Creative Sound blaster E5 - Headphone amp + USB DAC with OTG + Toslink + aptX + recording + more.
Sep 13, 2015 at 9:01 AM Post #976 of 2,345

BlackWing1977

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Posts
13
Likes
12
   
Disable your BT first, then uninstall + reinstall the app. When it is correctly installed over the USB Host port, it should ask you to install an extra app / driver. Then it should work.

Thanks, it worked, I previously installed the app before I even connect to the E5 hence it didn't show me some of the option like using the USB accessory.
 
Sep 14, 2015 at 2:51 PM Post #977 of 2,345

hoshiyomi

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Posts
99
Likes
23
Anyone used the E5 with sensitive IEMs? Any hiss? How was the volume control?

very minimal when used in usb mode, but noise floor rises significantly if bluetooth is connected / not mute in the mixer.

I used to think the SNR is mediocre at best, but it turns out I had bluetooth connected in the background and not playing anything, but this introduced audible hiss.
 
Sep 18, 2015 at 12:09 AM Post #980 of 2,345

Sam21

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Posts
1,183
Likes
67
In order to EQ an analog signal inputted through line in, the Signal Goes through the ADC then DAC then AMP and then is outputted, In other words, the EQ is digital and not analog, correct ? and also, by going through ADC and DAC, there is added noise and distortion, right ? but how much?
 
Sep 18, 2015 at 10:01 AM Post #981 of 2,345

hoshiyomi

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Posts
99
Likes
23
In order to EQ an analog signal inputted through line in, the Signal Goes through the ADC then DAC then AMP and then is outputted, In other words, the EQ is digital and not analog, correct ? and also, by going through ADC and DAC, there is added noise and distortion, right ? but how much?

EQ is digital and anything that comes in thru line-in has adc->dsp/digital attenuation->dac, and adds distortion. Check Soomal for measurements, it's measurable but not terrible.
 
Sep 18, 2015 at 7:49 PM Post #982 of 2,345

Sam21

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Posts
1,183
Likes
67
the Focusrite Scarlette SOLO has a chip with both ADC and DAC in it, the ADC and DAC chips in E5 are separate, I was wondering if one design is superior to the other...(I emailed Focusrite and they said the Mic in on their unit goes through ADC-DAC chip and then is outputted through the RCA outs, they said the distortion is minimal and negligible)
 
By the way, Has any of you tried the MIC in with a nice condenser microphone ? 
 
Sep 19, 2015 at 12:03 AM Post #983 of 2,345

ClieOS

IEM Reviewer Extraordinaire
Joined
May 11, 2004
Posts
20,827
Likes
11,134
Location
Mid Johor, Malaysia
This might somewhat address your question:
 
Original 1kHz

 
Pass through E5

 
Sep 19, 2015 at 11:29 AM Post #985 of 2,345

turbobb

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Posts
505
Likes
231
Hi guys, using an iPod 5G, I can't access the additional functions like EQ, SBX, etc. when connected via BT. I thought I read that this was possible (but perhaps it's on Android only and not iOS?). I've tried removing/reinstalling the SB Central app as well as re-pairing but that didn't work. Only when I'm connected via lightning cable can I access these functions in the app... Any ideas?
 
Thx!,
Tim
 
Sep 23, 2015 at 12:20 AM Post #986 of 2,345

Koolpep

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 18, 2011
Posts
4,110
Likes
2,240
Location
German in Dubai
On massdrop.com $149
 
Sep 27, 2015 at 9:47 PM Post #987 of 2,345

RojasTKD

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
769
Likes
186
Yes, stumbled across that last night and grabbed. Just two days left now.
 
I also picked up a lightly used JDS Labs C5D from ebay. First DAC/AMP (other than a Fiio E5 years back). Kind of impulse buys as the prices where pretty good and I recently gifted myself a used SE846 for my B-Day.
 
Now to decide if I'm going to keep both.
 
Sep 28, 2015 at 9:20 AM Post #988 of 2,345

h0race

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Posts
75
Likes
13
I've just bought an E5 and am waiting for it to arrive.

Quick question: I plan to connect the E5 to my Xperia Z3. Assuming I update the E5 to the latest firmware, am I right in thinking that a micro usb to micro usb cable will enable the Z3 to pass 24/96 audio to the E5?

Thanks
 
Sep 28, 2015 at 12:25 PM Post #989 of 2,345

ClieOS

IEM Reviewer Extraordinaire
Joined
May 11, 2004
Posts
20,827
Likes
11,134
Location
Mid Johor, Malaysia
I've just bought an E5 and am waiting for it to arrive.

Quick question: I plan to connect the E5 to my Xperia Z3. Assuming I update the E5 to the latest firmware, am I right in thinking that a micro usb to micro usb cable will enable the Z3 to pass 24/96 audio to the E5?

Thanks

 
Yes.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top