Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-14051401
Post #35,386 of 40,445

stephen0351

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
concord Ca
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Location
concord Ca
Posts
7
Likes
0
There are plenty of SACD for sale on ebay. https://www.ebay.fr/i/183037937253
Like others have mentioned mojo + CD is good enough, unless you want the sacd 5.1 experience.
Crazy! no way Im paying $175 for a cd, lol. so I guess Im seeing that there was no real benefit to buying the WM1A, had I of know I get same quality on my iphone I wouldnt have bought it, I thought I was going to get awesome better quality on the WM1A, lol, oh well live and learn
 
     Share This Post       
post-14051428
Post #35,387 of 40,445

Sonic Defender

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
11,885
Reaction score
3,266
Location
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Joined
May 9, 2011
Location
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Posts
11,885
Likes
3,266
Crazy! no way Im paying $175 for a cd, lol. so I guess Im seeing that there was no real benefit to buying the WM1A, had I of know I get same quality on my iphone I wouldnt have bought it, I thought I was going to get awesome better quality on the WM1A, lol, oh well live and learn
Diminishing returns mate, diminishing returns.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Wildcatsare1
post-14051523
Post #35,388 of 40,445

baiyy1986

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
343
Reaction score
254
Location
United States
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Location
United States
Posts
343
Likes
254
Crazy! no way Im paying $175 for a cd, lol. so I guess Im seeing that there was no real benefit to buying the WM1A, had I of know I get same quality on my iphone I wouldnt have bought it, I thought I was going to get awesome better quality on the WM1A, lol, oh well live and learn
New Sony turntable can rip vinyl,which support dsd, I think it’s 300 or something now,that would be a better choice than 175 bucks for one single cd.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14051618
Post #35,389 of 40,445

Mython

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
8,760
Reaction score
3,383
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Posts
8,760
Likes
3,383
Honestly, standard CD (AKA Redbook) 16 bit 44.1khz (and .flac files of the same resolution) really do sound surprisingly good through Chord DACs. So much so, that I would be more concerned about finding a well-mastered version of an album rather than whether it is higher res than Redbook.

DSOTM is available very cheaply on CD - e.g.: www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B004ZN9RWK


If you want to find the best mastered CD version of this album, that is generally considered to be the Japanese 'Black Triangle' pressing, but it's as rare as hens' teeth, to purchase (it does exist in .flac format, in the shadowy regions of cyberspace, but I wouldn't recommend taking that risk).


Some further reading, on the topic of .DSD:

www.head-fi.org/search/6715205/?q=dsd&o=relevance&c[user][0]=394072&c[p][sonnb_xengallery_photo][focal]=0&c[p][sonnb_xengallery_photo][iso]=0&c[p][sonnb_xengallery_photo][aperture]=0
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14051668
Post #35,390 of 40,445

stephen0351

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
concord Ca
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Location
concord Ca
Posts
7
Likes
0
thanks all! I found a “Japan black triangle” copy of dsotm in Germany for $70 shipped so I got it

Just for general knowledge is it best to find digital remastered versions of albums for high res devices? I pretty much only listen to oldschool classic rock
 
     Share This Post       
post-14051757
Post #35,391 of 40,445

WarrenR

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
129
Reaction score
13
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Posts
129
Likes
13
I'm having a weird issue with foobar and asio with windows 10. Sometimes when I stop playing music the globe that indicates sample rate changes from redbook to another colour (orange I think) and ASIO fails to work brining up a foobar error box. I have to change foobar settings to WASAPI, play a track to get the globe to change to red and then go back to ASIO in settings.

Has anyone has this before?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052091
Post #35,392 of 40,445

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,988
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,988
Im new to high res music, I have a Sony WM1A, I dont have any high res music yet, Im just asking where I can buy Pink Floyd in DSD or FLAC? I tried to get music from other people but they dont come through after they said they would share, no problem, I dont have a problem buying the music, but where? I cant find dsotm anywhere
16.44 is high resolution, find the original U.K. first press CD, rip to WAV and play back through a Chord DAC. You won’t care about 24/96 or DSD from there onwards.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: opienor
post-14052405
Post #35,393 of 40,445

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3,944
Reaction score
1,841
Location
U.K.
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Location
U.K.
Posts
3,944
Likes
1,841
how many taps in mojo? can't find answer anywhere. i know they run half speed of hugo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052424
Post #35,394 of 40,445

fiddlestickers

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
4
Reaction score
4
Location
Japan
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Location
Japan
Posts
4
Likes
4
I got sick of the Apple cable crapshoot, and decided I had waited long enough for Poly to mature - So I bought a Shanling M1 and updated the firmware so I can use Hibylink app on my phone.

It's great! 200gb of FLAC on an SD card, and it's been rock solid so far. The only downside is that current firmware doesn't allow power auto shut-off.
 

Attachments

     Share This Post       
post-14052455
Post #35,395 of 40,445

theveterans

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
2,273
Reaction score
888
Location
Santa Rosa, Laguna, Philippines
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Location
Santa Rosa, Laguna, Philippines
Posts
2,273
Likes
888
Age
29
how many taps in mojo? can't find answer anywhere. i know they run half speed of hugo.
Effective 26000 taps, same as Hugo. If Mojo runs the same speed as Hugo, it would've had 52000 taps
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052470
Post #35,396 of 40,445

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3,944
Reaction score
1,841
Location
U.K.
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Location
U.K.
Posts
3,944
Likes
1,841
i thought if mojo runs same speed as hugo you still have 26k taps but here they would be fully utilised. not a doubling of taps.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052494
Post #35,397 of 40,445

theveterans

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
2,273
Reaction score
888
Location
Santa Rosa, Laguna, Philippines
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Location
Santa Rosa, Laguna, Philippines
Posts
2,273
Likes
888
Age
29
^ It's twice as much as Hugo, but run at 1/2 speed so 26K effective taps
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052498
Post #35,398 of 40,445

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3,944
Reaction score
1,841
Location
U.K.
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Location
U.K.
Posts
3,944
Likes
1,841
so is it 52k taps in mojo or more like hugo 2's 49k somin?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14052523
Post #35,400 of 40,445

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,988
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,988
so is it 52k taps in mojo or more like hugo 2's 49k somin?
I think the exact number is still unknown for Mojo but iirc Hugo2 runs same model FPGA as Mojo but this time its running at 101% with 49,000 taps at full speed and 10 element pulse array.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 13, Guests: 7)

Top