Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-13990960
Post #35,206 of 40,442

lcdman

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
7
Location
Portland, OR
Joined
Aug 31, 2017
Location
Portland, OR
Posts
12
Likes
7
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: NaiveSound
post-13991000
Post #35,207 of 40,442

Shizmoo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Space
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Location
Space
Posts
6
Likes
0
     Share This Post       
post-13991098
Post #35,208 of 40,442

NaiveSound

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
3,177
Reaction score
614
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Posts
3,177
Likes
614
     Share This Post       
post-13991327
Post #35,209 of 40,442

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
2,405
Reaction score
6,530
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,405
Likes
6,530
I have a question about pairing a DAP with a DAC/AMP,
If the DAP has already a good dac/amp chips on it, what is the interest to plug a MOJO on it?
may be it is a odd question but i try to understand
The whole point of Mojo is that there are actually no good dac/amp chips available; they all, by comparison to Mojo, perform poorly both measurement and sound quality wise. No other non Chord DAC reconstructs transients as accurately as Mojo - and that's down to Mojo's processing power (500x more powerful) and the use of the WTA algorithm. Also, no other non Chord DAC (at any price) has Mojo's zero measured noise floor modulation (and this is the reason for Mojo's natural warmth and refinement). No other non Chord DAC has the analogue simplicity of a single high power discrete OP stage with only one amplifier in the signal path - and this single amp topology gives Mojo's transparency.

Rob
 
     Share This Post       
post-13991419
Post #35,211 of 40,442

ULPilot

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
UK
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
9
Likes
1
I’m sure this has been answered elsewhere in the thread, but I’m unable to find the answer.

I got my mojo last week, to use with my AK300 and LCD-X’s, and I absolutely love how it improves that pairing.

My problem is that it misses the first couple of seconds of each track, every single time. It’s bad enough that I’m considering returning it if there isn’t a solution

I can only find references to this problem when connecting from a computer. Can anyone point me in the direction of how to fix this.

I connect to mojo via optical cable

Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-13991426
Post #35,212 of 40,442

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
2,405
Reaction score
6,530
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,405
Likes
6,530
I have never heard of this issue before whilst using optical. Plug out the optical cable, look at the red light from the optical cable. Does this light turn off in between tracks?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13991427
Post #35,213 of 40,442

GraveNoX

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
73
Reaction score
44
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Posts
73
Likes
44
Hi guys,

I've come across an issue with windows 10 (fall update installed), and the Chord Mojo, which seems to cause Firefox v57 (the default version from their website) to stutter when watching youtube videos.


When Chord Mojo is selected as the default sound device (default settings selected in properties), videos will appear to be choppy and judder. When a different sound device is selected as default in windows, there are no stutters. This can be seen by switching back and forth.

Firefox has been reinstalled and tested in safe mode - still choppy. Chrome and Edge don't show this issue.

Has anybody else come across this?

Update : Switched to optical. No issues.
While playing youtube, don't open/play other audio software that uses WASAPI or ASIO.
Quit ASIO/WASAPI audio software, go to windows audio settings and select 16bit-88.2khz (or any other), then select 16bit-44.1khz, select yes if asked, after that, Mojo resets like it was re-plugged in. The only option to be used is 16bit-44.1khz.
On an older windows 8.1 installation, I had crackles like you if I play through foobar2000, then play youtube video. Now, if I play foobar2000 and then play youtube, foobar2000 continues to play, but no audio from youtube which is normal.
I use "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" and unchecked "Give exclusive mode applications priority".
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Syros
post-13991451
Post #35,214 of 40,442

ULPilot

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
UK
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
9
Likes
1
Hi Rob, thanks for the reply

Just checked this and the red light stays on constantly from being plugged into the AK, including during changing tracks. I connected Mojo to my 2017 MacBook Pro via usb, and playing from iTunes there is no problem at all.

My AK300 is running the latest firmware and my Mojo has a serial number which starts 0159...

