Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-12095491
Post #5,536 of 40,445

Libertad

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
1,057
Reaction score
141
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Posts
1,057
Likes
141
 
Only if the Mojo hasn't been used for a long time and the battery is very discharged, which new, it is not. It should only require a few hours of charge before the light below the USB on the Mojo goes out. That is all the charge it needs. I just use and charge with a 2 amp and it does fine even when new. 
Thanks for the quick reply using it now
 
listening to billie jean now and all i feel is just pure bliss

hot damn this thing is flippin amazing!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095515
Post #5,538 of 40,445

Heartsmart

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
29
Location
Sweden
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Location
Sweden
Posts
231
Likes
29
I have noticed it is a little more open with burn in. Out of the box though it is fine. I have heard more changes from other electronics. I also think the detail improves some and transparency but again, good out of the box. 

Thanks for your answer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095536
Post #5,539 of 40,445

all999

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Messages
1,316
Reaction score
246
Location
Warsaw, Poland
Joined
Oct 26, 2012
Location
Warsaw, Poland
Posts
1,316
Likes
246
 
I have noticed it is a little more open with burn in. Out of the box though it is fine. I have heard more changes from other electronics. I also think the detail improves some and transparency but again, good out of the box. 
 
Same here!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095592
Post #5,540 of 40,445

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,398
Reaction score
1,136
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,398
Likes
1,136
Interesting. I don't get any "latent" hiss on Shure SE846s. If there's hiss on the recording it certainly comes through, but I don't hear any otherwise. 

Same. No hiss at all with my SE846's. Did with the Oppo HA-2 and very slight with the Sony ZX2.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095605
Post #5,541 of 40,445

Heartsmart

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
29
Location
Sweden
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Location
Sweden
Posts
231
Likes
29
Same. No hiss at all with my SE846's. Did with the Oppo HA-2 and very slight with the Sony ZX2.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

I hear hiss with my Cosmic ear CE6p. I never heard hiss with the same in ears with ibasso DX90.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095624
Post #5,542 of 40,445

jamato8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
17,532
Reaction score
2,162
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Posts
17,532
Likes
2,162
I hear hiss with my Cosmic ear CE6p. I never heard hiss with the same in ears with ibasso DX90.

It could be some RFI getting into the feedback loop, if one is used. Some cables cause problems. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095625
Post #5,543 of 40,445

Dithyrambes

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
805
Reaction score
282
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Posts
805
Likes
282
I start playback on foobar, but it never starts on time, and I lose like .2 secs of the beginning of the track. Any way to fix this? I'm using Chord ASIO
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095654
Post #5,544 of 40,445

Heartsmart

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
29
Location
Sweden
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Location
Sweden
Posts
231
Likes
29
It could be some RFI getting into the feedback loop, if one is used. Some cables cause problems. 

I tryed it without any device or cable attached. The hiss is there even then. Its not very loud, but I can hear it clearly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095662
Post #5,545 of 40,445

jamato8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
17,532
Reaction score
2,162
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Posts
17,532
Likes
2,162
I tryed it without any device or cable attached. The hiss is there even then. Its not very loud, but I can hear it clearly.

The cable to your IEM's, not a cable going into the Mojo. The cable for your IEM's can act as an antenna. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095679
Post #5,546 of 40,445

Torq

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,850
Reaction score
2,111
Location
Seattle, WA
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Location
Seattle, WA
Posts
1,850
Likes
2,111
Same. No hiss at all with my SE846's. Did with the Oppo HA-2 and very slight with the Sony ZX2.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

I get hiss on my SE846s with the Mojo (and on an RSA Intruder on low-gain, and an ALO Int+ OE on low gain).  On the Mojo and ALO the hiss is not volume-dependent, on the RSA it is.
 
Someone suggested that, since no one else seemed to have reported any hiss on the RSA or the Mojo, it was the headphone cable causing it (acting as an antenna).
 
So, since I had an easy week, I took my portable gear into one of our labs to test it a bit further.  The lab in question deals with state-of-the-art satellite and radio communications and is equipped with a chamber that is electrically silent.  No signals get in or out.  Any electrical or RF noise in that chamber can only come from what's taken inside it.
 
