Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-15058154
Post #38,926 of 40,385

c0rp1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Messages
259
Reaction score
28
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Posts
259
Likes
28
Hi @c0rp1
Mojo ideas passed your message over to me to look at. We did receive your email sent to our support and responded but we didn't get any reply back. Possibly because we attached our return for repair form that might have caused the email to go to spam.
Anyway lets see if we can sort this out for you. If you PM me we can talk further.

Matt
Thanks for the reply Matt,

sent you a PM.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063694
Post #38,927 of 40,385

Cric

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
35
Reaction score
13
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Location
Paris, France
Posts
35
Likes
13
Hello,

I would like to use my FiiO X3 as a transport for my Mojo.

I'm looking for the right cable to connect X3's 3.5mm coaxial out to Mojo's 3.5mm coax SPDIF in, but can't figure out which one to use (I only find coax to TOSLINK or RCA cables on Amazon).

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063840
Post #38,928 of 40,385

rbalcom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
437
Reaction score
89
Location
Lake Jackson, TX
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Location
Lake Jackson, TX
Posts
437
Likes
89
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Cric
post-15063860
Post #38,929 of 40,385

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,192
Reaction score
4,046
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,192
Likes
4,046
Website
www.flickr.com
Hello,

I would like to use my FiiO X3 as a transport for my Mojo.

I'm looking for the right cable to connect X3's 3.5mm coaxial out to Mojo's 3.5mm coax SPDIF in, but can't figure out which one to use (I only find coax to TOSLINK or RCA cables on Amazon).

Thanks in advance for your help.
Technically, you'd want a correct impedance (75Ω) coax, but over a short distance, probably any mono 3.5mm TS patch cable cable would work.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15063898
Post #38,930 of 40,385

Cric

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
35
Reaction score
13
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Location
Paris, France
Posts
35
Likes
13
     Share This Post       
post-15063996
Post #38,931 of 40,385

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,633
Reaction score
1,591
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,633
Likes
1,591
Age
70
Cric...

...I believe you're talking of the X3 (V1), not the X3 II. So above cable recommendations seem to be wrong – since the original X3 doesn't have the combined line out/digital out socket, but separate sockets, so doesn't call for a 4-pole coaxial plug. What you need instead is a simple mono cable with 3.5 mm plugs at both ends, as I see it.

I never owned the X3 (V1), but just consulted the user manual.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15064168
Post #38,932 of 40,385

Cric

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Messages
35
Reaction score
13
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Jun 11, 2013
Location
Paris, France
Posts
35
Likes
13
Hello @JaZZ ,

Cric...

...I believe you're talking of the X3 (V1), not the X3 II. So above cable recommendations seem to be wrong – since the original X3 doesn't have the combined line out/digital out socket, but separate sockets, so doesn't call for a 4-pole coaxial plug. What you need instead is a simple mono cable with 3.5 mm plugs at both ends, as I see it.

I never owned the X3 (V1), but just consulted the user manual.
You are correct, I own the very first version of the X3.
Thanks for checking in the manual!
I found this cable on Amazon (hope it's the right one), there must be short... on short cables (can't find a cable under a meter, 10 to 20 cm should be much sufficient for my use).
 
     Share This Post       
post-15064450
Post #38,933 of 40,385

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,633
Reaction score
1,591
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,633
Likes
1,591
Age
70
I just found a dedicated digital cable available in 25 cm. (The one you linked would work as well.)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Cric
post-15064790
Post #38,935 of 40,385

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,986
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,986
@Rob Watts Is there a reason why mid bass appears to be stronger with iems than with full size headphones? something to do with how it handles impedance maybe?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15064892
Post #38,936 of 40,385

rkt31

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
1,551
Reaction score
449
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Posts
1,551
Likes
449
Output impedance of mojo is extremely low. Lower the source output impedance, better it drives the load. There is a frequency vs impedance curve for the driver. For some frequencies the impedance of driver dips too low . Obviously if source impedance is not adequately low it will not be able to 'push' the driver for those frequencies. So some frequencies will start dominating others. Since mojo already has very low source impedance it will drive for all frequencies without favouring or discarding any specific frequencies. So with mojo your iem has just been driven right. If you are habitual of other not so low output impedance DAPs you may find mojo favouring some frequencies which is not actually the case. For this phenomena Iems are more affected because of already low impedance.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15065917
Post #38,937 of 40,385

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,986
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,986
Output impedance of mojo is extremely low. Lower the source output impedance, better it drives the load. There is a frequency vs impedance curve for the driver. For some frequencies the impedance of driver dips too low . Obviously if source impedance is not adequately low it will not be able to 'push' the driver for those frequencies. So some frequencies will start dominating others. Since mojo already has very low source impedance it will drive for all frequencies without favouring or discarding any specific frequencies. So with mojo your iem has just been driven right. If you are habitual of other not so low output impedance DAPs you may find mojo favouring some frequencies which is not actually the case. For this phenomena Iems are more affected because of already low impedance.
Hugo2 has lower output impedance than mojo but doesn't do the same thing to mid bass.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15066177
Post #38,938 of 40,385

dakanao

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,594
Reaction score
195
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Posts
2,594
Likes
195
@Rob Watts Is there a reason why mid bass appears to be stronger with iems than with full size headphones? something to do with how it handles impedance maybe?
Perhaps because of lack of current with the full size headphones, or more RF interference?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15066235
Post #38,939 of 40,385

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,971
Reaction score
7,567
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,971
Likes
7,567
Perhaps because of lack of current with the full size headphones, or more RF interference?
Same Current output for both, 500mA, which is quite respectable. Besides it’s the efficient IEMs that will draw more Current than higher impedance headphones.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15066266
Post #38,940 of 40,385

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,633
Reaction score
1,591
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,633
Likes
1,591
Age
70
I think it's just the Mojo's sonic characteristic, which looks a bit like this...

Mojo-Soundcharacteristic.JPG


...without showing itself in the FR measurements. Personally I don't care, I equalize anyway (and recommend this to anybody instead of relying on component synergy).

And BTW, a lot of IEMs have a midbass accentuation, maybe stronger than with full-size headphones, where it's also a quasi-norm.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 11)

Top