I guess this may be an AK issue if the mojo works fine with other systems. Disappointing though, as I would still need to return it and it sounds so darn good.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13991454
Post #35,215 of 40,442

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,563
Reaction score
2,609
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,563
Likes
2,609
I have a question about pairing a DAP with a DAC/AMP,
If the DAP has already a good dac/amp chips on it, what is the interest to plug a MOJO on it?
may be it is a odd question but i try to understand
Rob Watts has already answered about the mojo dac being far superior to the chip dacs used in daps. The mojo started life marketed as a mobile dac that would be connected to a mobile phone. Phones have the disadvantages that they used to have small SD cards, so small music libraries, plus generated RFI.
Daps had the advantage that they could use much larger SD cards, so hold a much larger music library. So people started using the DAP to store their music library, and then use the DAP digital output as the input to their mojo.
18 months down the road, we now have the chord poly available, which can also use a large SD card, so mojo owners will gradually migrate to using a poly instead of a DAP as their music transport.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Trapok
post-13991457
Post #35,216 of 40,442

435279

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
1,824
Reaction score
1,383
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Posts
1,824
Likes
1,383
Hi Rob, thanks for the reply

Just checked this and the red light stays on constantly from being plugged into the AK, including during changing tracks. I connected Mojo to my 2017 MacBook Pro via usb, and playing from iTunes there is no problem at all.

My AK300 is running the latest firmware and my Mojo has a serial number which starts 0159...

I guess this may be an AK issue if the mojo works fine with other systems. Disappointing though, as I would still need to return it and it sounds so darn good.
You can manage without the AK300, unless you meant, no you can't have, why would you want to manage without your Mojo. :wink:
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13991483
Post #35,217 of 40,442

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
2,405
Reaction score
6,530
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,405
Likes
6,530
Hi Rob, thanks for the reply

Just checked this and the red light stays on constantly from being plugged into the AK, including during changing tracks. I connected Mojo to my 2017 MacBook Pro via usb, and playing from iTunes there is no problem at all.

My AK300 is running the latest firmware and my Mojo has a serial number which starts 0159...

I guess this may be an AK issue if the mojo works fine with other systems. Disappointing though, as I would still need to return it and it sounds so darn good.
Yes it sounds like an AK issue. Very strange...
 
     Share This Post       
post-13991498
Post #35,218 of 40,442

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3,646
Reaction score
1,149
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
3,646
Likes
1,149
A bright white light does not mean the battery is at full charge. It means the battery is charging. The amount of charge is only indicated when the Mojo is on and should be green, blue, yellow, red and flashing red in order from full to I'm going to shutdown cause I got no charge. Also, the amount of charge is indicated when the Mojo is on only. While charging, the white light will go out when the charge circuit stops charging because it is fully charged. A blinking white light indicates a fault with the charging circuit.
Blinking white light doesn't necessarily mean fault with charging circuit. I have never heard that before. As far as I know, blinking white light means charger is not providing enough current to charge and play. I think it also means that Mojo has been in charge and play mode for more that six hours, from low charge. After six hours, the charging is cut off, as it won't charge for more that six hours.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13992082
Post #35,219 of 40,442

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3,944
Reaction score
1,841
Location
U.K.
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Location
U.K.
Posts
3,944
Likes
1,841
is there any harm in using a single ferrite on mojos power cord? its plugged in all the time. cheers mk

this is the first time i've experimented with ferrites. i understand they have little use with optical for obvious reasons and headphone cables. i just need confirmation adding a ferrite to mojos stock power cord is ok. about 7cm from mojos power connector. are ferrites meant to go on power cords like mojos and should i notice any difference in sq.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13992146
Post #35,220 of 40,442

rbalcom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
437
Reaction score
89
Location
Lake Jackson, TX
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Location
Lake Jackson, TX
Posts
437
Likes
89
Blinking white light doesn't necessarily mean fault with charging circuit. I have never heard that before. As far as I know, blinking white light means charger is not providing enough current to charge and play. I think it also means that Mojo has been in charge and play mode for more that six hours, from low charge. After six hours, the charging is cut off, as it won't charge for more that six hours.
Sorry. I was trying to say that the charging circuit had sensed a fault rather than imply that it had a fault. Crawling back under my rock without comment on your six hour comment.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 18)

Top