Chrome update breaks Head-Fi...
Aug 14, 2010 at 6:52 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Solude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Posts
6,817
Likes
218
Location
Ontario, Canada
I'm back to using IE/FF after the last Chrome self update.  On three PCs Head-Fi stalls and the kill page comes up.  Disabling Jscript "fixes" it but breaks being able to use menus.  Fun fun.  Obviously a Chrome thing, but thought it worth noting.
 
Aug 14, 2010 at 7:39 AM Post #2 of 10

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
74
All these Chrome <-> Head-Fi issues are not great news
 
Aug 14, 2010 at 6:30 PM Post #4 of 10

logwed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Posts
4,068
Likes
81
I'm not having any of these problems, but I can't say that I've been keeping up with Chrome updates. Occasionally the menus don't drop for me, but it's an F5 away. 
 
Aug 14, 2010 at 6:51 PM Post #5 of 10

Solude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Posts
6,817
Likes
218
Location
Ontario, Canada
Any page can hang.  And I do mean any.  Front page, forum list, inbox will just freeze pretty much within seconds until Chrome asks to kill the page.  Happening on my home W7 AMD rig, work XP Core2 rig and XP laptop.  If I disable Jscript its fine, except that buttons don't work.
 

 
Aug 14, 2010 at 6:59 PM Post #6 of 10

MrQ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Posts
3,462
Likes
153
I was getting 'slow script' warnings on Safari for the last two days. Which only ever happens when I disable java/javascript. But everything was enabled. It's stopped now, but page loading is still a bit sluggish on this site.
 
Aug 14, 2010 at 9:20 PM Post #7 of 10

Solude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Posts
6,817
Likes
218
Location
Ontario, Canada
Should add, FF is very fast on Head-Fi and IE never gives any errors on posting or odd overlay positioning.  Chrome had issues before this, but now its a full on halt.
 
Aug 18, 2010 at 3:14 PM Post #8 of 10

mlarn

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Posts
528
Likes
10
I use Chrome here everyday and have not noticed any problems above and beyond normal. I haven't updated manually either, but according to Google it should do this automatically.
 
Quote:
I'm not having any of these problems, but I can't say that I've been keeping up with Chrome updates. Occasionally the menus don't drop for me, but it's an F5 away. 



 
Aug 19, 2010 at 2:47 PM Post #10 of 10

DouglasQuaid

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Posts
256
Likes
12
I'm still getting chrome issues.  Usually it was something regarding a script taking up too much memory, but I stopped loading the site on chrome after it completely crashed the browser this morning.  System has 2gb of RAM, so it's not like I'm not equipped for web browsing.
 
 
Even on IE, when loading this thread, i got this:
 
Webpage error details
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Thu, 19 Aug 2010 18:46:06 UTC

Message: Invalid argument.
Line: 1353
Char: 40
Code: 0
URI: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/507196/chrome-update-breaks-head-fi#post_6853033
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top