Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-13216866
Post #29,806 of 40,462

maxh22

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
1,333
Reaction score
424
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Posts
1,333
Likes
424
I sort of finally came to the decision that I would buy a Sony A15 Walkman. I'd use it as a Walkman when out of the house, then with Mojo about the home. I went digging around in post three to find out about cables. Under a heading Cables How to Connect to Mojo > Connecting Mojo to Sony Devices > I found the cable recommended. A Sony WMC-NWH10 USB Conversion Cable for Hi Res Audio Output.

However this is not a cheap cable for a simple OTG USB cable. Secondly getting them in the UK is not easy either. All the ebay ones are from Japan, which means costly if needed to be returned. (Honestly it never rains but it pours.) There is one on Amazon.com, but again costly to return tracked from the UK if needed.

I really started falling for the Sony Walkman as it has excellent battery life when used on its own. Now I might have to reconsider a phone. It's difficult knowing which phones will work with Mojo as we have no list. I hate the idea of having to trawl through so many phone models, and finding out all the stuff I want to know. Like does it do HD-audio, is the battery replaceable, etc......Plus I don't really like the idea of dragging a fancy phone around just to play audio. Plus having to find out if its audio is any good before I buy it, (meaning when used without Mojo.)


[COLOR=000080]NB. Thanks to the folks who answered my question on the Mojo screws. It was re-assuring to hear they were meant to be shiny and not painted black. I worried I had one that had been previously opened.[/COLOR]

I was testing the Bluetooth on the Hugo on the NYC Subway and I have to say the sound is quite good! I'm not missing much of anything compared to a wired connection. I did get the occasional pops when I moved Hugo further down into my bag but it went away almost as soon as I heard them. So Apt-X is pretty good. I'm assuming Poly will come with Apt X HD which is the new and improved version that also supports Hi res. So to some things up, even if you have to use bluetooth apt x things will sound good and enjoyable :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-13216884
Post #29,807 of 40,462

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3,663
Reaction score
1,163
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
3,663
Likes
1,163
 
I sort of finally came to the decision that I would buy a Sony A15 Walkman. I'd use it as a Walkman when out of the house, then with Mojo about the home. I went digging around in post three to find out about cables. Under a heading Cables How to Connect to Mojo > Connecting Mojo to Sony Devices > I found the cable recommended. A Sony WMC-NWH10 USB Conversion Cable for Hi Res Audio Output.

However this is not a cheap cable for a simple OTG USB cable. Secondly getting them in the UK is not easy either. All the ebay ones are from Japan, which means costly if needed to be returned. (Honestly it never rains but it pours.) There is one on Amazon.com, but again costly to return tracked from the UK if needed.

I really started falling for the Sony Walkman as it has excellent battery life when used on its own. Now I might have to reconsider a phone. It's difficult knowing which phones will work with Mojo as we have no list. I hate the idea of having to trawl through so many phone models, and finding out all the stuff I want to know. Like does it do HD-audio, is the battery replaceable, etc......Plus I don't really like the idea of dragging a fancy phone around just to play audio. Plus having to find out if its audio is any good before I buy it, (meaning when used without Mojo.)


NB. Thanks to the folks who answered my question on the Mojo screws. It was re-assuring to hear they were meant to be shiny and not painted black. I worried I had one that had been previously opened.

I was testing the Bluetooth on the Hugo on the NYC Subway and I have to say the sound is quite good! I'm not missing much of anything compared to a wired connection. I did get the occasional pops when I moved Hugo further down into my bag but it went away almost as soon as I heard them. So Apt-X is pretty good. I'm assuming Poly will come with Apt X HD which is the new and improved version that also supports Hi res. So to some things up, even if you have to use bluetooth apt x things will sound good and enjoyable
 
I don't know what you mean. I want a DAP so I can play music without the Mojo at times, as I said which you quoted.
 
@jmills8 yeah I know. The A15 does about seven hours on the Mojo.  It was ages ago it was mentioned in this thread. Not many folk talked about Sony DAPs/Mojo-pair, much at all since.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jmills8
post-13216908
Post #29,809 of 40,462

maxh22

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
1,333
Reaction score
424
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Posts
1,333
Likes
424
I don't know what you mean. I want a DAP so I can play music without the Mojo at times, as I said which you quoted.

@jmills8
 yeah I know. The A15 does about seven hours on the Mojo.  It was ages ago it was mentioned in this thread. Not many folk talked about Sony DAPs/Mojo-pair, much at all since.

