D-CJ01 still a good buy?
May 11, 2004 at 8:50 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

r2d2

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 8, 2004
Posts
4
Likes
0
The "old" D-CJ01 is being sold at half price.
I´ve seen very diverging reports of its sound quality.
I listen to classical music only, mostly piano, using
Sony MDR-E848 and Ety ER4P. CD-R only.
Now all I'm interested in is sound quality --
clear, open sound, good sound stage.
Perhaps one of the newer players, like D-NE700 at
about the same price would be a better deal?
 
May 11, 2004 at 11:45 PM Post #2 of 11

TenaciousO

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Posts
1,207
Likes
11
I don't think it's a very good player at all. I have one, and it sounds awfully muddy and murky in comparison to my Dell DJ and laptop. If you are really interested in it, I suggest grabbing one off ebay because I see those go for less than $30 sometimes.
 
May 12, 2004 at 2:37 AM Post #3 of 11

Steve999

smooth, DARK
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Posts
2,481
Likes
304
I have the D-CJ01. I have a great deal more affection for my relatively new D-NE300 for every category of features and performance. I'd suggest you go for the D-NE700, as you suggest, or really anything from the D-NE300 up in the new Sony series of portables.
cool.gif


By the way, welcome to head-fi.
smily_headphones1.gif
 
May 12, 2004 at 2:49 AM Post #4 of 11

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,455
Likes
29
And don't confuse the newest 2004-model D-NE### and D-NF### series of ATRAC3 CD players with last year's crappier 2003-model counterparts.
 
May 13, 2004 at 8:05 AM Post #8 of 11

Lisa

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Posts
3,662
Likes
10
Are you sure theD-NE700 hasn't got a line out?
On the Dutch Sony site it says it has:

specs D-NE700
Line out = lijnuitgang

I know this is the the European model so there can be differences but still...
 
May 13, 2004 at 3:37 PM Post #10 of 11

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,455
Likes
29
Actually, none of the new Sonys have a separate line out. The "line out" in the higher-end new Sonys is actually a pseudo line out that's integrated with the headphone jack -- and you cannot use any remote control at all in "line out" mode.
 
May 13, 2004 at 5:00 PM Post #11 of 11

bangraman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Posts
10,275
Likes
30
You can... but you have to plug the amp into the remote. Sound quality loss? Minimal, if any.


If you have something like a Supermicro which you can clip to something near where you have your remote plugged, it's no big deal. With a traditional quite big non-pocket amp, it's more problemmatic... you'll have to run a cable down the same route as the remote cable.


I don't think it's the first time I've said that you should have something before you comment authoritatively, is it?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top