Creative Sound Blaster new series Z, Zx & ZxR
post-10539527
Post #2,161 of 3,461

TwoEars

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Messages
980
Reaction score
218
Joined
Mar 16, 2011
Posts
980
Likes
218
Yes, that's a bit of a bummer. Did you try outputting it over USB as discussed above?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10539722
Post #2,162 of 3,461

benbenkr

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
379
Reaction score
49
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Posts
379
Likes
49
  Yes, that's a bit of a bummer. Did you try outputting it over USB as discussed above?
 
Through "What U Hear"? Not yet. But I'll give it a go later on and see if it works fine.
 
 
*EDIT*
It doesn't work. That's because there's no "What U Hear" as SB Cinema is a software layer not a driver per se.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10557924
Post #2,163 of 3,461

MaxKohler

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
53
Likes
12
Hi guys, I haven't been following this thread for a bit but I was thinking that the mixed reviews on this card are likely because some people are using Alchemy with xfi cards. In this setup CMSS3D runs on top of the Alchemy hardware acceleration. Whereas the ZXR's SBX can not run on top of Alchemy. If you use Alchemy it automatically disables SBX surround.
 
So basically if you don't use Alchemy with a game then SBX will make it sound much better. But if you're already using Alchemy & an xfi card with CMSS3D, then going to the ZXR with SBX will be a downgrade.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10557957
Post #2,164 of 3,461

NoOneLt

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2013
Messages
232
Reaction score
27
Joined
Nov 26, 2013
Posts
232
Likes
27
  Hi guys, I haven't been following this thread for a bit but I was thinking that the mixed reviews on this card are likely because some people are using Alchemy with xfi cards. In this setup CMSS3D runs on top of the Alchemy hardware acceleration. Whereas the ZXR's SBX can not run on top of Alchemy. If you use Alchemy it automatically disables SBX surround.
 
So basically if you don't use Alchemy with a game then SBX will make it sound much better. But if you're already using Alchemy & an xfi card with CMSS3D, then going to the ZXR with SBX will be a downgrade.
Tell us please about what current game titles that needs Alchemy You are talking about? EAX is dead, no need in Alchemy because of this anymore, of course there is some GOG titles, but is it worth it, You will be playing GOG for the rest of life?
 
ZxR is superior in SQ than any Creative product out there, SBX surround superior over CMSS3D for my ears at least. Alchemy/EAX not the topic to discuss in 2014.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558312
Post #2,165 of 3,461

MaxKohler

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
53
Likes
12
  Tell us please about what current game titles that needs Alchemy You are talking about? EAX is dead, no need in Alchemy because of this anymore, of course there is some GOG titles, but is it worth it, You will be playing GOG for the rest of life?
 
ZxR is superior in SQ than any Creative product out there, SBX surround superior over CMSS3D for my ears at least. Alchemy/EAX not the topic to discuss in 2014.
Counter-strike 1.6 & Counter-strike: source both benefit from Alchemy. CS 1.6 is still in the top 10 most played games on Steam. There is a massive list of other games that benefit from Alchemy: http://archive.today/5xpC - this list hasn't been updated recently though, so there's probably a lot more.
 
I heard that Borderlands benefits from it, and that's a new game.
 
EAX isn't even used in CS 1.6, yet the difference between Alchemy vs no Alchemy is very big.
 
I only marginally know what GOG is. It's not something I use.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558444
Post #2,167 of 3,461

genclaymore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
2,158
Reaction score
129
Location
MI
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Location
MI
Posts
2,158
Likes
129
Age
37
  Counter-strike 1.6 & Counter-strike: source both benefit from Alchemy. CS 1.6 is still in the top 10 most played games on Steam. There is a massive list of other games that benefit from Alchemy: http://archive.today/5xpC - this list hasn't been updated recently though, so there's probably a lot more.
 
I heard that Borderlands benefits from it, and that's a new game.
 
EAX isn't even used in CS 1.6, yet the difference between Alchemy vs no Alchemy is very big.
 
I only marginally know what GOG is. It's not something I use.

Borderlands 1 and 2 do not benefit from it, they both has the option to use OpenAL by changing the Xaudio2 device line in the engine.ini to ALAudio.ALAudioDevice and that will make both BL1 and 2 use OpenAL. There A bunch of UE3 games that can be changed as well to ALAudio.ALAudioDevice. Even Serious Sam BFE has the function to switch to OpenAL from Xaudio2.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558458
Post #2,168 of 3,461

MaxKohler

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
53
Likes
12
 
Borderlands 1 and 2 do not benefit from it, they both has the option to use OpenAL by changing the Xaudio2 device line in the engine.ini to ALAudio.ALAudioDevice and that will make both BL1 and 2 use OpenAL. There A bunch of UE3 games that can be changed as well to ALAudio.ALAudioDevice. Even Serious Sam BFE has the function to switch to OpenAL from Xaudio2.

Do you know why they would chose the worse option as default?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558565
Post #2,169 of 3,461

genclaymore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
2,158
Reaction score
129
Location
MI
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Location
MI
Posts
2,158
Likes
129
Age
37
I have no idea, it would save me time if they use OpenAL by default or at-least have a option to select it from within the game. An long side the maxvoices setting.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558585
Post #2,170 of 3,461

Fegefeuer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
2,748
Reaction score
1,246
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Posts
2,748
Likes
1,246
  Is it true that surround sound bug in valve games ?
 
Which do you mean?
 
A few games like L4D2 don't work properly via OpenAL. The distance is wrongly processed plus the sound tends to fade out quickly after a specific distance. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10558786
Post #2,171 of 3,461

Meduseld

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Posts
8
Likes
0
   
Which do you mean?
 
A few games like L4D2 don't work properly via OpenAL. The distance is wrongly processed plus the sound tends to fade out quickly after a specific distance. 
 
CS:GO 
 
this video demonstrates the problem, and i talk about all surround softares. 
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjad_V8ZAHo&feature=youtu.be
 
is what other valve games have this problem ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10564432
Post #2,172 of 3,461

watsaname

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
113
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Posts
113
Likes
12
Is he using a virtual surround dsp? If he isn't, that is probably why there is that "deadzone"... I noticed that in some games when you have 5.1 sound on and no virtual surround on the sounds are oriented very left, right, front, and rear. There isn't necessarily a front-right or front-left. Another game I noticed this phenomenon in is Bioshock Infinite, specifically the Burial at Sea pt.1.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10576199
Post #2,173 of 3,461

NamelessPFG

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
3,095
Reaction score
125
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Posts
3,095
Likes
125
If the deadzone problem is rooted in the game engine's audio mixing, no virtual surround DSP is going to fix that. The sound driver won't receive any more sound from the game just because you ticked virtual surround on.

About all I can suggest is to try out the usual Source engine DirectSound3D + ALchemy trick. That will inherently cause CS:GO to mix the audio differently.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10576630
Post #2,174 of 3,461

MaxKohler

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
53
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Posts
53
Likes
12
If the deadzone problem is rooted in the game engine's audio mixing, no virtual surround DSP is going to fix that. The sound driver won't receive any more sound from the game just because you ticked virtual surround on.

About all I can suggest is to try out the usual Source engine DirectSound3D + ALchemy trick. That will inherently cause CS:GO to mix the audio differently.

Are you sure CSGO uses DirectSound3D? When I tried to use Alchemy with it, it didn't work...
 
I know there are changes in the engine from CS:S to CSGO.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10577217
Post #2,175 of 3,461

Fegefeuer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
2,748
Reaction score
1,246
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Posts
2,748
Likes
1,246
did you setup "snd_legacy_surround 1" either via config or autoexec.cfg?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top