I was talking about the Mojo Poly combo. Even if you have to use Bluetooth it will sound great and much better than from the phone
 
     Share This Post       
post-13216985
Post #29,810 of 40,462

TheTrace

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
240
Reaction score
33
Joined
May 30, 2013
Posts
240
Likes
33
Is it a balanced connection TRRS, or TRRS with in-line remote control on the cable. If it's balanced TRRS don't use it. If it's TRRS for an in-line remote (play/pause) button on the cable it'll be fine.
I think it's because of the latter, asked in the NH thread just to confirm.

Thank you.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217109
Post #29,811 of 40,462

RPB65

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
542
Reaction score
88
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Posts
542
Likes
88
Is there any guarantee that Mojo will always work on iOS via official CCK cable?
Or could one day an official ios update just stop it?

As replied earlier, it would be a bit crazy for Apple to break this when there is no reason to. 
They have broken it with iOS 10.3 Beta 1 though. Oops. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217135
Post #29,812 of 40,462

venton

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Posts
15
Likes
5
As replied earlier, it would be a bit crazy for Apple to break this when there is no reason to. 
They have broken it with iOS 10.3 Beta 1 though. Oops. 
Yeah that makes me nervous. I wonder if it broke for all Dacs or just Mojo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217143
Post #29,813 of 40,462

RPB65

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
542
Reaction score
88
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Posts
542
Likes
88
Yeah that makes me nervous. I wonder if it broke for all Dacs or just Mojo.

I dont fret about it. I install a lot of Beta's that normally just break the Lavricable to Mojo. This is the first time it has ever broken the CCK to Mojo.
Just remember, these are Beta's and not releases. I would be more than shocked if Apple ever released iOS that breaks the CCK.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217245
Post #29,814 of 40,462

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,566
Reaction score
2,611
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,566
Likes
2,611
Yeah that makes me nervous. I wonder if it broke for all Dacs or just Mojo.
 
I think there are often reports of the beta versions stopping many dacs or music players from working, but these issues get reported via the developer forums, and the full version of the code works properly. One or two of the posters on the Chord threads are involved with the developer forums, so the issues do get reported.
 
Overall, each mojo user has to make their own choice, whether to be an early adopter of beta code and risk experiencing bug issues, or wait for the final release of code.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217532
Post #29,815 of 40,462

Music Alchemist

Pokémon trainer of headphones
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
19,813
Reaction score
1,836
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Posts
19,813
Likes
1,836
http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/our-team/
 
I didn't check out this link until now. It's cool to see the people behind the company.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217585
Post #29,816 of 40,462

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,566
Reaction score
2,611
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,566
Likes
2,611
  http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/our-team/
 
I didn't check out this link until now. It's cool to see the people behind the company.
yes, but it also reinforces the relatively small size of the chord product development team, so it is physically impossible for them to update all the chord dac product line at the same time - so they have to update one product at a time.
Sadly post CES, some posters have complained that not every product is being updated yet (plus the several versions of MScalar) - there are only so many hours in a day. 

 
     Share This Post       
post-13217621
Post #29,818 of 40,462

xeroian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
230
Reaction score
45
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Posts
230
Likes
45
I have to LOL at this for my own annoyance ;0
iOS 10.3 Beta 1 has broken the CCK to Mojo and so I cannot listen to music via Mojo now. OOPS! 
Yes that is correct, the genuine CCK does not work. Well thats a new one on me!
ahhh ***. Back to listening to my iPhone direct then.

In what way is it broken? I just updated my test device (iPhone5) and it seems to be working fine with Hugo and Mojo using either the USB2 or USB3 CCK.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217627
Post #29,819 of 40,462

RPB65

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
542
Reaction score
88
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Posts
542
Likes
88
In what way is it broken? I just updated my test device (iPhone5) and it seems to be working fine with Hugo and Mojo using either the USB2 or USB3 CCK.

The explanation really is in my post you know.
Broken as in does not work. Has deceased. It is a dead cable! This cable no longer works! It is a non cable.
And you are quite right that your iPhone 5 will be the same as my iPhone 6S+ once updated.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13217637
Post #29,820 of 40,462

xeroian

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
230
Reaction score
45
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Posts
230
Likes
45
Try reading my post again rather than turning nasty. I updated my iPhone 5 to 10.3 beta 1 JUST TO HELP YOU and I am telling you it works fine. Okay?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: vapman

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 6, Guests: 17)

Top