[COMMING] TOPPING A90 FULL BALANCED HEADPHONE AMPLIFIER
post-15629977
Post #31 of 50

sabloke

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
1,037
Reaction score
309
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Posts
1,037
Likes
309
If I get audio out of the 3.5mm of the Mojo to 2 X XLR into the A90, can I use the 4.4mm balanced output? Or is it SE in to SE out only for the SE Mojo? Most of my cans and IEMs are 4.4mm
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15630006
Post #32 of 50

Baten

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
1,162
Reaction score
439
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Posts
1,162
Likes
439
If I get audio out of the 3.5mm of the Mojo to 2 X XLR into the A90, can I use the 4.4mm balanced output? Or is it SE in to SE out only for the SE Mojo? Most of my cans and IEMs are 4.4mm
You can use 3.5mm to XLR yes. But 3.5mm to RCA works too. It is:

SE in SE out
SE in BAL out
BAL in SE out
BAL in BAL out.

All good solid state amps should be like this :wink: but I guess not all are. Anyway it's not a problem!
No worries.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: hmscott and sabloke
post-15633212
Post #33 of 50

hmscott

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
193
Reaction score
135
Location
California
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Location
California
Posts
193
Likes
135
I've been waiting for the Topping A90 and the new Topping D90 MQA model. It's not inexpensive, but certainly not mind-bogglingly so as many high end solutions. I'm hoping they both ship this coming week, or next. :)
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15633244
Post #34 of 50

Facta

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
60
Reaction score
6
Location
us
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Location
us
Posts
60
Likes
6
Could one be looking at a vast improvement in sound quality or just about 5% to 10%, if one were to use just the DAC output of RME ADI-2 Pro to send the signal into the amp section of Topping A90, considering how good the ADI-2 already seems to be?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: hmscott
post-15633366
Post #35 of 50

Baten

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
1,162
Reaction score
439
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Posts
1,162
Likes
439
Could one be looking at a vast improvement in sound quality or just about 5% to 10%, if one were to use just the DAC output of RME ADI-2 Pro to send the signal into the amp section of Topping A90, considering how good the ADI-2 already seems to be?
ADI-2 already has a super low noise output. But A90 still better. Hard to say if audible: 5% better
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Facta and hmscott
post-15633441
Post #36 of 50

hmscott

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
193
Reaction score
135
Location
California
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Location
California
Posts
193
Likes
135
Could one be looking at a vast improvement in sound quality or just about 5% to 10%, if one were to use just the DAC output of RME ADI-2 Pro to send the signal into the amp section of Topping A90, considering how good the ADI-2 already seems to be?
It was a tough choice Between the D90 MQA upgraded and the newer RME ADI-2 variants. I'll probably swap in headphone amp(s) and a DAC or three over time, but one must be patient - time keeps everything from happening all at once - and I've only got 2 ears at a time too.

Everything that sounds different isn't necessarily an upgrade or better in a finite sense. And, each meal and day brings another chemical reactionary mix internally that changes how I hear externally. Too much of a good thing has the making for monotony, it's nice to have regular variety to keep it fresh.

The RME is pretty nice though, I'm half German and all Engineer, so it will draw me in eventually.- they seem to keep innovating over time, so upon the release of a new DAC generation seems like a good time to jump.
ADI-2 already has a super low noise output. But A90 still better. Hard to say if audible: 5% better
At some point the sum of the parts comes together into an emotional reaction - tingles down my spine, or raised hairs on my arm. I'm hoping to hear an emotional reactionary difference between the combination Topping A90 / D90 as compared to the FiiO M15. It's a bit of a competition - and maybe an assurance for selling the M15.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Facta
post-15633753
Post #37 of 50

Muataz

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Location
Saudi Arabia
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Location
Saudi Arabia
Posts
111
Likes
57
Could one be looking at a vast improvement in sound quality or just about 5% to 10%, if one were to use just the DAC output of RME ADI-2 Pro to send the signal into the amp section of Topping A90, considering how good the ADI-2 already seems to be?
If you want to use it with IEM, the A90 could a big jump or with difficult to drive headphones.

But for easy dynamic headphone drivers you may not find a different.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Facta
post-15633773
Post #39 of 50

Facta

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Messages
60
Reaction score
6
Location
us
Joined
Apr 25, 2020
Location
us
Posts
60
Likes
6
If you want to use it with IEM, the A90 could a big jump or with difficult to drive headphones.

But for easy dynamic headphone drivers you may not find a different.
Thank you
 
     Share This Post       
post-15637431
Post #44 of 50

hmscott

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
193
Reaction score
135
Location
California
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Location
California
Posts
193
Likes
135
I've been waiting for the Topping A90 and the new Topping D90 MQA model. It's not inexpensive, but certainly not mind-bogglingly so as many high end solutions. I'm hoping they both ship this coming week, or next. :)
Shipping might be as early as "tomorrow", which is about now... 05:50am in China right now :)

Then 3-7 days - if all goes well - shipping... not long now. :)
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top