I got exactly the same hiss results with my gear in that chamber as I did sitting outside it, or sitting in my living room.  So if my cables are the issue, they're picking up noise from the electronics being tested, i.e. the amplifiers (since this hiss occurs regardless of whether there is anything else present or connected).
 
Now, to be sure, on the Mojo the hiss is incredibly quiet.  So quiet that in a brief quite patch in music it might not even register, but it's definitely there.  Oddly enough, sometimes, the hiss would be louder than others (this seems to be new thing, as of mid-week) - and in those cases touching either of the volume buttons would quiet it back down again.
 
The hiss is completely inaudible with any of my non-IEM headphones.
 
I don't view what I am hearing as a problem.  It doesn't intrude on the music.  With the Mojo it's the lowest level of hiss I've heard on the SE846 from a portable DAC/amplifier.  But I know I'm not hearing things and now I know it's not the headphone cable acting as an antenna (unless the sources themselves are the source of any radiated noise).
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: uzi2
post-12095681
Post #5,547 of 40,445

Heartsmart

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
29
Location
Sweden
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Location
Sweden
Posts
231
Likes
29
The cable to your IEM's, not a cable going into the Mojo. The cable for your IEM's can act as an antenna. 

Ok, Good to know. I will have that in mind when I test. Could it be that Mojo is more sensetive for that then Ibasso DX90? Because I never heard any hiss with the same circumstances on Ibasso.

The hiss is not yhat much problem that I dont want to use Mojo. But it is nice when it is silence between tracks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095708
Post #5,548 of 40,445

jamato8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
17,532
Reaction score
2,162
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Posts
17,532
Likes
2,162
Ok, Good to know. I will have that in mind when I test. Could it be that Mojo is more sensetive for that then Ibasso DX90? Because I never heard any hiss with the same circumstances on Ibasso.

The hiss is not yhat much problem that I dont want to use Mojo. But it is nice when it is silence between tracks.

I don't know the topology of the output from the dac section of the Mojo. Some amp section can be more sensitive than others, it just depends upon how well it can deal with RFI induced from some cables. Listen with the music on pause to the hiss. Then take your fingers and hold the cable and see if the hiss decreases or goes away. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095712
Post #5,549 of 40,445

Heartsmart

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
231
Reaction score
29
Location
Sweden
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Location
Sweden
Posts
231
Likes
29
I get hiss on my SE846s with the Mojo (and on an RSA Intruder on low-gain, and an ALO Int+ OE on low gain).  On the Mojo and ALO the hiss is not volume-dependent, on the RSA it is.

Someone suggested that, since no one else seemed to have reported any hiss on the RSA or the Mojo, it was the headphone cable causing it (acting as an antenna).

So, since I had an easy week, I took my portable gear into one of our labs to test it a bit further.  The lab in question deals with state-of-the-art satellite and radio communications and is equipped with a chamber that is electrically silent.  No signals get in or out.  Any electrical or RF noise in that chamber can only come from what's taken inside it.

I got exactly the same hiss results with my gear in that chamber as I did sitting outside it, or sitting in my living room.  So if my cables are the issue, they're picking up noise from the electronics being tested, i.e. the amplifiers (since this hiss occurs regardless of whether there is anything else present or connected).

Now, to be sure, on the Mojo the hiss is incredibly quiet.  So quiet that in a brief quite patch in music it might not even register, but it's definitely there.  Oddly enough, sometimes, the hiss would be louder than others (this seems to be new thing, as of mid-week) - and in those cases touching either of the volume buttons would quiet it back down again.

The hiss is completely inaudible with any of my non-IEM headphones.

I don't view what I am hearing as a problem.  It doesn't intrude on the music.  With the Mojo it's the lowest level of hiss I've heard on the SE846 from a portable DAC/amplifier.  But I know I'm not hearing things and now I know it's not the headphone cable acting as an antenna (unless the sources themselves are the source of any radiated noise).

The same for me. Only hiss on my iems. Not full size headphones. And its ok, not a big problen. Mojo is a wonderful device. And im glad i bought it :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-12095718
Post #5,550 of 40,445

Libertad

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
1,057
Reaction score
141
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Posts
1,057
Likes
141
  I start playback on foobar, but it never starts on time, and I lose like .2 secs of the beginning of the track. Any way to fix this? I'm using Chord ASIO
i have the same issue/quirk anyone else experience this or have anyway to correct the timing?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 6)

Top