM Post #10,096 of 13,783

Paladin79

Previously MOT: Cables For Less
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Posts
10,915
Likes
38,957
Location
Indiana
So that's what everybody that goes to the Indy 500 is talking about when the mention tenderloin sandwiches
yep, and the tenderloin has to be massive compared to the bun, that is a must.
 
Apr 29, 2021 at 7:09 PM Post #10,097 of 13,783

Paladin79

Previously MOT: Cables For Less
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Posts
10,915
Likes
38,957
Location
Indiana
Apr 29, 2021 at 7:32 PM Post #10,098 of 13,783

Galapac

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2020
Posts
1,164
Likes
2,216
Location
United States
Last edited:
Apr 29, 2021 at 10:21 PM Post #10,099 of 13,783

wideload

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 25, 2020
Posts
76
Likes
126
Location
California Central Coast
Noob question here. I have worked for decades as a bassist, and you never run a tube amp without a speaker load. Does this also apply to non 300 watt amps like Darkvoice? Like, do I need headphones plugged in during burn-ins, or before turning the amp on? Thanks for the help! (I know this probably doesn’t belong in this Scotch/BBQ/soldering forum...)
 
Apr 29, 2021 at 10:29 PM Post #10,100 of 13,783

Ripper2860

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Posts
6,118
Likes
24,164
Location
Texas, USA
Ideally any OTL amp should have a load present at power on and while playing. I always have HPs connected when powered on.
 
Last edited:
Apr 29, 2021 at 11:10 PM Post #10,102 of 13,783

Galapac

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2020
Posts
1,164
Likes
2,216
Location
United States
Ideally any OTL amp should have a load present at power on and while playing. I always have HPs connected when powered on.
I’ve read the exact opposite that it is wise to not have headphones pliugged in when turning on/off a tube amp. The headphones drivers can overload if the tube goes bad causing a loud popping sound and blowing the headphone drivers. I had the popping sound happen to me with a new NOS tube I received and was lucky my headphones did not blow but it was a scary sound.
 
Apr 29, 2021 at 11:16 PM Post #10,103 of 13,783

jonathan c

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Posts
9,132
Likes
27,160
Location
western pennsylvania
I’ve read the exact opposite that it is wise to not have headphones pliugged in when turning on/off a tube amp. The headphones drivers can overload if the tube goes bad causing a loud popping sound and blowing the headphone drivers. I had the popping sound happen to me with a new NOS tube I received and was lucky my headphones did not blow but it was a scary sound.
I agree: with tube h/p/a, I will always plug in after amp on, take out before amp off.
 
Apr 29, 2021 at 11:21 PM Post #10,104 of 13,783

jonathan c

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Posts
9,132
Likes
27,160
Location
western pennsylvania
Some throw the line out, see if anything‘s biting...
I’ve seen some tubes on the bay for months on end with high price tags by the same sellers.
Otis Galapac?..”sitting by the tubes on EBay “
 
Apr 30, 2021 at 12:15 AM Post #10,106 of 13,783

HTSkywalker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Posts
2,323
Likes
3,576
Location
Lebanon
@bcowen : Took me some googling, but I finally arrived at test settings for the 6N6P's in the Hickok. Those tubes are a more recent design, and didn't show up in any of the Hickok setting books I have. Fortunately there are people in some DIY forums that are smarter than me...kind of like all of them, I think. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:
Accepting admittance to the old fart club seems due by now, am way beyond it by now 😜
 
Last edited:
Apr 30, 2021 at 12:18 AM Post #10,107 of 13,783

HTSkywalker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Posts
2,323
Likes
3,576
Location
Lebanon
Edited
 
Last edited:
Apr 30, 2021 at 12:25 AM Post #10,108 of 13,783

HTSkywalker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Posts
2,323
Likes
3,576
Location
Lebanon
I replaced it, as I did with the two caps I removed lol I just saved the old parts. :ksc75smile:
We all have the tendency of keeping even the defected and old parts 😊
 
Apr 30, 2021 at 12:36 AM Post #10,109 of 13,783

HTSkywalker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Posts
2,323
Likes
3,576
Location
Lebanon
Noob question here. I have worked for decades as a bassist, and you never run a tube amp without a speaker load. Does this also apply to non 300 watt amps like Darkvoice? Like, do I need headphones plugged in during burn-ins, or before turning the amp on? Thanks for the help! (I know this probably doesn’t belong in this Scotch/BBQ/soldering forum...)
Is that what we turned this forum into 😜😜😜 I think woodworking and painting should also be included in the above.
it’s one of the most enjoyable forum and it’s mainly about tubes and.....
We do mention the DV every now and then though lol.
Kidding aside and to answer your question, the DV Could be used as a pre-amp and be fired up without any load attached.
 
Last edited:
Apr 30, 2021 at 12:41 AM Post #10,110 of 13,783

HTSkywalker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Posts
2,323
Likes
3,576
Location
Lebanon
I’ve read the exact opposite that it is wise to not have headphones pliugged in when turning on/off a tube amp. The headphones drivers can overload if the tube goes bad causing a loud popping sound and blowing the headphone drivers. I had the popping sound happen to me with a new NOS tube I received and was lucky my headphones did not blow but it was a scary sound.
Well I kind of second that, better risk the DV than risking a damage to expensive cans as the DV tends to pop loudly sometimes, besides why would you need a plugged HP if this is also intended as a pre-amp
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top