Comfortable closed can recommendations
Jan 26, 2011 at 6:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

neybar

New Head-Fier
I've been using a pair of Sennheiser HD590 headphones for 4 years or so.  I've loved them so far.

At my new place of employment I'm finding that it is quite a bit noisier, so I'd like to get a pair of closed cans.

I primarily listen to electronic/techno/alternative rock with some classical and jazz thrown in.  I'm a programmer so I generally have my music on to slip into the zone and buffer me from the rest of the office.  I also primarily have these hooked up to a macbook pro laptop (intel soundcard).

I really like the sound of my current headphones so I've been looking at other senheisers.  I've heard that the senn hd280 pro's are hard to wear for more than an hour or so at a time, so I haven't put them on my list.

My budget is around $200 or so.  I'm also planning on buying a usb dac (probably either the nuforce udac2 or the fiiO e7).

What recommendations do you all have for closed cans that are comfortable enough to be worn for long stretches of time?

Here are a few that have come up in my research:

ATH-A700
Sennheiser HD25-1
Beyerdynamic DT-770 (little worried about driving these properly.  DAC should help there though).

Thanks!

Jan 27, 2011 at 12:16 PM Post #4 of 23
I think the dt770 are really comfortable. They also offer some of the best sound isolation out of closed headphones. There is a 32ohm version if you are worried about driving them if you can find them for that price. The d2000 is also a great choice. Less isolation, but they have a nice sound and easy to drive.

Jan 27, 2011 at 12:47 PM Post #5 of 23
I've test-drived both the dt770 and D2000 in the workplace.