Connecting a subwoofer to a vintage amp
post-9217773
Post #16 of 18

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
19,010
Reaction score
1,589
Location
grand rapids, mi
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Location
grand rapids, mi
Posts
19,010
Likes
1,589
Are you using a computer as the audio source? If so, you could use your computer as the main volume control.

Turn the volume control on your computer to 100%. Then turn up the volume on your amp as loud as you want your speakers to go (just as long as they are not distorting). Then adjust the sub to match at the same time. From then on, user your main computer volume control.
 
     Share This Post       
post-9218956
Post #17 of 18

TheItalynStalyn

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
8
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Posts
8
Likes
10
I havent decided if I should use my computer, or just leave my Z2 connected to the amp... But my main concern is that I do not know how to connect the sub to the amp, as there is no subwoofer outlet. I found some info online, but I dont really understand what it means
 
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1185128/sub-hook-up-to-vintage-receivers
 
     Share This Post       
post-9219109
Post #18 of 18

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
19,010
Reaction score
1,589
Location
grand rapids, mi
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Location
grand rapids, mi
Posts
19,010
Likes
1,589
Sorry. I was typing my response fast and forgot to say. :)

You should be able to use the Rec Out for one of the Tape options. It's a line out meant to allow recording with a tape player. So it won't vary with the volume control on the receiver, which is why you have to use some source plugged into the receiver that has a volume. Plug your computer or iPod or whatever into Aux or a different input from the Tape use choose, and it should send the signal output to the Rec Out by using the Rec Out Selector on the front.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: TheItalynStalyn

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top