Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-15011718
Post #38,761 of 40,331

Egoquaero

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Posts
35
Likes
3
Hey guys,
one quick noob question.
Is it possible for the Chord Mojo to connect and function properly with a pure amplifier (not an integrated one, by pure I mean an amplifier without the preamp)?
Say I want to connect Chord Mojo to a Rotel RB 1582 MKII to power a pair of Klipsch Forte III loudspeakers. Is it possible to do this without a preamp?
Cheers!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15011757
Post #38,762 of 40,331

jarnopp

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,449
Reaction score
700
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,449
Likes
700
Hey guys,
one quick noob question.
Is it possible for the Chord Mojo to connect and function properly with a pure amplifier (not an integrated one, by pure I mean an amplifier without the preamp)?
Say I want to connect Chord Mojo to a Rotel RB 1582 MKII to power a pair of Klipsch Forte III loudspeakers. Is it possible to do this without a preamp?
Cheers!
Yes, I run Mojo into my Odyssey Stratos all the time. Depending on your setup, you may want a switch (this one has worked very well for me) if the amp s hard to reach for plugging and unplugging of cables. Just watch the volume on Mojo and always start from no or very low volume!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Egoquaero
post-15011793
Post #38,763 of 40,331

Egoquaero

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Posts
35
Likes
3
Cheers! Great to know :) That means that I could save money and skip on the preamp.
The setup would be Macbook Pro --> Chord Mojo+Poly in Airplay --> Pure amplifier (like the Rotel RB 1582 MKII) --> Speakers (Klipsch Forte III)

The only problem would be that of missing a physical remote control for volume. It'd force me to always have my Macbook nearby and handy to adjust the volume. Is there a trick to overcome this? Mmm.. like a Mojo+Poly remote control?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15011825
Post #38,764 of 40,331

jarnopp

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,449
Reaction score
700
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,449
Likes
700
Cheers! Great to know :) That means that I could save money and skip on the preamp.
The setup would be Macbook Pro --> Chord Mojo+Poly in Airplay --> Pure amplifier (like the Rotel RB 1582 MKII) --> Speakers (Klipsch Forte III)

The only problem would be that of missing a physical remote control for volume. It'd force me to always have my Macbook nearby and handy to adjust the volume. Is there a trick to overcome this? Mmm.. like a Mojo+Poly remote control?
That’s the tricky part. I use the Roon volume control, or adjust manually. But TT2 has spoiled me for remote control!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Egoquaero
post-15011892
Post #38,765 of 40,331

Egoquaero

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Posts
35
Likes
3
Cool, I actually found a way to control my Macbook with my iPhone as a remote control.
Now another question:
Say the Mojo outputs at line level @3v (with the two lights in purplish/blue) and the pure amplifier Rotel 1582 MKII receives this signal from Mojo, what will the amplifier output to the loudspeakers? The maximum level? (assuming that my macbook is at max volume level)
At max volume these Forte III would most probably make the whole building collapse since they're 99db sensitive (and the rotel outputs 200 watts..)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15012057
Post #38,766 of 40,331

AC-12

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
776
Reaction score
751
Location
Gone Fishin' till Hugo₃.
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Location
Gone Fishin' till Hugo₃.
Posts
776
Likes
751
Cheers! Great to know :) That means that I could save money and skip on the preamp.
The setup would be Macbook Pro --> Chord Mojo+Poly in Airplay --> Pure amplifier (like the Rotel RB 1582 MKII) --> Speakers (Klipsch Forte III)

The only problem would be that of missing a physical remote control for volume. It'd force me to always have my Macbook nearby and handy to adjust the volume. Is there a trick to overcome this? Mmm.. like a Mojo+Poly remote control?
You should be able to add any IR remote control to your Mac. I was initially planning to use an Apple remote with my rPi build.

I'm using a IR remote control to control volume on Hugo2 + navigation seamessly on a rPi. Very responsive. I had to setup up though first on a Mac. It should work for Mac (I believe it does as shown on Amazon Q&A). You should be able to map the Mac media keys to any IR remote.

