Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-12281625
Post #9,901 of 40,385

nmatheis

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
14,525
Reaction score
9,500
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Posts
14,525
Likes
9,500
Only problem I have with using an iPhone is no FLAC support, and this is what I need.

Apple's Music app doesn't support FLAC, but you can absolutely play FLAC on an iPhone with numerous 3rd party apps. I've got a few on my iPhone and really like KaiserTone. It's a paid app that has a lot of control over sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281627
Post #9,902 of 40,385

emgeebee

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
44
Reaction score
35
Location
UK
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Location
UK
Posts
44
Likes
35
Feel free to contact me.
 
I have been trying to stuff the Mojo, an SSD, and one of those Linux boards in an enclosure ever since I got the Mojo--kind of a DIY DAP or "all-in-one", depending on whether it has a battery too. It's been quite an adventure!

Rod
I've been trying with a pi, 200gb microsd, wifi dongle and volumio. It works pretty well: the pi runs a wifi hotspot and I use my phone as I have remote. The pi even seems to have enough power to charge the mojo, but I need to test more... I want to test something like pijuice too and see if I can make it truly remote.

A case for the whole setup would be the finishing touch, I was thinking about something like a playing card case but it might be a fraction small...
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281636
Post #9,903 of 40,385

NaiveSound

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
3,177
Reaction score
614
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Posts
3,177
Likes
614
For example my note 5 plays much nicer with mojo, much better over my dx80 (coax) and much better than a Toshiba laptop, and decent with a mac, not so good with iPhone,

I feel that it clearly matters what you use as source to fee. Mojo, so now the question still remains...
What is the best source to use to maximize Mojo sexyness?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281661
Post #9,904 of 40,385

yoyorast10

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
348
Reaction score
21
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Posts
348
Likes
21
How can I charge it and use it at the same time? I've got in the the usb slot to the left, hooked into my PC, and whenever I turn it on it just shuts off.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281685
Post #9,905 of 40,385

harpo1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
2,163
Reaction score
579
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Posts
2,163
Likes
579
  How can I charge it and use it at the same time? I've got in the the usb slot to the left, hooked into my PC, and whenever I turn it on it just shuts off.
You PC is only putting out .5amps and the mojo requires 1amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281694
Post #9,906 of 40,385

nmatheis

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
14,525
Reaction score
9,500
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Posts
14,525
Likes
9,500
OT WARNING: Raspberry Pi questions below...

Ok, Raspberry Pi guys, Banana Pro, Cubieteuck type guys, what's a good resource for this type of stuff for someone new to the Raspberry Pi world? I'm not a complete noob, though. I used to install Linux distribution like guys in here go through audio gear but have been out of the game for awhile. I think Raspberry Pi was just released when I stopped playing around with Linux. Feel free to PM me, so we don't further derail the thread.[/
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281787
Post #9,907 of 40,385

Pokersound

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
75
Reaction score
13
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Posts
75
Likes
13
Hi friends.
 
I don't have Mojo yet, hope will be at home in two days but as Rob recommend the volume at the phone app should be at max to get the best signal to the Mojo.
 
Maybe the sound change if the volume is not at max in the phone app.
 
could you try and post your impression.
 
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281973
Post #9,910 of 40,385

Skampmeister

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
210
Reaction score
94
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Posts
210
Likes
94
Apple's Music app doesn't support FLAC, but you can absolutely play FLAC on an iPhone with numerous 3rd party apps. I've got a few on my iPhone and really like KaiserTone. It's a paid app that has a lot of control over sound.

Thanks for the ripp on this app, I just bought it and I am putting in the hires stuff I want to play, but why is my mojo only getting Redbook when I play 24/96 album. My power button stays red.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12281977
Post #9,911 of 40,385

CareyPrice31

Montreal Canadiens
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
772
Reaction score
33
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Posts
772
Likes
33
What case options are available for the Mojo and where do we buy?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12282008
Post #9,912 of 40,385

neilvg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Messages
1,578
Reaction score
37
Joined
Jun 10, 2004
Posts
1,578
Likes
37
Lol, maybe they don't want to pay 20-30$ per month for the service, I know I don't


And my internet is not up to par to reliably stream Tidal.

Its 20 a month which while 2x orher services is wuite cheap when you factor in this hobby.

You dont need to stream. Download everything in HiFi. Its on your computer and phone in lossless FLAC. People spend more on a single album.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12282009
Post #9,913 of 40,385

shuto77

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
2,656
Reaction score
212
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Posts
2,656
Likes
212
Lol, maybe they don't want to pay 20-30$ per month for the service, I know I don't
 
In the U.S., you can get Tidal for the student price of $10 for the HIFI (premium) account if you have a .edu email account. It's totally worth $10.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12282040
Post #9,914 of 40,385

spook76

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
2,211
Reaction score
385
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Posts
2,211
Likes
385
Thanks for the ripp on this app, I just bought it and I am putting in the hires stuff I want to play, but why is my mojo only getting Redbook when I play 24/96 album. My power button stays red.

It may be the application. When I first used my Mojo with an iPod Touch I was using the TuneShell app and all my albums from 16/44 to 96/24 were outputting (downsampling) at 16/44 (red light on the Mojo). I moved my library over to the paid version of Onkyo HF Player and now every album outputs at the correct bitrate (just remember to turn off the upsampling option in the settings of Onkyo).

Remember, Onkyo HF Player is specifically mentioned in the Mojo User Manual so I assume Chord had it in mind when designing the Mojo.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 10)

Top