I haven't updated my build yet, but you can get the gist here:

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/yet...alternative-to-2go-poly.905925/#post-15004881

Product needed is a Flirc:

https://flirc.tv/more/flirc-usb
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Egoquaero
post-15012123
Post #38,767 of 40,331

jarnopp

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,449
Reaction score
700
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,449
Likes
700
Cool, I actually found a way to control my Macbook with my iPhone as a remote control.
Now another question:
Say the Mojo outputs at line level @3v (with the two lights in purplish/blue) and the pure amplifier Rotel 1582 MKII receives this signal from Mojo, what will the amplifier output to the loudspeakers? The maximum level? (assuming that my macbook is at max volume level)
At max volume these Forte III would most probably make the whole building collapse since they're 99db sensitive (and the rotel outputs 200 watts..)
I think 3v is too much. The specs for the Rotel say 1.9v input sensitivity (rca inputs), so that should be full volume, or 200 watts. You would likely get distortion or damage at 3 volts. So, if you want to use a remote volume (MAC or otherwise) I would set Mojo no higher than 1.9v, which is 4 clicks down from line level.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Egoquaero
post-15012677
Post #38,768 of 40,331

greenkiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,368
Reaction score
195
Location
New Zealand
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Location
New Zealand
Posts
1,368
Likes
195
Cool, I actually found a way to control my Macbook with my iPhone as a remote control.
Now another question:
Say the Mojo outputs at line level @3v (with the two lights in purplish/blue) and the pure amplifier Rotel 1582 MKII receives this signal from Mojo, what will the amplifier output to the loudspeakers? The maximum level? (assuming that my macbook is at max volume level)
At max volume these Forte III would most probably make the whole building collapse since they're 99db sensitive (and the rotel outputs 200 watts..)
Note that the "line level" is just a pegged level to make things easy.

If I were you, I'd sort out the Mojo volume that was generally the max you'd ever listen to and then use Roon/Mac to dip your audio to the listening level you'd normally listen to.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Egoquaero
post-15012911
Post #38,769 of 40,331

Egoquaero

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
35
Reaction score
3
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Posts
35
Likes
3
Cheers! Great to know :) That means that I could save money and skip on the preamp.
The setup would be Macbook Pro --> Chord Mojo+Poly in Airplay --> Pure amplifier (like the Rotel RB 1582 MKII) --> Speakers (Klipsch Forte III)

The only problem would be that of missing a physical remote control for volume. It'd force me to always have my Macbook nearby and handy to adjust the volume. Is there a trick to overcome this? Mmm.. like a Mojo+Poly remote control?
Thank you for your help guys! I forgot to mention one key element... I own a Klipsch subwoofer R-115SW. Is there a way to connect it without the aid of a proper preamp?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15013285
Post #38,770 of 40,331

jarnopp

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,449
Reaction score
700
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,449
Likes
700
     Share This Post       
post-15015998
Post #38,771 of 40,331

dakanao

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
184
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Posts
2,566
Likes
184
The sound of the headphone out of my laptop, is actually smoother than the Mojo :O. Ofcourse, the Mojo is way more natural and a lot better with the other technicalities, but the sound of my laptop just takes more edges off of the music, that's it's a very liquid sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15016022
Post #38,772 of 40,331

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,983
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,983
The sound of the headphone out of my laptop, is actually smoother than the Mojo :O. Ofcourse, the Mojo is way more natural and a lot better with the other technicalities, but the sound of my laptop just takes more edges off of the music, that's it's a very liquid sound.
Your laptop will have a much worse digital filter, some people like the sound of the transients blurred and thats why they like the sound of tube amps that do the same thing but i wouldnt agree it makes it more liquid.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15016040
Post #38,773 of 40,331

dakanao

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
184
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Posts
2,566
Likes
184
Your laptop will have a much worse digital filter, some people like the sound of the transients blurred and thats why they like the sound of tube amps that do the same thing but i wouldnt agree it makes it more liquid.
I also use 2 Jitterbugs in my laptops unused USB ports sitting closest to the 3.5mm headphone out of my laptop.

Yeah, the transients get more blurred, and so it's softer in the attack. With a headphone like the Beyerdynamic DT 150 + DT 100 velours, cable changed to Mogami 2893 (which makes it sound smoother and more defined than the stock cable, it honestly is like candy to your ears… I will continue to use the Mojo ofcourse, since the sound of the Mojo is just better.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15016052
Post #38,774 of 40,331

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,983
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,983
I also use 2 Jitterbugs in my laptops unused USB ports sitting closest to the 3.5mm headphone out of my laptop.

Yeah, the transients get more blurred, and so it's softer in the attack. With a headphone like the Beyerdynamic DT 150 + DT 100 velours, cable changed to Mogami 2893 (which makes it sound smoother and more defined than the stock cable, it honestly is like candy to your ears… I will continue to use the Mojo ofcourse, since the sound of the Mojo is just better.
I didnt say it was bad just that it is preference.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15016063
Post #38,775 of 40,331

dakanao

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,566
Reaction score
184
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Posts
2,566
Likes
184
I didnt say it was bad just that it is preference.
I didn't mean liquid in the sense of fluient timing btw, just the sound is as smooth as I've ever heard, yet still with great naturalness and clarity. But that's also a big characteristic of the DT 150 w/ Mogami cable itself.

Such an underrated gem.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 6, Guests: 18)

Top